Full Moon Calendar 1993 with 13 Full Moons

When were the full moons in 1993? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 1993 to help you look back at that year.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

When were the Full Moons in 1993

In 1993 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1993 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 8, 1993 7:37 AM EST (12:37 PM UTC)
  2. February 6, 1993 6:55 PM EST (11:55 PM UTC)
  3. March 8, 1993 4:46 AM EST (9:46 AM UTC)
  4. April 6, 1993 2:43 PM EDT (7:43 PM UTC)
  5. May 5, 1993 11:34 PM EDT (May 6, 1993 4:34 AM UTC)
  6. June 4, 1993 9:02 AM EDT (2:02 PM UTC)
  7. July 3, 1993 7:45 PM EDT (July 4, 1993 12:45 AM UTC)
  8. August 2, 1993 8:10 AM EDT (1:10 PM UTC)
  9. August 31, 1993 10:33 PM EDT (September 1, 1993 3:33 AM UTC)
  10. September 30, 1993 2:54 PM EDT (7:54 PM UTC)
  11. October 30, 1993 8:38 AM EDT (1:38 PM UTC)
  12. November 29, 1993 1:31 AM EST (6:31 AM UTC)
  13. December 28, 1993 6:05 PM EST (11:05 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the Full Moon Calendar 1993 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, and dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1993

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 1993

For 1993, there were 13 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The Full Moons in 1993 were as follows:

January 8, 1993 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 8, 1993 7:37 AM EST or 12:37 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the 1992-1993 Winter season.

February 6, 1993 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 6, 1993 6:55 PM EST or 11:55 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the 1992-1993 Winter season.

March 8, 1993 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Monday March 8, 1993 4:46 AM EST or 9:46 AM UTC. This full moon happened a few weeks before the Vernal Equinox (Spring) making it the third and last full moon of the Winter 1992-1993 Winter season.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Saturday March 20, 1993 10:41 AM EST or 3:41 PM UTC.

April 6, 1993 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Tuesday April 6, 1993 2:43 PM EDT or 7:43 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 1993 season.

May 5, 1993 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Wednesday May 5, 1993 11:34 PM EDT or May 6, 1993 4:34 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 1993 season.

June 4, 1993 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Friday June 4, 1993 9:02 AM EDT or 2:02 PM UTC. It was the third and last full moon for the Spring 1993 season.

The Summer Solstice occurred on Monday June 21, 1993 5:00 AM EDT or 10:00 AM UTC, after the June Full Moon.

There was a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 1 minute before the full moon peak.

July 3, 1993 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Saturday July 3, 1993 7:45 PM EDT or July 4, 1993 12:45 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 1993 season.

August 2, 1993 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday August 2, 1993 8:10 AM EDT or 1:10 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 1993 season.

August 31, 1993 (Full Blue Moon)

At the end of August 1993 for the Eastern Time Zone, a second full moon occurred that month. An August blue moon happened on Tuesday August 31, 1993 10:33 PM EDT. Though in the UTC timezone, that was September 1, 1993 3:33 AM UTC.

September 30, 1993 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Thursday September 30, 1993 2:54 PM EDT or 7:54 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 1993 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for Wednesday September 22, 1993 8:22 PM EDT or September 23, 1993 1:22 AM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

And then for the UTC timezone, the 1993 blue moon occurred in September 1993. That would have made the second September 1993 not only the Harvest Moon, but a Blue Harvest Moon.

October 30, 1993 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Saturday October 30, 1993 8:38 AM EDT or 1:38 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1993 season

November 29, 1993 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1993 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Monday November 29, 1993 1:31 AM EST or 6:31 AM UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 1993 season.

There also was a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 5 minutes before the full moon peak.

December 28, 1993 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1993 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Tuesday December 28, 1993 6:05 PM EST or 11:05 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 1993-1994 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Tuesday December 21, 1993 3:26 PM EST or 8:26 PM UTC.

Was there a full moon on Halloween in 1993?

The October 1993 Full Moon occurred 1 day before Halloween, on Saturday October 30, 1993 8:38 AM EDT or 1:38 PM UTC. So it was close but not exactly on Halloween, at least for Eastern Time. Other time zones might have had a Halloween Full Moon, but this time zone doesn’t.

For example, check out the Halloween Blue Moon that occurred in 2020.

What were the names of the 1993 full moons?

The names of the 1993 full moons were as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 1993?

In 1993 there was a blue moon because August 1993 had 2 full moons for the Eastern Time Zone. From a UTC perspective, the blue moon was in September 1993.

There wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 1993 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season had three full moons.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

1993 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1993 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1993 at 10:41 AM EST or 3:41 PM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1993 at 5:00 AM EDT or 10:00 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 1993 at 8:22 PM EDT or September 23, 1993 at 1:22 AM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1993 at 3:26 PM EST or 8:26 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1993 was on Tuesday April 6, 1993 2:43 PM EDT or 7:43 PM UTC. It was the April 1993 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1993 was on Saturday July 3, 1993 7:45 PM EDT or July 4, 1993 12:45 AM UTC. It was the July 1993 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1993 was on Thursday September 30, 1993 2:54 PM EDT or 7:54 PM UTC. It was the September 1993 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1993 was on Tuesday December 28, 1993 6:05 PM EST or 11:05 PM UTC. It was the December 1993 full moon, also called the Full Cold Moon.

1993 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 1993 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Full MoonJanuary 8, 1993 7:37 AM ESTJanuary 8, 1993 12:37 PM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 14, 1993 11:01 PM ESTJanuary 14, 1993 4:01 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 22, 1993 1:27 PM ESTJanuary 22, 1993 6:27 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 30, 1993 6:20 PM ESTJanuary 30, 1993 11:20 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 6, 1993 6:55 PM ESTFebruary 6, 1993 11:55 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 13, 1993 9:57 AM ESTFebruary 13, 1993 2:57 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 21, 1993 8:05 AM ESTFebruary 21, 1993 1:05 PM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 1, 1993 10:47 AM ESTMarch 1, 1993 3:47 PM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 8, 1993 4:46 AM ESTMarch 8, 1993 9:46 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 15, 1993 12:16 AM ESTMarch 15, 1993 5:16 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 23, 1993 3:14 AM ESTMarch 23, 1993 8:14 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 31, 1993 12:10 AM ESTMarch 31, 1993 5:10 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 6, 1993 2:43 PM EDTApril 6, 1993 7:43 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 13, 1993 3:39 PM EDTApril 13, 1993 8:39 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 21, 1993 7:49 PM EDTApril 22, 1993 12:49 AM UTC
April First QuarterApril 29, 1993 8:41 AM EDTApril 29, 1993 1:41 PM UTC – First Quarter
May Full MoonMay 5, 1993 11:34 PM EDTMay 6, 1993 4:34 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 13, 1993 8:20 AM EDTMay 13, 1993 1:20 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 21, 1993 10:07 AM EDTMay 21, 1993 3:07 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 28, 1993 2:21 PM EDTMay 28, 1993 7:21 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 4, 1993 9:02 AM EDTJune 4, 1993 2:02 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 12, 1993 1:36 AM EDTJune 12, 1993 6:36 AM UTC
June New MoonJune 19, 1993 9:52 PM EDTJune 20, 1993 2:52 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 26, 1993 6:43 PM EDTJune 26, 1993 11:43 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 3, 1993 7:45 PM EDTJuly 4, 1993 12:45 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 11, 1993 6:49 PM EDTJuly 11, 1993 11:49 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 19, 1993 7:24 AM EDTJuly 19, 1993 12:24 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 25, 1993 11:25 PM EDTJuly 26, 1993 4:25 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 2, 1993 8:10 AM EDTAugust 2, 1993 1:10 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 10, 1993 11:19 AM EDTAugust 10, 1993 4:19 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 17, 1993 3:28 PM EDTAugust 17, 1993 8:28 PM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 24, 1993 5:57 AM EDTAugust 24, 1993 10:57 AM UTC
August Blue MoonAugust 31, 1993 10:33 PM EDTSeptember 1, 1993 3:33 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 9, 1993 2:26 AM EDTSeptember 9, 1993 7:26 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 15, 1993 11:10 PM EDTSeptember 16, 1993 4:10 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 22, 1993 3:32 PM EDTSeptember 22, 1993 8:32 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 30, 1993 2:54 PM EDTSeptember 30, 1993 7:54 PM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 8, 1993 3:35 PM EDTOctober 8, 1993 8:35 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 15, 1993 7:36 AM EDTOctober 15, 1993 12:36 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 22, 1993 4:52 AM EDTOctober 22, 1993 9:52 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 30, 1993 8:38 AM EDTOctober 30, 1993 1:38 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 7, 1993 1:36 AM ESTNovember 7, 1993 6:36 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 13, 1993 4:34 PM ESTNovember 13, 1993 9:34 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 20, 1993 9:03 PM ESTNovember 21, 1993 2:03 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 29, 1993 1:31 AM ESTNovember 29, 1993 6:31 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 6, 1993 10:49 AM ESTDecember 6, 1993 3:49 PM UTC
December New MoonDecember 13, 1993 4:27 AM ESTDecember 13, 1993 9:27 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 20, 1993 5:26 PM ESTDecember 20, 1993 10:26 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 28, 1993 6:05 PM ESTDecember 28, 1993 11:05 PM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 1993 Full Moon Calendar to help you look back the year.

When was the full moon August 1993?

There were two full moons in August 1993. The first August full moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday August 2, 1993 8:10 AM EDT or 1:10 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 1993 season. And then at the end of August 1993 there was a second full moon in the Eastern United States Time Zone. An August blue moon happened on Tuesday August 31, 1993 10:33 PM EDT. Though in the UTC timezone, that was September 1, 1993 3:33 AM UTC.

Future Full Moon Calendars

In addition to the Full Moon Calendar 1993 you can also check the upcoming full moons.