Full Moon Calendar 2002 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2002 Calendar helps you look back at the dates of the full moon dates, a seasonal blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

In 2002 there were 12 full moons with one full moon per month and three full moons per season except for one season which had four. Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2002 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of Full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 2002

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

When were the full moons in 2002?

In 2002 there were 12 full moons during the year. The full moon schedule started at the end of January, setting up the year to have a summer seasonal blue moon. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each full moon, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates of the 2002 Full Moons were:

January 28, 2002 (Full Wolf Moon)

The first full moon in 2002, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Monday January 28, 2002 5:50 PM EST or 10:50 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as the second full moon after the 2001 Winter Solstice. The January Full Moon was the full moon in Leo.

February 27, 2002 (Full Snow Moon)

The second 2002 full moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 27, 2002 4:17 AM EST or 9:17 AM UTC. It was the last full moon of Winter 2001-2002. The February Full Moon was the full moon in Virgo and it was the first of two full supermoons for 2002.

March 28, 2002 (Full Worm Moon)

The third full moon in 2002, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Thursday March 28, 2002 2:25 PM EST or 7:25 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2002 season as the first full moon after the spring equinox 2002. The March Full Moon was the full moon in Libra and it was the second of two full supermoons for 2002.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) was on Wednesday March 20, 2002 3:16 PM EST or 8:16 PM UTC, about a week before the March Full Moon.

April 26, 2002 (April 27, 2002 UTC) (Full Pink Moon)

The fourth 2002 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Friday April 26, 2002 11:00 PM EDT or April 27, 2002 4:00 AM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Spring 2002 season as the second full moon after spring equinox 2002. The April Full Moon was the full moon in Scorpio.

May 26, 2002 (Full Flower Moon)

The fifth full moon in 2002, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Sunday May 26, 2002 7:51 AM EDT or 12:51 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of the Spring 2002 season. The May Full Moon was the full moon in Sagittarius.

There was also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 13 minutes after the full moon peak.

June 24, 2002 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The sixth 2002 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Monday June 24, 2002 5:42 PM EDT or 10:42 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2002 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice by three days. The June Full Moon was the full moon in Capricorn.

There was also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 14 minutes before the full moon peak.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Friday June 21, 2002 9:25 AM EDT or 2:25 PM UTC.

July 24, 2002 (Full Buck Moon)

The seventh full moon in 2002, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 24, 2002 5:07 AM EDT or 10:07 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2002 season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice. The July Full Moon was the full moon in Aquarius.

August 22, 2002 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The eighth 2002 full moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 22, 2002 6:29 PM EDT or 11:29 PM UTC. It was the third full moon of the 2002 Summer Season. The August Full Moon was as a second full moon in Aquarius.

The August 22nd full moon was also a seasonal black moon because Summer had four full moons. As the third full moon during the season it was considered a black moon.

September 21, 2002 (Full Harvest Moon)

The ninth full moon in 2002, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Saturday September 21, 2002 9:59 AM EDT or 2:59 PM UTC. It was the fourth and last full moon of Summer 2002. The September Full Moon was the full moon in Pisces.

The Autumnal Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 23, 2002 12:56 AM EDT or 5:56 AM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 21, 2002 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The tenth 2002 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 21, 2002 3:20 AM EDT or 8:20 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 2002 season. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

November 19, 2002 (November 20 UTC) (Full Beaver Moon)

The eleventh full moon in 2002, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday November 19, 2002 8:34 PM EST or November 20, 2002 1:34 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of Fall as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The November Full Moon was the full moon in Taurus.

There was also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 14 minutes after the full moon peak.

December 19, 2002 (Full Cold Moon)

The last full moon of 2002, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Thursday December 19, 2002 2:10 PM EST or 7:10 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of Autumn 2002 as it occurred before the Winter Solstice by a few days. The December Full Moon was the full moon in Gemini

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 2002 8:15 PM EST or December 22, 2002 1:15 AM UTC.

What were the names of the 2002 full moons?

The names of the 2002 full moons were:

  1. January 28: Full Wolf Moon
  2. February 27: Full Snow Moon
  3. March 28: Full Worm Moon
  4. April 26 (April 27 UTC): Full Pink Moon
  5. May 26: Full Flower Moon
  6. June 24: Full Strawberry Moon
  7. July 24: Full Buck Moon
  8. August 22: Full Sturgeon Moon
  9. September 21: Full Harvest Moon
  10. October 21: Full Hunter’s Moon
  11. November 19 (November 20): Full Beaver Moon
  12. December 19: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

When was the Full Harvest Moon in 2002?

The Full Harvest Moon was on Saturday September 21, 2002 9:59 AM EDT or 2:59 PM UTC. It was the ninth full moon of 2002 and was the fourth full moon of the Summer Season. It occurred two days before the Autumnal Equinox, making it to closer than the October Full Moon in 2002. The September 21st Full Moon was the full moon in Pisces.

In 2002 both the new moon and full moon for the Harvest Moon where in the summer season. The New Moon for the Harvest Moon was on Friday September 6, 2002 11:10 PM EDT or September 7, 2002 4:10 AM UTC. The new moon was also a new supermoon in 2002.

What were the signs of 2002 full moons?

The astrological signs of the 2002 full moons were:

  1. January 28, 2002: Leo
  2. February 27, 2002: Virgo
  3. March 28, 2002: Libra
  4. April 26, 2002 (April 27, 2002 UTC): Scorpio
  5. May 26, 2002: Sagittarius
  6. June 24, 2002: Capricorn
  7. July 24, 2002: Aquarius
  8. August 22, 2002: Aquarius
  9. September 21, 2002: Pisces
  10. October 21, 2002: Aries
  11. November 19, 2002 (November 20, 2002 UTC): Taurus
  12. December 19, 2002: Gemini

In 2002 the full moon calendar aligned such that year had two full moons in Aquarius, in the same cycle.

Was there a blue moon in 2002?

Yes, there was a seasonal blue moon in August 2002 as the summer season had four full moons. The seasonal blue moon was on August 22, 2002 as the third full moon of the season.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

When were the full supermoons in 2002?

In 2002 there were two supermoons: February 27, 2002 and March 28, 2002.

A full supermoon is a full moon that nearly coincides with the closest that the Moon comes to the Earth in its orbit, called perigee. The moon has a larger-than-usual appearance when you look at it. There isn’t an official definition for how close the moon needs to be to the earth to be considered a supermoon. For the purposes of this site, we’ll follow the Timeanddate.com definition using moons less than 360,000 kilometers from the Earth.

The full moons in January and April were just beyond the 360,000 kilometers distance from the earth. So large and depending on the distance you reference they could also have been considered supermoons.

When were the lunar eclipses in 2002?

In 2002 there were three Penumbral Lunar Eclipses during the May, June, and November full moons. The first penumbral lunar eclipse was on May 26th during the Full Flower Moon, about 13 minutes after the full moon peak. The second lunar eclipse was on June 24th during the Full Strawberry Moon, about about 14 minutes before the full moon peak. The last lunar eclipse of 2002 was on November 19th as part of the Full Beaver Moon, 14 minutes after the peak of the full moon.

2002 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2002 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

  • Vernal Equinox: March 20, 2002 3:16 PM EST (8:16 PM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: Friday June 21, 2002 9:25 AM EDT (2:25 PM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 2002 12:56 AM EDT (5:56 AM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2002 8:15 PM EST (December 22, 2002 1:15 AM UTC)

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2002 was on Thursday March 28, 2002 2:25 PM EST or 7:25 PM UTC. It was the March 2002 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon. The March Full Moon was the full moon in Libra and one of the 2002 full supermoons.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2002 was on Monday June 24, 2002 5:42 PM EDT or 10:42 PM UTC. It was the June 2002 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon. The June Full moon was the full moon in Capricorn and also included a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2002 was on Monday October 21, 2002 3:20 AM EDT or 8:20 AM UTC. It was the October 2002 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2002 was in the next calendar year on Saturday January 18, 2003 5:48 AM EST or 10:48 AM UTC. It was the January 2003 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. The January full moon was the full moon in Cancer.

2002 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2002 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Last QuarterJanuary 5, 2002 10:55 PM ESTJanuary 6, 2002 3:55 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 13, 2002 8:29 AM ESTJanuary 13, 2002 1:29 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 21, 2002 12:47 PM ESTJanuary 21, 2002 5:47 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 28, 2002 5:50 PM ESTJanuary 28, 2002 10:50 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 4, 2002 8:33 AM ESTFebruary 4, 2002 1:33 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 12, 2002 2:41 AM ESTFebruary 12, 2002 7:41 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 20, 2002 7:02 AM ESTFebruary 20, 2002 12:02 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 27, 2002 4:17 AM ESTFebruary 27, 2002 9:17 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 5, 2002 8:25 PM ESTMarch 6, 2002 1:25 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 13, 2002 10:03 PM ESTMarch 14, 2002 3:03 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 21, 2002 8:28 PM ESTMarch 22, 2002 3:28 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 28, 2002 2:25 PM ESTMarch 28, 2002 7:25 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 4, 2002 11:29 AM ESTApril 4, 2002 4:29 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 12, 2002 3:21 PM EDTApril 12, 2002 8:21 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 20, 2002 8:48 AM EDTApril 20, 2002 1:48 PM UTC –
April Full MoonApril 26, 2002 11:00 PM EDTApril 27, 2002 4:00 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 4, 2002 3:16 AM EDTMay 4, 2002 8:16 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 12, 2002 6:45 AM EDTMay 12, 200211:45 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 19, 2002 3:42 PM EDTMay 19, 2002 8:42 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 26, 2002 7:51 AM EDTMay 26, 2002 12:51 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 2, 2002 8:05 PM EDTJune 3, 2002 1:05 AM UTC
June New MoonJune 10, 2002 7:46 PM EDTJune 11, 2002 12:46 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 17, 2002 8:29 PM EDTJune 18, 2002 1:29 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 24, 2002 5:42 PM EDTJune 24, 2002 10:42 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 2, 2002 1:19 PM EDTJuly 2, 2002 6:19 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 10, 2002 6:26 AM EDTJuly 10, 2002 11:26 AM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 17, 2002 12:47 AM EDTJuly 17, 2002 5:47 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 24, 2002 5:07 AM EDTJuly 24, 2002 10:07 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 1, 2002 6:22 AM EDTAugust 1, 2002 11:22 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 8, 2002 3:15 PM EDTAugust 8, 2002 8:15 PM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 15, 2002 6:12 AM EDTAugust 15, 2002 11:12 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 22, 2002 6:29 PM EDTAugust 22, 2002 11:29 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 30, 2002 10:31 PM EDTAugust 31, 2002 3:31 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 6, 2002 11:10 PM EDTSeptember 7, 2002 4:10 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 13, 2002 2:08 PM EDTSeptember 13, 2002 7:08 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 21, 2002 9:59 AM EDTSeptember 21, 2002 2:59 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 29, 2002 1:03 PM EDTSeptember 29, 2002 6:03 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 6, 2002 7:17 AM EDTOctober 6, 2002 12:17 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 13, 2002 1:33 AM EDTOctober 13, 2002 6:33 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 21, 2002 3:20 AM EDTOctober 21, 2002 8:20 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 29, 2002 12:28 AM ESTOctober 29, 2002 5:28 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 4, 2002 3:35 PM ESTNovember 4, 2002 8:35 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 11, 2002 3:52 PM ESTNovember 11, 2002 8:52 PM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 19, 2002 8:34 PM ESTNovember 20, 2002 1:34 AM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 27, 2002 10:46 AM ESTNovember 27, 2002 3:46 PM UTC
December New MoonDecember 4, 2002 2:34 AM ESTDecember 4, 2002 7:34 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 11, 2002 10:49 AM ESTDecember 11, 2002 3:49 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 19, 2002 2:10 PM ESTDecember 19, 2002 7:10 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 26, 2002 7:31 PM ESTDecember 27, 2002 12:31 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2002 Full Moon Calendar to help you look back at the year.

How many full moons were in 2002?

There were 12 full moons in 2002 with one full moon each month. There was a seasonal blue moon in August 2002 because Summer had an extra full moon, but that didn’t add an extra full moon to the overall schedule.

When is the first full moon of 2002?

The first full moon of 2002 was on Monday January 28, 2002 5:50 PM EST or 10:50 PM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon as it was the January Full Moon. It was the second full moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as the December 2001 full moon occurred after the Winter Solstice. The January 28th full moon was the full moon in Leo.

When was the last full moon of 2002?

The last full moon of 2002 on Thursday December 19, 2002 2:10 PM EST or 7:10 PM UTC. It was called the Full Cold Moon as it was the December Full Moon. It is also the last full moon of the Autumn 2002 season as the December 2002 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice. The December 19th full moon was the full moon in Gemini.

2002 Full Moon Calendar Summary

In 2002 there were 12 full moons, and a seasonal blue moon in August. The year had 2 full supermoons. The dates of the Full Moons in 2002 were:

  1. January 28, 2002 5:50 PM EST (10:50 PM UTC)
  2. February 27, 2002 4:17 AM EST (9:17 AM UTC)
  3. March 28, 2002 2:25 PM EST (7:25 PM UTC)
  4. April 26, 2002 11:00 PM EDT (April 27, 2002 4:00 AM UTC)
  5. May 26, 2002 7:51 AM EDT (12:51 PM UTC)
  6. June 24, 2002 5:42 PM EDT (10:42 PM UTC)
  7. July 24, 2002 5:07 AM EDT (10:07 AM UTC)
  8. August 22, 2002 6:29 PM EDT (11:29 PM UTC)
  9. September 21, 2002 9:59 AM EDT (2:59 PM UTC)
  10. October 21, 2002 3:20 AM EDT (8:20 AM UTC)
  11. November 19, 2002 8:34 PM EST (November 20, 2002 1:34 AM UTC)
  12. December 19, 2002 2:10 PM EST (7:10 PM UTC)

Future Full Moon Calendars

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the calendar of the Full Moons 2002