Full Moon Calendar 2019 with 12 full moons

When were the full moons in 2019? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 2019 to help you look back at that year.

When were the Full Moons in 2019

In 2019 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2019 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 21, 2019 00:16 EST (5:12 UTC)
  • February 19, 2019 10:53 EST (15:53 UTC)
  • March 20, 2019 21:43 EST (March 21 2019 1:43 UTC )
  • April 19, 2019 07:12 EST (11:12 UTC)
  • May 18, 2019 17:11 EST (21:11 UTC)
  • June 17, 2019 04:31 EST (8:31 UTC)
  • July 16, 2019 17:38 EST (21:38 UTC)
  • August 15, 2019 08:29 EST (12:29 UTC)
  • September 14, 2019 00:33 EST (04:33 UTC)
  • October 13, 2019 17:08 EST (21:08 UTC)
  • November 12, 2019 08:34 EST (13:34 UTC)
  • December 12, 2019 00:12 EST (05:12 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2019 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, dates for the equinoxes and solstices

Full Moon Calendar 2019

Full Moon Calendar 2019

For 2019, there was 12 full moons. All the full moons fell approximately in the middle of the months. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

January 2019

The January 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Monday, January 21, 2019 00:16 EST or 5:12 UTC. It was the second full moon of the 2018-2019 Winter season.

February 2019

The February 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Tuesday, January 21, 2019 00:16 EST or 15:53 UTC. It was the third full moon of the 2018-2019 Winter Season.

March 2019

The March 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, on Wednesday March 20, 2019 21:43 EST or March 21, 2019  1:43 UTC. The timing of this full moon was just hours after the Vernal Equinox (Spring) making it the first full moon of the Spring 2019 season. The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 2019 16:58 EST or 22:58 UTC.

April 2019

The April 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Friday April 19, 2019 7:12 EST or 11:12 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2019 season.

May 2019

The May 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 18, 2019 17:11 EST or 21:11 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2019 season. This full moon was also considered a season blue moon because it was the third full moon in a season with four full moons.

June 2019

The June 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Monday June 17, 2019 4:31 EST or 8:31 UTC. It was the fourth full moon for the Spring 2019 season, which created a seasonal blue moon in May.

The Summer Solstice occurred on June 21, 2019 10:54 EST or 16:54 UTC, after the June Full Moon.

July 2019

The July 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Tuesday July 16, 2019 17:38 EST or 21:38 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2019 season.

August 2019

The August 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 15, 2019 8:29 EST or 12:29 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2019 season.

September 2019

The September 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, occurred just after midnight Eastern Time on Saturday September 14, 2019 00:33 EST or 4:33 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Summer 2019 season.

The Autumn Equinox occurred on September 23, 2019 3:49 EST or 8:49 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it received the name the Full Harvest Moon.

October 2019

The October 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Sunday, October 13, 2019 17:08 EST or 21:08 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Fall 2019 Season.

November 2019

The November 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday November 12, 2019 8:34 EST or 13:34 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Fall 2019 Season.

December 2019

The December 2019 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was just after midnight on Thursday, December 12, 2019 00:12 EST or 5:12 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Fall 2019 Season.

The Winter Solstice occurred on December 21, 2019 23:19 EST or
December 22, 2019 04:19 UTC.

Was there a blue moon in 2019?

In 2019 there was a seasonal blue moon as the Spring 2019 season had 4 full moons. The third moon in a four moon season is designated as the seasonal blue moon, and for 2019 that was the May 2019 full moon which occurred on Saturday May 18, 2019 17:11 EST or 21:11 UTC.

2019 Equinoxes and Solstices

One interesting thing to note is that the Spring equinox and March full moon will happen on the same day. The March full moon will reach its peek a few hours after equinox so it will be considered to be part of the Spring season.

As a result, there will be four full moons in the Spring 2019 season. The May 2019 full moon was considered to be a seasonal blue moon.

MonthEquinox/Solstice2019 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring )March 20, 2019 16:58 EST22:58 UTC
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 21, 2019 10:54 EST16:54 UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 23, 2019 03:49 EST08:49 UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2019 23:19 EST04:19 UTC
(December 22, 2019)

Future Full Moon Calendars

Pin for later

Calendar of the 12 Full moons in 2019