Full Moon Calendar 1991 with 12 Full Moons

The Full Moon 1991 Calendar had 12 full moons, seasonal blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, and 1991 followed that number.

What were the 1991 Full Moon Dates?

In 1991 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1991 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 30, 1991 01:10 EST (06:10 UTC)
  • February 28, 1991 13:25 EST (18:25 UTC)
  • March 30, 1991 03:17 EST (08:17 UTC)
  • April 28, 1991 16:58 EST (21:58 UTC)
  • May 28, 1991 07:37 EST (12:37 UTC)
  • June 26, 1991 22:58 EST (June 27, 1991 03:58 UTC)
  • July 26, 1991 14:24 EST (19:24 UTC)
  • August 25, 1991 05:07 EST (10:07 UTC)
  • September 23, 1991 18:40 EST (23:40 UTC)
  • October 23, 1991 07:08 EST (12:08 UTC)
  • November 21, 1991 17:56 EST (22:56 UTC)
  • December 21, 1991 05:23 EST (10:23 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1991 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1991

Full Moon Calendar 1991

For 1991, there were 12 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

In 1991, there were 12 full moons with no calendar blue moons on the calendar for the year. There was a seasonal blue moon in November 1991 because four full moons occurred during the Fall 1991 season.

Three penumbral lunar eclipses occurred in the 1991 full moons in January, June, and July. There was also a partial lunar full moon eclipse in December 1991.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Here are the dates of the 1991 Full Moons:

January 30, 1991 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday, January 30, 1991 01:10 EST or 06:10 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season as a second December full moon occurred after the 1990 Winter Equinox.

February 28, 1991 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Thursday, February 28, 1991 13:25 EST or 18:25 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season.

March 30, 1991 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Saturday, March 30, 1991 03:17 EST or 08:17 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 1991 season as it occurred after the Spring Equinox 1991.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 1991 23:02 EST or March 21, 1991 04:02 UTC, about 10 days before the March Full Moon.

April 28, 1991 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Sunday, April 28, 1991 16:58 EST or 21:58 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Spring 1991 season.

May 28, 1991 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Tuesday, May 28, 1991 07:37 EST or 12:37 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 1991 season.

June 26, 1991 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday, June 26, 1991 22:58 EST or June 27, 1991 03:58 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 1991 season as it occurred after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for June 21, 1991 16:19 EST or 22:19 UTC.

July 26, 1991 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Friday, July 26, 1991 14:24 EST or 19:24 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 1991 season.

August 25, 1991 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday, August 25, 1991 05:07 EST or 10:07 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Summer 1991 season.

September 23, 1991 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Monday, September 23, 1991 18:40 EST or 23:40 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Autumn 1991 season as it occurred 5 hours after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 23, 1991 08:48 EST or 13:48 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 23, 1991 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Wednesday, October 23, 1991 07:08 EST or 12:08 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1991 season.

November 21, 1991 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1991 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Thursday November 21, 1991 17:56 EST or 22:56 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 1991 season. It was also a seasonal blue moon because the season had 4 full moons that year.

December 21, 1991 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1991 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Saturday December 21, 1991 05:23 EST or 10:23 UTC. It was the fourth full moon of the Winter 1991-1992 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 22, 1991 03:54 EST or 8:54 UTC.

What are the names of 1991 full moons?

The names of the 1991 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it was not only closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon, it was on the same day as the equniox.

Was there a blue moon in 1991?

There was a season blue moon in November 1991 because Autumn 1991 season had four full moons. There was not a calendar blue moon in 1991because each month had 1 full moon.

1991 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below are the dates for the equinoxes and solstices from 1991. In 1991 the September Full moon was on the same date as the Autumn Equniox and that season also had 4 full moons.

The 1990 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

MonthEquinox/Solstice1991 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 20, 1991 23:02 EST04:02 UTC
(March 21, 1991)
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 21, 1991 16:19 EST22:19 UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 23, 1991 08:48 EST13:48 UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 22, 1991 03:54 EST08:54 UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1991 was on Saturday, March 30, 1991 03:17 EST or 08:17 UTC. It was the March 1991 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1991 was on Wednesday, June 26, 1991 22:58 EST or June 27, 1991 03:58 UTC. It was the June 1991 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1991 was on Monday, September 23, 1991 18:40 EST or 23:40 UTC. It’s the September 1991 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon. This full moon happened about 5 hours after the Autumn Equniox.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1991 was on Sunday, January 19, 1992 16:28 EST or 21:28 UTC. It was the January 1992 full moon because the December 1991 full moon occurred about a day before the Winter Solstice in 1991.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 1991 Full Moon Calendar to help you review the moons in the past.

How many full moons in 1991?

There were 12 full moons in 1991 with one full moon each month of the year. There was not a calendar blue moon that year, which would have increased the total number of annual full moons.

When was the first full moon of 1991?

The first full moon of 1991 was on Wednesday, January 30, 1991 01:10 EST or 06:10 UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. It is also the second full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season.

Future Full Moon Calendars