Full Moon Calendar 2004 with 13 Full Moons

When were the full moons in 2004? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 2004 to help you look back at that year.

When were the Full Moons in 2004

In 2004 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2004 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 7, 2004 10:40 EST (15:40 UTC)
  • February 6, 2004 03:47 EST (08:47 UTC)
  • March 6, 2004 18:14 EST (23:14 UTC)
  • April 5, 2004 07:03 EST (11:03 UTC)
  • May 4, 2004 16:33 EST (20:33 UTC)
  • June 3, 2004 00:20 EST (04:20 UTC)
  • July 2, 2004 07:09 EST (11:09 UTC)
  • July 31, 2004 14:05 EST (18:05 UTC) (Blue)
  • August 29, 2004 22:22 EST  (August 30, 2004 02:22 UTC)
  • September 28, 2004 09:09 EST (13:09 UTC)
  • October 27, 2004 23:07 EST (October 28, 2004 03:07 UTC)
  • November 26, 2004 15:07 EST (20:07 UTC)
  • December 26, 2004 10:06 EST (15:06 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the Full Moon Calendar 2004 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Full Moon Calendar 2004

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 2004

For 2004, there were 13 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

January 2004

The January 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday January 7, 2004 10:40 EST or 15:40 UTC. It was the first full moon of the 2003-2004 Winter season.

February 2004

The February 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Friday February 6, 2004 03:47 EST or 08:47 UTC. It was the second full moon of the 2003-2004 Winter season.

March 2004

The March 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Saturday March 6, 2004 18:14 EST or 23:14 UTC. This full moon happened a few weeks before the Vernal Equinox (Spring) making it the third and last full moon of the Winter 2003-2004 Winter season.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 2004 02:49 EST or 06:49 UTC.

April 2004

The April 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Monday April 5, 2004 07:03 EST or 11:03 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2004 season.

May 2004

The May 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 4, 2004 16:33 EST or 20:33 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2004 season.

There will also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 3 minutes before the full moon peak.

June 2004

The June 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday June 3, 2004 00:20 EST (04:20 UTC). It was the third and last full moon for the Spring 2004 season.

The Summer Solstice occurred on June 20, 2004 20:57 EST or June 21, 2004 00:57 UTC.

July 2004

The July 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Friday July 2, 2004 07:09 EST or 11:09 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2004 season.

And at the end of July 2004, a second full moon occurred that month. A July blue moon happened on Saturday July 31, 2004 14:05 EST or 18:05 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2004 season.

August 2004

The August 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 29, 2004 22:22 EST or August 30, 2004 02:22 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Summer 2004 season.

September 2004

The September 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Tuesday September 28, 2004 09:09 EST or 13:09 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 2004 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 2004 12:30 EST or 16:30 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it will be called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 2004

The October 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Wednesday October 27, 2004 23:07 EST or October 28, 2004 03:07 UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2004 season.

There will also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 3 minutes before the full moon peak.

November 2004

The November 2004 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 26, 2004 15:07 EST or 20:07 UTC. It will be the third full moon of the Autumn 2004 season.

December 2004

The December 2004 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, will be on Sunday December 26, 2004 10:06 EST (15:06 UTC). It was the first full moon of the Winter 2004-2005 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 2004 07:42 EST or 12:42 UTC.

What were the names of 2004 full moons?

The names of the 2004 full moons were:

  1. January 7: Full Wolf Moon
  2. February 6: Full Snow Moon
  3. March 6: Full Worm Moon
  4. April 5: Full Pink Moon
  5. May 4: Full Flower Moon
  6. June 3: Full Strawberry Moon
  7. July 2: Full Buck Moon
  8. July 31: Full Blue Moon
  9. August 29 (August 30 UTC): Full Sturgeon Moon
  10. September 28: Full Harvest Moon
  11. October 27 (October 28 UTC): Full Hunter’s Moon
  12. November 26: Full Beaver Moon
  13. December 26: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 2004?

In 2004 there was a blue moon because July 2004 had 2 full moons for both the Eastern Time Zone and UTC.

There wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 2004 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season will have three full moons.

2004 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2004 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 2004 at 2:49 AM EST or 7:49 AM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2004 at 8:57 PM EDT or June 21, 2004 at 1:57 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2004 at 12:30 PM EDT or 5:30 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2004 at 7:42 AM EST or 12:42 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2004 was on Monday April 5, 2004 07:03 EST or 11:03 UTC. It was the April 2004 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2004 was on Friday July 2, 2004 07:09 EST or 11:09 UTC. It was the July 2004 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2004 was on Tuesday September 28, 2004 09:09 EST or 13:09 UTC. It was the September 2004 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2004 was on Sunday December 26, 2004 10:06 EST (15:06 UTC). It was the December 2004 full moon, also called the Full Cold Moon.

When was the first full moon of 2004?

The first full moon of 2004 was on Wednesday January 7, 2004 10:40 EST or 15:40 UTC. It was both the first full moon of the 2003-2004 Winter season as well as 2004. It was called the Full Wolf Moon.

When was the first new moon of 2004?

The first new moon of 2004 was on Wednesday, January 21, 2004 4:05 EST or 21:05 UTC.

2004 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2004 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Full MoonJanuary 7, 2004 10:40 AM ESTJanuary 7, 2004 3:40 PM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 14, 2004 11:46 PM ESTJanuary 15, 2004 4:46 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 21, 2004 4:05 PM ESTJanuary 21, 2004 9:05 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 29, 2004 1:03 AM ESTJanuary 29, 2004 6:03 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 6, 2004 3:47 AM ESTFebruary 6, 2004 8:47 AM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 13, 2004 8:40 AM ESTFebruary 13, 2004 1:40 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 20, 2004 4:18 AM ESTFebruary 20, 2004 9:18 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 27, 2004 10:24 PM ESTFebruary 28, 2004 3:24 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 6, 2004 6:14 PM ESTMarch 6, 2004 11:14 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 13, 2004 4:01 PM ESTMarch 13, 2004 9:01 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 20, 2004 6:41 PM ESTMarch 20, 2004 11:41 PM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 28, 2004 7:48 PM ESTMarch 29, 2004 12:48 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 5, 2004 7:03 AM EDTApril 5, 2004 12:03 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 11, 2004 11:46 PM EDTApril 12, 2004 4:46 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 19, 2004 9:21 AM EDTApril 19, 2004 2:21 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 27, 2004 1:32 PM EDTApril 27, 2004 6:32 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 4, 2004 4:33 PM EDTMay 4, 2004 9:33 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 11, 2004 7:04 AM EDTMay 11, 2004 12:04 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 19, 2004 12:52 AM EDTMay 19, 2004 5:52 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 27, 2004 3:57 AM EDTMay 27, 2004 8:57 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 3, 2004 12:20 AM EDTJune 3, 2004 5:20 AM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 9, 2004 4:02 PM EDTJune 9, 2004 9:02 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 17, 2004 4:27 PM EDTJune 17, 2004 9:27 PM UTC
June First QuarterJune 25, 2004 3:08 PM EDTJune 25, 2004 8:08 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 2, 2004 7:09 AM EDTJuly 2, 2004 12:09 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 9, 2004 3:34 AM EDTJuly 9, 2004 8:34 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 17, 2004 7:24 AM EDTJuly 17, 2004 12:24 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 24, 2004 11:37 PM EDTJuly 25, 2004 4:37 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 31, 2004 2:05 PM EDTJuly 31, 2004 7:05 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 7, 2004 6:01 PM EDTAugust 7, 2004 11:01 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 15, 2004 9:24 PM EDTAugust 16, 2004 2:24 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 23, 2004 6:12 AM EDTAugust 23, 2004 11:12 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 29, 2004 10:22 PM EDTAugust 30, 2004 3:22 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 6, 2004 11:11 AM EDTSeptember 6, 2004 4:11 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 14, 2004 10:29 AM EDTSeptember 14, 2004 3:29 PM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 21, 2004 11:54 AM EDTSeptember 21, 2004 4:54 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 28, 2004 9:09 AM EDTSeptember 28, 2004 2:09 PM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 6, 2004 6:12 AM EDT or 11:12 AM UTC – Last QuarterOctober 6, 2004 11:12 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 13, 2004 10:48 PM EDTOctober 14, 2004 3:48 AM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 20, 2004 5:59 PM EDTOctober 20, 2004 10:59 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 27, 2004 11:07 PM EDTOctober 28, 2004 4:07 AM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 5, 2004 12:53 AM ESTNovember 5, 2004 5:53 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 12, 2004 9:27 AM ESTNovember 12, 2004 2:27 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 19, 2004 12:50 AM ESTNovember 19, 2004 5:50 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 26, 2004 3:07 PM ESTNovember 26, 2004 8:07 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 4, 2004 7:53 PM ESTDecember 4, 2004 12:53 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 11, 2004 8:29 PM EST or December 12, 2004 1:29 AM UTC – New MoonDecember 12, 2004 1:29 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 18, 2004 11:40 AM ESTDecember 18, 2004 4:40 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 26, 2004 10:06 AM ESTDecember 26, 2004 3:06 PM UTC

Future Full Moon Calendars

In addition to the Full Moon Calendar 2004 you can also check the upcoming full moons.