Full Moon Calendar 1985 with 13 full moons

The Full Moon 1985 Calendar had 13 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, and 1985 had one additional full moon.

What were the 1985 Full Moon Dates?

In 1985 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1985 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 6, 1985 9:16 PM EST (January 7 2:16 AM UTC)
  • February 5, 1985 10:19 AM EST (3:19 PM UTC)
  • March 6, 1985 9:13 PM EST (March 7 2:13 AM UTC)
  • April 5, 1985 7:32 AM EST (11:32 AM UTC)
  • May 4, 1985 3:53 PM EDT (7:53 PM UTC)
  • June 2, 1985 11:50 PM EDT (June 3 3:50 AM UTC)
  • July 2, 1985 8:08 AM EDT (12:08 PM UTC)
  • July 31, 1985 5:41 PM EDT (9:41 PM UTC) – Blue moon
  • August 30, 1985 5:27 AM EDT (9:27 AM UTC)
  • September 28, 1985 8:08 PM EDT (September 29 12:08 AM UTC)
  • October 28, 1985 12:38 PM EST (5:38 PM UTC)
  • November 27, 1985 7:42 AM EST (12:42 PM UTC)
  • December 27, 1985 2:30 AM EST (7:30 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1985 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1985

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 1985

For 1985, there were 13 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season. A blue moons occurred during the year.

As part of the May and October 1985 full moons there were total lunar full moon eclipses.

Here are the dates of the 1985 Full Moons:

January 6, 1985 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Sunday January 6, 1985 at 9:16 PM EST or January 7, 1985 at 2:16 AM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season as the December full moon occurred before the 1984 Winter Solstice.

February 5, 1985 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Tuesday February 5, 1985 at 10:19 AM EST or 3:19 PM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season.

March 6, 1985 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Wednesday March 6, 1985 at 9:13 PM EST or March 7, 1985 at 2:13 AM UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season as it occurred before the spring equinox 1985.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 1985 at 12:14 PM EST or 4:14 PM UTC, about 13 days before the March Full Moon.

April 5, 1985 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Friday April 5, 1985 at 7:32 AM EST or 11:32 AM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 1985 season and the first full moon after spring equinox 1985.

May 4, 1985 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 4, 1985 at 3:53 PM EDT or 7:53 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 1985 season.

June 2, 1985 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday June 2, 1985 at 11:50 PM EDT or June 3, 1985 at 3:50 AM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 1985 season as it occurred before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for June 21, 1985 at 6:45 AM EDT or 10:45 AM UTC.

July 2, 1985 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Tuesday July 2, 1985 at 8:08 AM EDT or 12:08 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 1985 season as the June full moon will happen prior to the Summer Solstice.

July 31, 1985 (Full Blue moon)

The 1985 Full Blue Moon was on Wednesday July 31, 1985 at 5:41 PM EDT or 9:41 PM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 1985 season as the June full moon will happen prior to the Summer Solstice.

August 30, 1985 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday August 30, 1985 at 5:27 AM EDT or 9:27 AM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 1985 season.

September 28, 1985 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Saturday September 28, 1985 at 8:08 PM EDT or September 29, 1985 at 12:08 AM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Autumn 1985 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 1985 at 10:08 PM EDT or September 23, 1985 at 2:08 AM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 28, 1985 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Monday October 28, 1985 at 12:38 PM EST or 5:38 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1985 season.

November 27, 1985 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1985 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday November 27, 1985 at 7:42 AM EST or 12:42 PM UTC. It was the third and last full moon of the Autumn 1985 season.

December 27, 1985 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1985 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Friday December 27, 1985 at 2:30 AM EST or 7:30 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 1985-1986 season.

The Winter Solstice was on December 21, 1985 at 5:08 PM EST or 10:08 PM UTC, about 6 days before the December full moon.

What are the names of 1985 full moons?

The names of the 1985 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 1985?

There was a blue moon in July 1985 because July had 2 full moons that month. The blue moon was on Wednesday July 31, 1985 at 5:41 PM EDT or 9:41 PM UTC.

There wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 1985 because none of the seasons had four full moons. Each season will have three full moons.

1985 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1985 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1985 at 12:14 PM EST or 4:14 PM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1985 at 6:45 AM EDT or 10:45 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 1985 at 10:08 PM EDT or September 23, 1985 at 2:08 AM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1985 at 5:08 PM EST or 10:08 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1985 was on Friday April 5, 1985 at 7:32 AM EST or 11:32 AM UTC. It was the April 1985 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1985 was on Tuesday July 2, 1985 at 8:08 AM EDT or 12:08 PM UTC. It’s the July 1985 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1985 was on Saturday September 28, 1985 at 8:08 PM EDT or September 29, 1985 at 12:08 AM UTC. It was the September 1985 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1985 was on Friday December 27, 1985 at 2:30 AM EST or 7:30 AM UTC. It was the December 1985 full moon, also called the Full Cold Moon.

1985 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 1985 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Full MoonJanuary 6, 1985 9:16 PM ESTJanuary 7, 1985 2:16 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 13, 1985 6:27 PM ESTJanuary 13, 1985 11:27 PM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 20, 1985 9:28 PM ESTJanuary 21, 1985 2:28 AM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 28, 1985 10:29 PM ESTJanuary 29, 1985 3:29 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 5, 1985 10:19 AM ESTFebruary 5, 1985 3:19 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 12, 1985 2:57 AM ESTFebruary 12, 1985 7:57 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 19, 1985 1:43 PM ESTFebruary 19, 1985 6:43 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 27, 1985 6:41 PM ESTFebruary 27, 1985 11:41 PM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 6, 1985 9:13 PM ESTMarch 7, 1985 2:13 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 13, 1985 1:34 PM ESTMarch 13, 1985 5:34 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 21, 1985 7:59 AM ESTMarch 21, 1985 11:59 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 29, 1985 12:11 PM ESTMarch 29, 1985 4:11 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 5, 1985 7:32 AM ESTApril 5, 1985 11:32 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 12, 1985 12:42 AM ESTApril 12, 1985 4:42 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 20, 1985 1:22 AM ESTApril 20, 1985 5:22 AM UTC
April First QuarterApril 28, 1985 12:25 AM ESTApril 28, 1985 4:25 AM UTC
May Full MoonMay 4, 1985 3:53 PM EDTMay 4, 1985 7:53 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 11, 1985 1:34 PM EDTMay 11, 1985 5:34 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 19, 1985 5:41 PM EDTMay 19, 1985 9:41 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 27, 1985 8:56 AM EDTMay 27, 1985 12:56 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 2, 1985 11:50 PM EDTJune 3, 1985 3:50 AM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 10, 1985 4:19 AM EDTJune 10, 1985 8:19 AM UTC
June New MoonJune 18, 1985 7:58 AM EDTJune 18, 1985 11:58 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 25, 1985 2:53 PM EDTJune 25, 1985 6:53 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 2, 1985 8:08 AM EDTJuly 2, 1985 12:08 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 9, 1985 8:50 PM EDTJuly 10, 1985 12:50 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 17, 1985 7:56 PM EDTJuly 17, 1985 11:56 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 24, 1985 7:39 PM EDTJuly 24, 1985 11:39 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 31, 1985 5:41 PM EDTJuly 31, 1985 9:41 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 8, 1985 2:29 PM EDTAugust 8, 1985 6:29 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 16, 1985 6:06 AM EDTAugust 16, 1985 10:06 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 23, 1985 12:36 AM EDTAugust 23, 1985 4:36 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 30, 1985 5:27 AM EDTAugust 30, 1985 9:27 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 7, 1985 8:16 AM EDTSeptember 7, 1985 12:16 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 14, 1985 3:20 PM EDTSeptember 14, 1985 7:20 PM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 21, 1985 7:03 AM EDTSeptember 21, 1985 11:03 AM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 28, 1985 8:08 PM EDTSeptember 29, 1985 12:08 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 7, 1985 1:04 AM EDTOctober 7, 1985 5:04 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 14, 1985 12:33 AM EDTOctober 14, 1985 4:33 AM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 20, 1985 4:13 PM EDTOctober 20, 1985 8:13 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 28, 1985 12:38 PM ESTOctober 28, 1985 5:38 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 5, 1985 3:07 PM ESTNovember 5, 1985 8:07 PM UTC
November New MoonNovember 12, 1985 9:20 AM ESTNovember 12, 1985 2:20 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 19, 1985 4:04 AM ESTNovember 19, 1985 9:04 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 27, 1985 7:42 AM ESTNovember 27, 1985 12:42 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 5, 1985 4:01 AM ESTDecember 5, 1985 9:01 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 11, 1985 7:54 PM ESTDecember 12, 1985 12:54 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 18, 1985 8:58 PM ESTDecember 19, 1985 1:58 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 27, 1985 2:30 AM ESTDecember 27, 1985 7:30 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 1985 Full Moon Calendar to help you review the year moon schedule.

How many full moons were in 1985?

There were 13 full moons in 1985 because July had two full moons that year. The other months had one full moon each.

When was the first full moon of 1985?

The first full moon of 1985 was on Sunday January 6, 1985 at 9:16 PM EST or January 7, 1985 at 2:16 AM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. It was also the first full moon of the Winter 1984-1985 season as the December full moon occurred before the 1984 Winter Solstice.

Future Full Moon Calendars