Full Moon Calendar 2011 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2011 Calendar had 12 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, and 2011 followed that pattern.

When were the Full Moons in 2011

In 2011 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2011 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 19, 2011 16:21 EST (21:21 UTC)
  • February 18, 2011 03:36 EST (08:36 UTC)
  • March 19, 2011 14:10 EST (19:10 UTC)
  • April 17, 2011 22:44 EST (April 18, 2011 03:33 UTC)
  • May 17, 2011 07:09 EST (12:09 UTC)
  • June 15, 2011 16:13 EST (21:13 UTC)
  • July 15, 2011 02:39 EST (07:39 UTC)
  • August 13, 2011 14:57 EST (19:57 UTC)
  • September 12, 2011 05:27 EST (10:27 UTC)
  • October 11, 2011 22:06 EST (October 12, 2011 03:06 UTC)
  • November 10, 2011 15:16 EST 20:16 UTC
  • December 10, 2011 09:37 EST (14:37 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2011 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Full Moon Calendar 2011

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 2011

In 2011, there were 12 full moons. No blue moons occurred during the year. There were two full lunar eclipses that also happened during the year: June and December.

Here are the dates for the 2011 Full Moons:

January 19, 2011 (Full Wolf Moon)

The first full moon of 2011, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday January 19, 2011 16:21 EST or 21:21 UTC. The January 2011 Full Moon was the first full moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season as the December full moon occurred a few hours before the 2010 Winter Solstice.

February 18, 2011 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Friday February 18, 2011 03:36 EST or 08:36 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season.

March 19, 2011 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Saturday March 19, 2011 14:10 EST or 19:10 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season as it occurred before the Spring Equinox 2011.

The Vernal (Spring) Equinox was on March 20, 2011 19:21 EST or March 21, 2011 00:21 UTC.

April 17, 2011 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 17, 2011 22:44 EST or April 18, 2011 03:33 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 2011 season and the first full moon after spring equinox 2011.

May 17, 2011 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 17, 2011 07:09 EST or 12:09 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2011 season.

June 15, 2011 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday June 15, 2011 16:13 EST or 21:13 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 2011 season as it occurred before the Summer Solstice.

There was a Total Lunar Eclipse during the June Full Moon, exactly at the same time. Usually, the eclipses are within a few minutes but with this full moon, it was to the exact minute.

The Summer Solstice 2011 was on June 21, 2011 13:16 EST or 18:16 UTC.

July 15, 2011 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Friday July 15, 2011 02:39 EST or 07:39 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 2011 season as the June full moon will happen prior to the Summer Solstice.

August 13, 2011 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday August 13, 2011 14:57 EST or 19:57 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 2011 season.

September 12, 2011  (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Monday September 12, 2011 05:27 EST or 10:27 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 2011 season.

The Autumn 2011 equinox was on September 23, 2011 05:05 EST or 10:05 UTC.

And while this full moon was still in the summer season it was closer to the Autumn equinox than the October full moon, making September the Full Harvest Moon.

October 11, 2011 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Tuesday October 11, 2011 22:06 EST or October 12, 2011 03:06 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 2011 season.

November 10, 2011 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 2011 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Thursday November 10, 2011 15:16 EST or 20:16 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 2011 season.

December 10, 2011 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 2011 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Saturday December 10, 2011 09:37 EST or 14:37 UTC. It was the third and last full moon of the Autumn 2011 season. There was also a Total Lunar Eclipse during the December full moon, technically 4 minutes after.

What were the names of 2011 full moons?

The names of the 2011 full moons were as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 2011?

No, there was not a blue moon in 2011 because none of the months had more than 1 full moon. There also wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 2011 because none of the seasons had four full moons. Each season will have three full moons.

2011 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2011 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 2011 at 7:21 PM EDT or March 21, 2011 at 12:21 AM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 2011 at 1:16 PM EDT or 6:16 PM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 2011 at 5:05 AM EDT or 10:05 AM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 22, 2011 at 12:30 AM EST or 5:30 AM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2011 was on Sunday April 17, 2011 22:44 EST or April 18, 2011 03:33 UTC. It was the April 2011 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2011 was on Friday July 15, 2011 02:39 EST or 07:39 UTC. It’s the July 2011 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2011 was on Tuesday October 11, 2011 22:06 EST or October 12, 2011 03:06 UTC. It was the October 2022 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2011 was on Monday January 9, 2012 02:30 EST or 07:30 UTC. It was the January 2012 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon.

2011 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2011 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 4, 2011 4:03 AM ESTJanuary 4, 2011 9:03 AM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 12, 2011 6:31 AM ESTJanuary 12, 2011 11:31 AM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 19, 2011 4:21 PM ESTJanuary 19, 2011 9:21 PM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 26, 2011 7:57 AM ESTJanuary 26, 2011 12:57 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 2, 2011 9:31 PM ESTFebruary 3, 2011 2:31 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 11, 2011 2:18 AM ESTFebruary 11, 2011 7:18 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 18, 2011 3:36 AM ESTFebruary 18, 2011 8:36 AM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 24, 2011 6:26 PM ESTFebruary 24, 2011 11:26 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 4, 2011 3:46 PM ESTMarch 4, 2011 8:46 PM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 12, 2011 6:45 PM EDTMarch 12, 2011 11:45 PM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 19, 2011 2:10 PM EDTMarch 19, 2011 7:10 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 26, 2011 8:07 AM EDTMarch 26, 2011 1:07 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 3, 2011 10:32 AM EDTApril 3, 2011 3:32 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 11, 2011 8:05 AM EDTApril 11, 2011 1:05 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 17, 2011 10:44 PM EDTApril 17, 2011 3:44 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 24, 2011 10:47 PM EDTApril 25, 2011 3:47 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 3, 2011 2:51 AM EDTMay 3, 2011 7:51 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 10, 2011 4:33 PM EDTMay 10, 2011 9:33 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 17, 2011 7:09 AM EDTMay 17, 2011 12:09 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 24, 2011 2:52 PM EDTMay 24, 2011 7:52 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 1, 2011 5:03 PM EDTJune 1, 2011 10:03 PM UTC
June First QuarterJune 8, 2011 10:11 PM EDTJune 9, 2011 3:11 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 15, 2011 4:13 PM EDTJune 15, 2011 9:13 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 23, 2011 7:48 AM EDTJune 23, 2011 12:48 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 1, 2011 4:54 AM EDTJuly 1, 2011 9:54 AM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 8, 2011 2:29 AM EDTJuly 8, 2011 7:29 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 15, 2011 2:39 AM EDTJuly 15, 2011 7:39 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 23, 2011 1:02 AM EDTJuly 23, 2011 6:02 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 30, 2011 2:40 PM EDTJuly 30, 2011 7:40 PM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 06, 2011 7:08 AM EDTAugust 06, 2011 12:08 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 13, 2011 2:57 PM EDTAugust 13, 2011 7:57 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 21, 2011 5:55 PM EDTAugust 21, 2011 10:55 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 28, 2011 11:04 PM EDTAugust 29, 2011 4:04 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 4, 2011 1:39 PM EDTSeptember 4, 2011 6:39 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 12, 2011 5:27 AM EDTSeptember 12, 2011 10:27 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 20, 2011 9:39 AM EDTSeptember 20, 2011 2:39 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 27, 2011 7:09 AM EDTSeptember 27, 2011 12:09 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 3, 2011 11:15 PM EDTOctober 4, 2011 4:15 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 11, 2011 10:06 PM EDTOctober 12, 2011 3:06 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 19, 2011 11:31 PM EDTOctober 20, 2011 4:31 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 26, 2011 3:56 PM EDTOctober 26, 2011 8:56 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 02, 2011 11:38 AM EDTNovember 02, 2011 4:38 PM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 10, 2011 3:16 PM ESTNovember 10, 2011 8:16 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 18, 2011 10:09 AM ESTNovember 18, 2011 3:09 PM UTC
November New MoonNovember 25, 2011 1:10 AM ESTNovember 25, 2011 6:10 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 2, 2011 4:52 AM ESTDecember 2, 2011 9:52 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 10, 2011 9:37 AM ESTDecember 10, 2011 2:37 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 17, 2011 7:48 PM ESTDecember 18, 2011 12:48 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 24, 2011 1:06 PM ESTDecember 24, 2011 6:06 PM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2011 Full Moon Calendar to help you review the year’s schedule.

How many full moons were there in 2011?

There were 12 full moons in 2011. Each month had 1 full moon so there were no blue moons that year.

When was the first full moon of 2011?

The first full moon of 2011 was on Wednesday January 19, 2011 16:21 EST or 21:21 UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. This was the first full moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season as the December full moon occurred a few hours before the 2010 Winter Solstice.

Future Full Moon Calendars