Full Moon Calendar 2021 with 12 full moons

When were the full moons in 2021? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 2021 to help you look back at the year’s 12 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, one seasonal full moon, and a couple of full moon eclipses.

What were the 2021 Full Moon Dates?

In 2021 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2021 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA based on Eastern Time and adjusted for Daylight Saving Time:

  • January 28, 2021 14:16 EST (19:16 UTC)
  • February 27, 2021  03:17 EST (8:17 UTC)
  • March 28, 2021 14:48 EST (19:48 UTC)
  • April 26, 2021  23:31 EST (April 27, 2021 04:31 UTC)
  • May 26, 2021 07:14 EST (12:14 UTC)
  • June 24, 2021 14:40 EST (19:40 UTC)
  • July 23, 2021 22:37 EST (July 24, 2021 03:37 UTC)
  • August 22, 2021 08:02 EST (13:02 UTC)
  • September 20, 2021 19:55 EST (September 21, 2021 00:55 UTC)
  • October 20, 2021 10:57 EST (15:57 UTC)
  • November 19, 2021 03:58 EST (8:58 UTC)
  • December 18, 2021 23:36 EST (December 19, 2021 04:36 UTC)

Related: 2021 New Moons

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2021 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Full Moon Calendar 2021

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 2021

For 2021, there were 12 full moons. All the full moons were scheduled for the middle of the months. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of the 2021 Full Moons:

January 28, 2021

The January 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Thursday, January 28, 2021 14:16 EST or 19:16 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

February 27, 2021

The February 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Saturday, February 27, 2021 03:17 EST or 08:17 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

March 28, 2021

The March 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Sunday March 28, 2021 14:48 EST or 19:48 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 2021 season and the first full moon after spring equinox 2021.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 2021 5:37 EST or 10:37 UTC, about a week before the March Full Moon.

April 26, 2021

The April 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Monday April 26, 2021 23:31 EST or April 27, 2021 04:31 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Spring 2021 season.

May 26, 2021

The May 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Wednesday May 26, 2021 07:14 EST or 12:14 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2021 season.

There also was a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 5 minutes after the full moon peak.

June 24, 2021

The June 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday June 24, 2021 14:40 EST or 19:40 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 2021 season as it occurred a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for June 20, 2021 23:32 EST or June 21, 2021 4:32 UTC.

July 23, 2021

The July 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Friday July 23, 2021 22:37 EST or July 24, 2021 03:37 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

August 22, 2021

The August 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 22, 2021 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

And the August 2021 full moon was also the third full moon of the Summer 2021 Season. As this season had 4 full moons, this full moon was also a seasonal blue moon.

September 20, 2021

The September 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Monday September 20, 2021 19:55 EST or September 21, 00:55 UTC. This was the fourth full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for September 22, 2021 15:21 EST or 20:21 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 20, 2021

The October 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 10:57 EST or 15:57 UTC.

November 19, 2021

The November 2021 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 19, 2021 03:58 EST or 8:58 UTC.

There was also a penumbral lunar full moon eclipse during the November full moon, technically a few minutes after the peak. The moon passed through the Earth’s penumbra resulting in a slight dimming of the moon’s surface. You wouldn’t have be able to tell the difference between a regular full moon.

December 18, 2021

The December 2021 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Saturday December 18, 2021 23:36 EST or December 19, 2021 04:36 UTC.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for December 21, 2021 10:59 EST or 15:59 UTC.

What were the names of 2021 full moons?

The names of the 2021 full moons were as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Related: New Moons in 2021

Was there a blue moon in 2021?

There was a seasonal blue moon during the Summer 2021 season. The August 2021 full moon on Sunday August 22, 2021 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC was the seasonal blue moon because it was the third full moon in a four full moon season.

There was not a calendar blue moon during 2021 as no months will have 2 full moons.

2021 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below were the dates for the equinoxes and solstices for 2021.

MonthEquinox/Solstice2021 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 20, 2021 05:37 EST10:37 UTC
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 22, 2021 23:32 EST04:32 UTC
(June 21, 2021)
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 22, 2021 15:21 EST20:21 UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2021 10:59 EST15:59 UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2021 was on Sunday March 28, 2021 14:48 EST or 19:48 UTC. It was the March 2021 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2021 was on Thursday June 24, 2021 14:40 EST or 18:40 UTC. It was the June 2021 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2021 was on Wednesday, October 20, 2021 10:57 EST or 15:57 UTC. It was the October 2021 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon. It was almost a month after the Autumn Equinox because the September full moon was two days before the Equinox.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2021 was on Monday January 17, 2022 18:48 EST or 23:48 UTC. It was the January 2022 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. It was a couple of weeks after the Winter Solstice because the December 2021 full moon was a few days prior to the solstice.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2021 Full Moon Calendar to help you look back at the year.

How many full moons in 2021?

There were 12 full moons in 2021 with one full moon each month of the year. There was a seasonal blue moon on the calendar, but no months with two full moons on the calendar.

When was the first full moon of 2021?

The first full moon of 2021 was on Thursday, January 28, 2021 14:16 EST or 19:16 UTC. As it was the January Full Moon, it was called the Full Wolf Moon.

When was the strawberry moon 2021?

The Strawberry Moon 2021 was on Thursday June 24, 2021 14:40 EST or 19:40 UTC. It was the name for the June Full moon and was the first full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

When was the snow moon 2021?

The Snow Moon 2021 was on February 27, 2021 03:17 EST or 08:17 UTC. It was the name for the February Full Moon and was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

What was the first full moon after the spring equinox 2021?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2021 was on Sunday March 28, 2021 14:48 EST or 19:48 UTC. It was the March 2021 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

When was the last full moon 2021?

The last full moon in 2021 was on December 18, 2021 23:36 EST or December 19, 2021 04:36 UTC, the December 2021 Full Moon. The December Full Moon is also called the Full Cold Moon. This was the last full moon of the Autumn 2021 season as it occurred a few days after the Winter Solstice.

When is the Harvest Moon in 2021?

The 2021 Harvest Moon was on Monday September 20, 2021 19:55 EST or September 21, 00:55 UTC. This will be the fourth full moon of the Summer 2021 season. The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for September 22, 2021 15:21 EST or 20:21 UTC. The September Full Moon was about a day before the Autumn Equinox, making it the Full Harvest Moon for 2021.

Future Full Moon Calendars

Pin for later

Calendar of the Full Moons 2021