Full Moon Calendar 2003 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2003 Calendar helps you look back at the dates of the full moon dates, full supermoons, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

In 2003 there will be 12 full moons with one full moon per month and three full moons per season. Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2003 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of Full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 2003

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

When were the full moons in 2003?

In 2003 there were 12 full moons during the year. The full moon schedule started at the middle of January, setting up the year to have 12 full moons and seasons with 3 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each full moon, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates of the 2003 Full Moons were:

January 18, 2003 (Full Wolf Moon)

The first full moon in 2003, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Saturday January 18, 2003 5:48 AM EST or 10:48 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 2002-2003 season as the first full moon after the 2002 Winter Solstice. The January Full Moon was the full moon in Cancer.

February 16, 2003 (Full Snow Moon)

The second 2003 full moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Sunday February 16, 2003 6:51 PM EST or 11:51 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of Winter 2002-2003. The February Full Moon was the full moon in Leo.

March 18, 2003 (Full Worm Moon)

The third full moon in 2003, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Tuesday March 18, 2003 6:34 AM EST or 11:34 AM UTC. It was the last full moon of the Winter season as the last full moon before the spring equinox 2003. The March Full Moon was the full moon in Virgo.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) was on Thursday March 20, 2003 9:00 PM EST or March 21, 2003 2:00 AM UTC, a few days after the March Full Moon.

April 16, 2003 (Full Pink Moon)

The fourth 2003 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 16, 2003 3:36 PM EDT or 8:36 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2003 season as the first full moon after spring equinox 2003. The April Full Moon was the full moon in Libra and was the first of two full supermoons in 2003.

May 15, 2003 (May 16, 2003 UTC) (Full Flower Moon)

The fifth full moon in 2003, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 15, 2003 11:36 PM EDT or May 16, 2003 4:36 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2003 season as the second full moon after the Spring Solstice. The May Full Moon was the full moon in Scorpio and was the second of two full supermoons in 2003.

There was also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 4 minutes after the full moon peak.

June 14, 2003 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The sixth 2003 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 14, 2003 7:16 AM EDT or 12:16 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of the Spring 2003 season as it occurred before the Summer Solstice by three days. The June Full Moon was the full moon in Sagittarius.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 2003 3:11 PM EDT or 8:11 PM UTCEDT or 2:25 PM UTC.

July 13, 2003 (Full Buck Moon)

The seventh full moon in 2003, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Sunday July 13, 2003 3:21 PM EDT or 8:21 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2003 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice. The July Full Moon was the full moon in Capricorn.

August 12, 2003 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The eighth 2003 full moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 12, 2003 12:48 AM EDT or 5:48 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the 2003 Summer Season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice. The August Full Moon was the full moon in Aquarius.

September 10, 2003 (Full Harvest Moon)

The ninth full moon in 2003, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Wednesday September 10, 2003 12:36 PM EDT or 5:36 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of Summer 2003 as it occurred before the Autumnal Equinox. The September Full Moon was the full moon in Pisces.

The Autumnal Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 23, 2003 6:47 AM EDT or 11:47 AM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 10, 2003 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The tenth 2003 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon, was on Friday October 10, 2003 3:27 AM EDT or 8:27 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Fall 2003 season as the first full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

November 8, 2003 (November 9, 2003 UTC) (Full Beaver Moon)

The eleventh full moon in 2003, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Saturday November 8, 2003 8:13 PM EST or November 9, 2003 1:13 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of Autumn as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The November Full Moon was the full moon in Taurus.

There was also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 6 minutes after the full moon peak.

December 8, 2003 (Full Cold Moon)

The last full moon of 2003, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Monday December 8, 2003 3:37 PM EST or 8:37 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of Autumn 2003 as it occurred before the Winter Solstice by about two weeks. The December Full Moon was the full moon in Gemini

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 22, 2003 2:04 AM EST or 7:04 AM UTC.

What were the names of the 2003 full moons?

The names of the 2003 full moons were:

  1. January 18: Full Wolf Moon
  2. February 16: Full Snow Moon
  3. March 18: Full Worm Moon
  4. April 16: Full Pink Moon
  5. May 15 (May 16 UTC): Full Flower Moon
  6. June 14: Full Strawberry Moon
  7. July 13: Full Buck Moon
  8. August 12: Full Sturgeon Moon
  9. September 10: Full Harvest Moon
  10. October 10: Full Hunter’s Moon
  11. November 8 (November 9 UTC): Full Beaver Moon
  12. December 8: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

What were the signs of 2003 full moons?

The astrological signs of the 2003 full moons were:

  1. January 18, 2003: Cancer
  2. February 16, 2003: Leo
  3. March 18, 2003: Virgo
  4. April 16, 2003: Libra
  5. May 15, 2003 (May 16, 2003 UTC): Scorpio
  6. June 14, 2003: Sagittarius
  7. July 13, 2003: Capricorn
  8. August 12, 2003: Aquarius
  9. September 10, 2003: Pisces
  10. October 10, 2003: Aries
  11. November 8, 2003 (November 9, 2003): Taurus
  12. December 8, 2003: Gemini

In 2003 the full moon calendar aligned such that year each sign aligned to different full moons

Was there a blue moon in 2003?

No, there was not a blue moon in 2003. Each month had one full moon and each season had three full moons.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

When were the full supermoons in 2003?

In 2003 there were two supermoons: April 16, 2003 and May 15, 2003.

A full supermoon is a full moon that nearly coincides with the closest that the Moon comes to the Earth in its orbit, called perigee. The moon has a larger-than-usual appearance when you look at it. There isn’t an official definition for how close the moon needs to be to the earth to be considered a supermoon. For the purposes of this site, we’ll follow the Timeanddate.com definition using moons less than 360,000 kilometers from the Earth.

The full moons in March and June were just beyond the 360,000 kilometers distance from the earth. So large and depending on the distance you reference they could also have been considered supermoons.

When were the lunar eclipses in 2003?

In 2003 there were two Total Lunar Eclipses during the May and November full moons. The first total lunar eclipse was on May 15th (May 16th UTC) during the Full Flower Moon, about 4 minutes after the full moon peak. The second lunar eclipse of 2003 was on November 9th as part of the Full Beaver Moon, 6 minutes after the peak of the full moon.

2003 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2003 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

  • Vernal Equinox: March 20, 2003 9:00 PM EST (March 21, 2003 2:00 AM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 2003 3:11 PM EDT (8:11 PM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 2003 6:47 AM EDT (11:47 AM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 22, 2003 2:04 AM EST (7:04 AM UTC)

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2003 was on Wednesday April 16, 2003 3:36 PM EDT or 8:36 PM UTC. It was the April 2003 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon. The April Full Moon was the full moon in Libra and one of the 2003 full supermoons.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2003 was on Sunday July 13, 2003 3:21 PM EDT or 8:21 PM UTC. It was the July 2003 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon. The July Full moon was the full moon in Capricorn.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2003 was on Friday October 10, 2003 3:27 AM EDT or 8:27 AM UTC. It was the October 2003 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2003 was in the next calendar year on Wednesday January 7, 2004 10:40 AM EST or 3:40 PM UTC. It was the January 2004 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. The January full moon was the full moon in Cancer.

2003 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2003 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 2, 2003 3:23 PM ESTJanuary 2, 2003 8:23 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 10, 2003 8:15 AM ESTJanuary 10, 2003 1:15 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 18, 2003 5:48 AM ESTJanuary 18, 2003 10:48 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 25, 2003 3:33 AM ESTJanuary 25, 2003 8:33 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 1, 2003 5:48 AM ESTFebruary 1, 2003 10:48 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 9, 2003 6:11 AM ESTFebruary 9, 2003 11:11 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 16, 2003 6:51 PM ESTFebruary 16, 2003 11:51 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 23, 2003 11:46 AM ESTFebruary 23, 2003 4:46 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 2, 2003 9:35 PM ESTMarch 3, 2003 2:35 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 11, 2003 3:15 AM ESTMarch 11, 2003 8:15 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 18, 2003 6:34 AM ESTMarch 18, 2003 11:34 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 24, 2003 9:51 PM ESTMarch 25, 2003 2:51 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 1, 2003 3:19 PM ESTApril 1, 2003 8:19 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 9, 2003 7:40 PM EDTApril 10, 2003 12:40 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 16, 2003 3:36 PM EDTApril 16, 2003 8:36 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 23, 2003 8:18 AM EDTApril 23, 2003 1:18 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 1, 2003 8:15 AM EDTMay 1, 2003 1:15 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 9, 2003 7:53 AM EDTMay 9, 2003 12:53 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 15, 2003 11:36 PM EDTMay 16, 2003 4:36 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 22, 2003 8:31 PM EDTMay 23, 2003 1:31 AM UTC
May Black MoonMay 31, 2003 12:20 AM EDTMay 31, 2003 5:20 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 7, 2003 4:28 PM EDTJune 7, 2003 9:28 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 14, 2003 7:16 AM EDTJune 14, 2003 12:16 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 21, 2003 10:45 AM EDTJune 21, 2003 3:45 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 29, 2003 2:39 PM EDTJune 29, 2003 7:39 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 6, 2003 10:32 PM EDTJuly 7, 2003 3:32 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 13, 2003 3:21 PM EDTJuly 13, 2003 8:21 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 21, 2003 3:01 AM EDTJuly 21, 2003 8:01 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 29, 2003 2:53 AM EDTJuly 29, 2003 7:53 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 5, 2003 3:28 AM EDTAugust 5, 2003 8:28 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 12, 2003 12:48 AM EDTAugust 12, 2003 5:48 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 19, 2003 8:48 PM EDTAugust 20, 2003 1:48 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 27, 2003 1:26 PM EDTAugust 27, 2003 6:26 PM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 3, 2003 8:34 AM EDTSeptember 3, 2003 1:34 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 10, 2003 12:36 PM EDTSeptember 10, 2003 5:36 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 18, 2003 3:03 PM EDTSeptember 18, 2003 8:03 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 25, 2003 11:09 PM EDTSeptember 26, 2003 4:09 AM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 2, 2003 3:09 PM EDTOctober 2, 2003 8:09 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 10, 2003 3:27 AM EDTOctober 10, 2003 8:27 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 18, 2003 8:31 AM EDTOctober 18, 2003 1:31 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 25, 2003 8:50 AM EDTOctober 25, 2003 1:50 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 31, 2003 11:25 PM ESTNovember 1, 2003 4:25 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 8, 2003 8:13 PM ESTNovember 9, 2003 1:13 AM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 16, 2003 11:15 PM ESTNovember 17, 2003 4:15 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 23, 2003 5:59 PM ESTNovember 23, 2003 10:59 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 30, 2003 12:16 PM ESTNovember 30, 2003 5:16 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 8, 2003 3:37 PM ESTDecember 8, 2003 8:37 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 16, 2003 12:42 PM ESTDecember 16, 2003 5:42 PM UTC
December New MoonDecember 23, 2003 4:43 AM ESTDecember 23, 2003 9:43 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 30, 2003 5:04 AM ESTDecember 30, 2003 10:04 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2003 Full Moon Calendar to help you look back at the year.

How many full moons were in 2003?

There were 12 full moons in 2003 with one full moon each month and three each season. The schedule began in January with the first full moon in the middle of the month, aligning the calendar to not have an extra full moon during the year.

When is the first full moon of 2003?

The first full moon of 2003 was on Saturday January 18, 2003 5:48 AM EST or 10:48 AM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon as it was the January Full Moon. It was the first full moon of the Winter 2002-2003 season as the December 2002 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice. The January 18th full moon was the full moon in Cancer.

When was the last full moon of 2003?

The last full moon of 2003 on Monday December 8, 2003 3:37 PM EST or 8:37 PM UTC. It was called the Full Cold Moon as it was the December Full Moon. It is also the last full moon of the Autumn 2003 season as the December 2003 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice. The December 8th full moon was the full moon in Gemini.

2003 Full Moon Calendar Summary

In 2003 there were 12 full moons. The year had 2 full supermoons and 2 lunar eclipses during year. The dates of the Full Moons in 2003 were

  1. January 18, 2003 5:48 AM EST (10:48 AM UTC)
  2. February 16, 2003 6:51 PM EST (11:51 PM UTC)
  3. March 18, 2003 6:34 AM EST (11:34 AM UTC)
  4. April 16, 2003 3:36 PM EDT (8:36 PM UTC)
  5. May 15, 2003 11:36 PM EDT (May 16, 2003 4:36 AM UTC)
  6. June 14, 2003 7:16 AM EDT (12:16 PM UTC)
  7. July 13, 2003 3:21 PM EDT (8:21 PM UTC)
  8. August 12, 2003 12:48 AM EDT (5:48 AM UTC)
  9. September 10, 2003 12:36 PM EDT (5:36 PM UTC)
  10. October 10, 2003 3:27 AM EDT (8:27 AM UTC)
  11. November 8, 2003 8:13 PM EST (November 9, 2003 1:13 AM UTC)
  12. December 8, 2003 3:37 PM EST (8:37 PM UTC)

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the calendar of the Full Moons 2003

Future Full Moon Calendars