1976 Full Moon Calendar with 12 full moons

Home » Full Moons 1900 to 2100 » 1976 Full Moon Calendar with 12 full moons

1976 Full Moon — In 1976, there were 12 full moons. The year had two lunar eclipses, and five full supermoons.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is between the Sun and the Moon, so the moon looks completely illuminated. It happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average, also called a  synodic month.

Photo of full moon for the date and times of the Full Moon Calendar 1976

All dates and times are in United States Eastern Time for cities such as New York, adjusted for Daylight Savings Time for part of the year.

The dates and times of the full moons in 1976 were:

Lunar CycleFull MoonMoon SignSeason
Wolf Moon 1976Friday, January 16, 1976 11:47 p.m.CancerWinter
Snow Moon 1976Sunday, February 15, 1976 11:43 a.m.LeoWinter
Worm Moon 1976Monday, March 15, 1976 9:53 p.m.VirgoWinter
Pink Moon 1976Wednesday, April 14, 1976 6:49 a.m.LibraSpring
Flower Moon 1976Thursday, May 13, 1976 4:04 p.m.ScorpioSpring
Stawberry Moon 1976Saturday, June 12, 1976 12:15 a.m.SagittariusSpring
Buck Moon 1976Sunday, July 11, 1976 9:09 a.m.CapricornSummer
Sturgeon Moon 1976Monday, August 9, 1976 7:43 p.m.AquariusSummer
Harvest Moon 1976Wednesday, September 8, 1976 8:52 a.m.PiscesSummer
Hunter’s Moon 1976Friday, October 8, 1976 12:56 a.m.AriesAutumn
Beaver Moon 1976Saturday, November 6, 1976 6:15 p.m.TaurusAutumn
Cold Moon 1976Monday, December 6, 1976 1:15 p.m.GeminiAutumn

Full Moon Calendar for 1976

In 1976, there were 12 full moons on the calendar. Because the first full moon was in the middle of January, each month had one full moon. Each season had three full moons. There was not a seasonal Blue Moon in 1976.

As part of both May full moon there was a Partial Lunar Eclipse, and there was a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse in November.

January 16, 1976: Full Wolf Moon

The full moon in January 1976 was on Friday, January 16, 1976. The Full Wolf Moon was the first full moon of Winter. The January 16 Full Moon was the full moon in Cancer.

February 15, 1976: Super Snow Moon

The full moon in February 1976 was on Sunday, February 15, 1976. The Super Snow Moon was the second full moon of Winter. The February 15 Full Moon was the full moon in Leo.

March 15, 1976: Super Worm Moon

The full moon in March 1976 was on Monday, March 15, 1976. The Super Worm Moon was the last full moon of Winter. The March 15 Full Moon was the full moon in Virgo.

April 14, 1976: Super Pink Moon

The full moon in April 1976 was on Wednesday, April 14, 1976. The Super Pink Moon was the first full moon of Spring. The April 14 Full Moon was the full moon in Libra.

May 13, 1976: Super Flower Moon

The full moon in May 1976 was on Thursday, May 13, 1976. The Super Flower Moon was the second full moon of Spring. The May 13 Full Moon was the full moon in Scorpio.

June 12, 1976: Super Strawberry Moon

The full moon in June 1976 was on Saturday, June 12, 1976. The Super Strawberry Moon was the last full moon of Spring. The June 12 Full Moon was the full moon in Sagittarius.

July 11, 1976: Full Buck Moon

The full moon in July 1976 was on Sunday, July 11, 1976. The Full Buck Moon was the first full moon of Summer. The July 11 Full Moon was the full moon in Capricorn.

August 9, 1976: Full Sturgeon Moon

The full moon in August 1976 was on Monday, August 9, 1976. The Full Sturgeon Moon was the second full moon of Summer. The August 9 Full Moon was the full moon in Aquarius.

September 8, 1976: Full Harvest Moon

The full moon in September 1976 was on Wednesday, September 8, 1976. The Full Harvest Moon was the last full moon of Summer. The September 8 Full Moon was the full moon in Pisces.

October 8, 1976: Full Hunter’s Moon

The full moon in October 1976 was on Friday, October 8, 1976. The Full Hunter’s Moon was the first full moon of Autumn. The October 8 Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

November 6, 1976: Full Beaver Moon

The full moon in November 1976 was on Saturday, November 6, 1976. The Full Beaver Moon was the second full moon of Autumn. The November 6 Full Moon was the full moon in Taurus.

December 6, 1976: Full Cold Moon

The full moon in December 1976 was on Monday, December 6, 1976. The Full Cold Moon was the last full moon of Autumn. The December 6 Full Moon was the full moon in Gemini.

Harvest Moon 1976

The Harvest Moon in 1976 was on Wednesday September 8, 1976. The September full moon ninth full moon of 1976 and was the full moon in Pisces. The Full Harvest Moon was the last Summer Full Moon as it occurred before the Autumnal Equinox.

Depending on the year, the Harvest Moon may either be part of the Summer or Autumn season. In 1976 it was part of Summer.

1976 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below are the dates for the equinoxes and solstices from 1976. Each season had three full moons.

The 1976 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1976 6:49 AM EST or March 20, 1976 11:49 AM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1976 2:24 AM EDT or 6:24 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 1976 5:49 PM EDT or 9:49 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1976 12:35 PM EST or 5:35 PM UTC

Moon Phases

The primary lunar phases of each moon are the new moon, the first quarter, the full moon, and last quarter.

The dates of the lunar phases in 1976 were:

Lunar CycleNew MoonFirst QuarterFull MoonLast Quarter
Wolf Moon 1976Thu, January 1, 9:40 a.m.Fri, January 9, 7:40 a.m.Fri, January 16, 11:47 p.m.Fri, January 23, 6:04 p.m.
Snow Moon 1976Sat, January 31, 1:20 a.m.Sun, February 8, 5:05 a.m.Sun, February 15, 11:43 a.m.Sun, February 22, 3:16 a.m.
Worm Moon 1976Sun, February 29, 6:25 p.m.Mon, March 8, 11:38 p.m.Mon, March 15, 9:53 p.m.Mon, March 22, 1:54 p.m.
Pink Moon 1976Tue, March 30, 12:08 p.m.Wed, April 7, 2:02 p.m.Wed, April 14, 6:49 a.m.Wed, April 21, 2:14 a.m.
Flower Moon 1976Thu, April 29, 6:20 a.m.Fri, May 7, 1:17 a.m.Thu, May 13, 4:04 p.m.Thu, May 20, 5:22 p.m.
Strawberry Moon 1976Fri, May 28, 9:47 p.m.Sat, June 5, 8:20 a.m.Sat, June 12, 12:15 a.m.Sat, June 19, 9:15 a.m.
Buck Moon 1976Sun, June 27, 10:50 a.m.Sun, July 4, 1:28 p.m.Sun, July 11, 9:09 a.m.Mon, July 19, 2:29 a.m.
Sturgeon Moon 1976Mon, July 26, 9:39 p.m.Mon, August 2, 6:06 p.m.Mon, August 9, 7:43 p.m.Tue, August 17, 8:13 p.m.
Harvest Moon 1976Wed, August 25, 7:01 a.m.Tue, August 31, 11:35 p.m.Wed, September 8, 8:52 a.m.Thu, September 16, 1:20 p.m.
Hunter’s Moon 1976Thu, September 23, 3:55 p.m.Thu, September 30, 7:12 a.m.Fri, October 8, 12:56 a.m.Sat, October 16, 4:59 a.m.
Beaver Moon 1976Sat, October 23, 1:10 a.m.Fri, October 29, 6:05 p.m.Sat, November 6, 6:15 p.m.Sun, November 14, 5:39 p.m.
Cold Moon 1976Sun, November 21, 10:11 a.m.Sun, November 28, 7:59 a.m.Mon, December 6, 1:15 p.m.Tue, December 14, 5:14 a.m.

Sources

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time adjusted for Daylight Saving Time for part of the year in the United States (USA). Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.