Full Moon Calendar 2022 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2022 Calendar has 12 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses. Here is a schedule of the upcoming dates to help you mark your calendar.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

The 12 full moons in 2022 based on the information provided by NASA are:

  1. January 17, 2022 6:48 PM EST (11:48 PM UTC)
  2. February 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST (4:57 PM UTC)
  3. March 18, 2022 3:17 AM EDT (8:17 AM UTC)
  4. April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT (7:55 PM UTC)
  5. May 16, 2022 12:14 AM EDT (5:14 AM UTC)
  6. June 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT (12:52 PM UTC)
  7. July 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT (7:37 PM UTC)
  8. August 11, 2022 9:36 PM EDT (August 12, 2022 2:36 AM UTC)
  9. September 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT (10:59 AM UTC)
  10. October 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT (9:55 PM UTC)
  11. November 8, 2022 6:02 AM EST (11:02 AM UTC)
  12. December 7, 2022 11:08 PM EST (December 8, 2022 4:08 AM UTC)

Related: 2022 New Moon Dates

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2022 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the moon for the Full Moon Calendar 202

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

When are the 2022 Full Moons?

In 2022 there will be 12 full moons. All the full moons are scheduled for the middle of the month. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of the 2022 Full Moons are:

January 17, 2022 (Full Wolf Moon)

The first full moon of 2022, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Monday January 17, 2022 6:48 PM EST or 11:48 PM UTC. The January full moon was also the first full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December full moon occurred a few days prior to the Winter Solistice. The January 17th full moon was the first full moon after the 2021 Winter Solistice. It was also the full moon in Cancer.

February 16, 2022 (Full Snow Moon)

The second full moon of 2022, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST or 4:57 PM UTC. The February full moon was also the was the second full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season. The February 16th full moon was the second full moon after the 2021 Winter Solistice. It was also the full moon in Leo.

March 18, 2022 (Full Worm Moon)

The third 2022 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Friday March 18, 2022 3:17 AM EDT or 8:17 AM UTC. The March Full moon was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2022 season. The March 18th full moon occurred days before the spring equinox 2022. It was also the full moon in Virgo.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Sunday March 20, 2022 11:33 AM EDT or 4:33 PM UTC, a couple of days after the March Full Moon.

April 16, 2022 (Full Pink Moon)

The fourth full moon of 2022, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC. The April full moon was the first full moon of Spring and the first full moon after spring equinox 2022. It was the full moon in Libra.

May 16, 2022 (Full Flower Moon)

The fifth 2022 full moon, called the Full Flower Moon, was on Monday May 16, 2022 00:14 ET or 05:14 UTC. The May full moon was the second full moon of the Spring 2022 season. The May 16th Full Moon was the second full moon after the 2022 spring equinox. It was the full moon in Scorpio.

There was also a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 3 minutes after the full moon peak.

June 14, 2022 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The sixth full moon in 2022, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday June 14, 2022 07:52 ET or 12:52 UTC. The June Full Moon was the third and last full moon of the Spring 2022 season as it occurred almost a week before the Summer Solstice. It was the full moon in Sagittarius. The June 14th full moon was the first of two full supermoons in 2022.

The Summer Solstice was on June 21, 2022 05:14 EST or 10:14 UTC.

July 13, 2022 (Full Buck Moon)

The seventh 2022 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT or 7:37 PM UTC. The July full moon was the first full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the first full moon after the 2022 Summer Solstice. It was the full moon in Capricorn. The July 13th full moon was the second of two full supermoons in 2022.

August 11, 2022 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The eighth full moon of 2022, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 11, 2022 9:36 PM EDT or August 12, 2022 2:36 AM UTC. The August full moon was the second full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the second full moon after the 2022 Summer Solstice. It was the full moon in Aquarius.

September 10, 2022 (Full Harvest Moon)

The ninth 2022 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Saturday September 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT or 10:59 AM UTC. The September full moon was the third and last full moon of the Summer 2022 season. It occurred before the 2022 Autumnal Equinox and was the full moon in Pisces.

The September 10th full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the 2022 Autumnal Equinox than the full moon in October.

The Autumn Equinox was on Thursday September 22, 2022 9:04 PM EDT or September 23, 2022 2:04 AM UTC.

October 9, 2022 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The tenth full moon in 2022, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Sunday October 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT or 9:55 PM UTC. The October Full Moon was the first full moon of the Autumn season as the first full moon after the 2022 Autumnal Equinox. It was the full moon in Aries.

November 8, 2022 (Full Beaver Moon)

The eleventh 2022 full moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, will be on Tuesday November 8, 2022 6:02 AM EST or 11:02 AM UTC. The November full moon will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2022 season as the second full moon after the 2022 Autumnal Equinox. It will be the full moon in Taurus.

There will also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 3 minutes before the full moon peak.

December 7, 2022 (Full Cold Moon)

The twelfth and last full moon of 2022, also called Full Cold Moon, will be on Wednesday December 7, 2022 11:08 PM EST or December 8, 2022 4:08 AM UTC. The December full moon will be the third full moon of the Autumn 2022 season. The December full moon will occur before the Winter season begins.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Wednesday December 21, 2022 4:48 PM EST or 9:48 PM UTC.

What are the names of 2022 full moons?

The names of the 2022 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Related: 2022 New Moons

Will there be a blue moon in 2022?

In 2022 there will not be a blue moon as no months during the year will have 2 full moons. There also won’t be a seasonal blue moon as part of 2022 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season will have three full moons.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

2022 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2022 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

MonthEquinox/Solstice2022 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 20, 2022 11:33 AM EDTMarch 20, 2022 4:33 PM UTC
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 21, 2022 5:14 AM EDTJune 21, 2022 10:14 AM UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 22, 2022 9:04 PM EDTSeptember 23, 2022 2:04 AM UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2022 4:48 PM ESTDecember 21, 2022 9:48 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2022 was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC. It was the April 2022 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2022 was on Wednesday July 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT or 7:37 PM UTC. It was the July 2022 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2022 will be on Sunday October 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT or 9:55 PM UTC. It was the October 2022 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2022 will be on Friday January 6, 2023 6:08 PM EST or 11:08 PM UTC. It’s the January 2023 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. The first full moon of the Winter season will occur in 2023 because the December 2022 full moon will occur prior to the solstice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2022 Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many full moons were in 2022?

There will be 12 full moons in 2022 with one full moon each month of the year. There are no blue moons on the calendar for this year. There will be 13 New Moons in 2022.

When is the first full moon of 2022?

The first full moon of 2022 was on Monday January 17, 2022 6:48 PM EST or 11:48 PM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. It was also the first full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December 2021 full moon occurred a few days prior to the Winter Solstice.

When was the last full moon of 2022?

The last full moon of 2022 will be on Wednesday December 7, 2022 11:08 PM EST or December 8, 2022 4:08 AM UTC. It will be called the Full Cold Moon as it is the December Full Moon. It is also the last full moon of the Autumn 2022 season as the December 2022 full moon will occur before the Winter Solstice. The December 8th full moon will be the full moon in Gemini.

When is the next strawberry moon 2022?

The 2022 Full Strawberry moon was on Tuesday June 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT or 12:52 PM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 2022 season as it was almost a week before the Summer Solstice.

When is the next snow moon 2022?

The Full Snow Moon 2022 was on Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST or 4:57 PM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season. The snow moon is the name of the February full moon.

What is the first full moon after the spring equinox 2022?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2022 was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC. It was the April 2022 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

When was the full moon in January 2022?

The full moon in January 2022 was on Monday January 17, 2022 6:48 PM EST or 11:48 PM UTC. This was the first full moon of both the 2022 year as well as the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December full moon occurred a few days prior to the Winter Solistice. The January 2022 full moon was called the Full Wolf Moon.

When is the full moon in February 2022?

The full moon in February 2022 was on Wednesday February 16, 2022 11:57 AM EST or 4:57 PM UTC. This was the second full moon of both the 2022 year and the Winter 2021-2022 season following the January Full Moon. The February 2022 full moon was called the Full Snow Moon.

When is the full moon in March 2022?

The full moon in March 2022 was on Friday March 18, 2022 3:17 AM EDT or 8:17 AM UTC. This was the third full moon of both the year, and the third and last full moon of the Winter 2022 season as it occurred before the Spring 2022 equinox. The March 2022 full moon was called the Full Worm Moon.

When is the full moon in April 2022?

The full moon in April 2022 was on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC. This was the fourth full moon of the year. As it was the first full moon after the spring equinox, this full moon was the first full moon of the Spring 2022 season. The April 2022 full moon was also called the Full Pink Moon.

When is the full moon in May 2022?

The full moon in May 2022 was on Monday May 16, 2022 12:14 AM EDT or 5:14 AM UTC. This was the fifth full moon of the year and the second full moon of the Spring 2022 season. The May 2022 full moon was also called the Full Flower Moon.

When was the full moon in June 2022?

The full moon in June 2022 was on Tuesday June 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT or 12:52 PM UTC. This was the sixth full moon of the year and the third full moon of the Spring 2022 season as it occurred before the Summer Solstice. The June 2022 full moon was also called the Full Strawberry Moon.

When was the full moon in July 2022?

The full moon in July 2022 was on Wednesday July 13, 2022 2:37 PM EDT or 7:37 PM UTC. This was the seventh full moon of the year and the first full moon of the Summer 2022 season. The July 2022 full moon was also called the Full Buck Moon.

When is the full moon in August 2022?

The full moon in August 2022 was on Thursday August 11, 2022 9:36 PM EDT or August 12, 2022 2:36 AM UTC. This was the eighth full moon of the year and the second full moon of the Summer 2022 season. The August full moon was also called the Full Sturgeon Moon.

When is the full moon in September 2022?

The full moon in September 2022 will be on Saturday September 10, 2022 5:59 AM EDT or 10:59 AM UTC. This will be the ninth full moon of the year, and the third and last full moon of the Summer 2022 season. The September 2022 full moon will be called the Full Harvest Moon because it will occur closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon.

When is the full moon in October 2022?

The full moon in October 2022 will be on Sunday October 9, 2022 4:55 PM EDT or 9:55 PM UTC. This will be the tenth full moon of the year and the first full moon of the Autumn 2022 season. The October 2022 full moon will be called the Full Hunter’s Moon.

When is the full moon in November 2022?

The full moon in November 2022 will be on Tuesday November 8, 2022 6:02 AM EST or 11:02 AM UTC. This will be the eleventh full moon of the year and the second full moon of the Autumn 2022 season. The November 2022 full moon will be called the Full Beaver Moon.

When is the full moon in December 2022?

The full moon in December 2022 will be on Wednesday December 7, 2022 11:08 PM EST or December 8, 2022 4:08 AM UTC. This will be the twelfth and last full moon of the year. It will be the third and last full moon of the Autumn 2022 season. The December 2022 full moon will be called Full Cold Moon.

When are the Spring 2022 full moons?

In Spring 2022, there were 3 full moons. The first was in April 2022 on Saturday April 16, 2022 2:55 PM EDT or 7:55 PM UTC, also called the Full Pink Moon. The second was in May 2022 on Monday May 16, 2022 12:14 AM EDT or 5:14 AM UTC, also called the Full Flower Moon. The third and last spring full moon was on Tuesday June 14, 2022 7:52 AM EDT or 12:52 PM UTC, also called the Full Strawberry Moon.

Spring 2022 began with the Vernal Equinox on March 20, 2022 11:33 AM EDT or 4:33 PM UTC, and ended with the Summer Solstice on June 21, 2022 5:14 AM EDT or 10:14 AM UTC.

Future Full Moon Calendars

Pin for later

Full Moons 2022 Calendar