Full Moon Calendar 1996 with 13 full moons

Wondering when were the full moons in 1996? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 1996 to help you go back and check the 13 full moons.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

When were the Full Moons in 1996

In 1996 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1996 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 5, 1996 15:51 EST (20:51 UTC)
  • February 4, 1996 10:58 EST (15:58 UTC)
  • March 5, 1996 04:23 EST (09:23 UTC)
  • April 3, 1996 20:07 EST (April 4, 1996 01:07 UTC)
  • May 3, 1996 07:48 EST (12:48 UTC)
  • June 1, 1996 16:47 EST (21:47 UTC)
  • June 30, 1996 23:58 EST (July 1, 1996 04:58 UTC)
  • July 30, 1996 06:35 EST (July 30, 1996 11:35 UTC)
  • August 28, 1996 13:52 EST (18:52 UTC)
  • September 26, 1996 22:51 EST (September 27, 1996 03:51 UTC)
  • October 26, 1996 10:11 EST (15:11 UTC)
  • November 24, 1996 23:10 EST (November 25, 1996 04:10 UTC)
  • December 24, 1996 15:41 EST (20:41 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the Full Moon Calendar 1996 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, and dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1996

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 1996

For 1996, there were 13 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

Also in 1996 there were two total lunar full moon eclipses in April and September.

The Full Moons in 1996 were as follows:

January 5, 1996 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 5, 1996 15:51 EST or 20:51 UTC. It was the first full moon of the 1995-1996 Winter season.

February 4, 1996 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Sunday February 4, 1996 10:58 EST or 15:58 UTC. It was the second full moon of the 1995-1996 Winter season.

March 5, 1996 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, on Tuesday March 5, 1996 04:23 EST or 09:23 UTC. This full moon happened a few weeks before the Vernal Equinox (Spring) making it the third and last full moon of the Winter 1995-1996 Winter season.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 1996  04:03 EST or 09:03 UTC.

April 3, 1996 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 3, 1996 20:07 EST or April 4, 1996 01:07 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 1996 season.

May 3, 1996 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Friday May 3, 1996 07:48 EST or 12:48 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 1996 season.

June 1, 1996 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 1, 1996 16:47 EST or 21:47 UTC. It was the third and last full moon for the Spring 1996 season.

The Summer Solstice occurred on June 20, 1996 22:24 EST or June 21, 1996 3:24 UTC, after the June Full Moon.

June 30, 1996 (Full Blue Moon, EST)

The 1996 Full Blue Moon was on Sunday June 30, 1996 23:58 EST or July 1, 1996 04:58 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 1996 season. Depending on your timezone, the blue moon occurred either in June or July. For the Eastern Timezone, the blue moon snuck into June with minutes to spare.

As a result in the UTC timezone, the 1996 blue moon occurred in July 1996. That would have made the first July 1996 full moon the Full Buck Moon, not the Full Blue Moon.

July 30, 1996 (Full Buck Moon, EST)

The July 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Tuesday July 30, 1996 06:35 EST or July 30, 1996 11:35 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 1996 season.

And then for the UTC timezone, the 1996 blue moon occurred in July 1996. That would have made the second July 1996 full moon the Full Blue Moon, not the Full Buck Moon.

August 28, 1996 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Wednesday August 28, 1996 13:52 EST or 18:52 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Summer 1996 season.

September 26, 1996 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Thursday September 26, 1996 22:51 EST or September 27, 1996 03:51 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 1996 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 1996 14:00 EST or 19:00 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 26, 1996 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Saturday October 26, 1996 10:11 EST or 15:11 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1996 season

November 24, 1996 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1996 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 24, 1996 23:10 EST or November 25, 1996 04:10 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 1996 season.

December 24, 1996 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1996 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Tuesday December 24, 1996 15:41 EST or 20:41 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 1996-1997 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 1996 09:06 EST or 14:06 UTC.

Was there a full moon on Christmas in 1996?

The December 1996 Full Moon occurred 1 day before Christmas, on Tuesday December 24, 1996 15:41 EST or 20:41 UTC. So it was on Christmas Eve, but not exactly on Christmas, at least for Eastern Time and UTC. Other time zones might have had a Christmas Full Moon, but these time zones didn’t.

What were the names of the 1996 full moons?

The names of the 1996 full moons were as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 1996?

In 1996 there was a blue moon because June 1996 had 2 full moons for the Eastern Time Zone. From a UTC perspective, the blue moon was in July 1996.

There wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 1996 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season had three full moons.

1996 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below are the dates for the equinoxes and solstices from 1996. None of the full moons this year fell on the same date as the equinoxes and solstices.

The 1996 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1996 at 4:03 AM EST or 9:03 AM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 1996 at 10:24 PM EDT or June 21, 1996 at 3:24 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 1996 at 2:00 PM EDT or 7:00 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1996 at 9:06 AM EST or 2:06 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1996 was on Wednesday April 3, 1996 20:07 EST or April 4, 1996 01:07 UTC. It was the April 1996 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1996 was on Sunday June 30, 1996 23:58 EST or July 1, 1996 04:58 UTC. It was the June 1996 full blue moon in the Eastern Time Zone or the July 1996 Full Buck Moon in the UTC time zone.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1996 was on Thursday September 26, 1996 22:51 EST or September 27, 1996 03:51 UTC. It was the September 1996 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1996 was on Tuesday December 24, 1996 15:41 EST or 20:41 UTC. It was the December 1996 full moon, also called the Full Cold Moon.

1996 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 1996 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Full MoonJanuary 5, 1996 3:51 PM ESTJanuary 5, 1996 8:51 PM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 13, 1996 3:45 PM ESTJanuary 13, 1996 8:45 PM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 20, 1996 7:50 AM ESTJanuary 20, 1996 12:50 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 27, 1996 6:14 AM ESTJanuary 27, 1996 11:14 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 4, 1996 10:58 AM ESTFebruary 4, 1996 3:58 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 12, 1996 3:37 AM ESTFebruary 12, 1996 8:37 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 18, 1996 6:30 PM ESTFebruary 18, 1996 11:30 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 26, 1996 12:52 AM ESTFebruary 26, 1996 5:52 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 5, 1996 4:23 AM ESTMarch 5, 1996 9:23 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 12, 1996 1:15 PM ESTMarch 12, 1996 6:15 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 19, 1996 6:45 AM ESTMarch 19, 1996 11:45 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 26, 1996 9:31 PM ESTMarch 27, 1996 2:31 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 3, 1996 8:07 PM ESTApril 4, 1996 1:07 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 10, 1996 7:36 PM EDTApril 11, 1996 12:36 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 17, 1996 6:49 PM EDTApril 17, 1996 11:49 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 25, 1996 4:40 PM EDTApril 25, 1996 9:40 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 3, 1996 7:48 AM EDTMay 3, 1996 12:48 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 10, 1996 1:04 AM EDTMay 10, 1996 6:04 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 17, 1996 7:46 AM EDTMay 17, 1996 12:46 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 25, 1996 10:13 AM EDTMay 25, 1996 3:13 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 1, 1996 4:47 PM EDTJune 1, 1996 9:47 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 8, 1996 7:05 AM EDTJune 8, 1996 12:05 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 15, 1996 9:36 PM EDTJune 16, 1996 2:36 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 24, 1996 1:23 AM EDTJune 24, 1996 6:23 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 30, 1996 11:58 PM EDTJuly 1, 1996 4:58 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 7, 1996 2:55 PM EDTJuly 7, 1996 7:55 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 15, 1996 12:15 PM EDTJuly 15, 1996 5:15 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 23, 1996 1:49 PM EDTJuly 23, 1996 6:49 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 30, 1996 6:35 AM EDTJuly 30, 1996 11:35 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 6, 1996 1:25 AM EDTAugust 6, 1996 6:25 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 14, 1996 3:34 AM EDTAugust 14, 1996 8:34 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 21, 1996 11:36 PM EDTAugust 22, 1996 4:36 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 28, 1996 1:52 PM EDTAugust 28, 1996 6:52 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 4, 1996 3:06 PM EDTSeptember 4, 1996 8:06 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 12, 1996 7:07 PM EDTSeptember 13, 1996 12:07 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 20, 1996 7:23 AM EDTSeptember 20, 1996 12:23 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 26, 1996 10:51 PM EDTSeptember 27, 1996 3:51 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 4, 1996 8:04 AM EDTOctober 4, 1996 1:04 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 12, 1996 10:14 AM EDTOctober 12, 1996 3:14 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 19, 1996 2:09 PM EDTOctober 19, 1996 7:09 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 26, 1996 10:11 AM EDTOctober 26, 1996 3:11 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 3, 1996 2:50 AM ESTNovember 3, 1996 7:50 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 10, 1996 11:16 PM ESTNovember 11, 1996 4:16 AM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 17, 1996 8:09 PM ESTNovember 18, 1996 1:09 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 24, 1996 11:10 PM ESTNovember 25, 1996 4:10 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 3, 1996 12:06 AM ESTDecember 3, 1996 5:06 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 10, 1996 11:56 AM ESTDecember 10, 1996 4:56 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 17, 1996 4:31 AM ESTDecember 17, 1996 9:31 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 24, 1996 3:41 PM ESTDecember 24, 1996 8:41 PM UTC

Future Full Moon Calendars