Full Moon Calendar 2016 with 12 full moons

When are the full moons in 2016? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 2016 to help you keep track of the year’s 12 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, one seasonal full moon, and a couple of full moon eclipses.

What were the 2016 Full Moon Dates?

In 2016 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2016 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA based on Eastern Time and adjusted for Daylight Saving Time:

  • January 23, 2016 8:46 PM EST (January 24, 2016 1:46 AM UTC)
  • February 22, 2016 1:20 PM EST (6:20 PM UTC)
  • March 23, 2016 8:01 AM EDT (1:01 PM UTC)
  • April 22, 2016 1:24 AM EDT (6:24 AM UTC)
  • May 21, 2016 5:15 PM EDT (10:15 PM UTC)
  • June 20, 2016 7:02 AM EDT (12:02 PM UTC)
  • July 19, 2016 6:57 PM EDT (11:57 PM UTC)
  • August 18, 2016 5:27 AM EDT (10:27 AM UTC)
  • September 16, 2016 3:05 PM EDT(8:05 PM UTC)
  • October 16, 2016 12:23 AM EDT (5:23 AM UTC)
  • November 14, 2016 8:52 AM EST (1:52 PM UTC)
  • December 13, 2016 7:05 PM EST (December 14, 2016 12:05 AM UTC)

Related: 2016 New Moons

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2016 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of full moon for the 2016 Full Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 2016

In 2016, there were 12 full moons. No calendar blue moons happened that year because none of the moons started with a full moon. There was a seasonal blue moon because the spring season had four full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of the 2016 Full Moons:

January 2016

The January 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Saturday, January 23, 2016 20:46 EST or January 24, 2016 01:46 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season as the second full moon after the 2015 Winter Solstice.

February 2016

The February 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Monday February 22, 2016 13:20 EST or 18:20 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season.

March 2016

The March 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Wednesday March 23, 2016 08:01 EST or 12:01 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 2016 season and the first full moon after spring equinox 2016.

There was also a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 13 minutes before the full moon peak. The moon will pass through the Earth’s penumbra resulting in a slight dimming of the moon’s surface. You likely won’t be able to tell the difference from a regular full moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 2016 00:31 EST or 05:31 UTC, about a week before the March Full Moon.

April 2016

The April 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Friday April 22, 2016 01:24 EST or 05:24 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Spring 2016 season as the second full moon after the Spring Equinox.

May 2016

The May 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 21, 2016 17:15 EST or 21:15 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2016 season.

And the August 2016 full moon was also the third full moon of the Spring 2016 Season. As this season had 4 full moons, this full moon was also a seasonal blue moon.

June 2016

The June 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Monday June 20, 2016 07:02 EST or 12:02 UTC. This was the fourth full moon of the Spring 2016 season as it occurs a few hours before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for June 20, 2016 18:35 EST or 23:35 UTC.

July 2016

The July 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Tuesday July 19, 2016 18:57 EST or 23:57 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 2016 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice.

August 2016

The August 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 18, 2016 05:27 EST or 10:27 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 2016 season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice.

September 2016

The September 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Friday September 16, 2016 15:05 EST or 20:05 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 2016 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 2016 10:21 EST or 15:21 UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

There was also a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 9 minutes before the full moon peak.

October 2016

The October 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Sunday October 16, 2016 00:23 EST (05:23 UTC). This was the first full moon of the Autumn 2016 season as the first full moon after the Autumnal Equinox.

November 2016

The November 2016 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Monday November 14, 2016 08:52 EST (13:52 UTC). This was the second full moon of the Autumn 2016 season as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox.

December 2016

The December 2016 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Tuesday December 13, 2016 19:05 EST or December 14, 2016 00:05 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Autumn 2016 season as it occurred about a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 2016 05:45 EST or 10:45 UTC.

What are the names of the 2016 full moons?

The names of the 2016 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 2016?

In 2016 there was not a blue moon as no month had 2 full moons. There was a seasonal blue moon during the Spring 2016 season.

The Spring 2016 season had 4 full moons. The third moon in a four moon season is designated as the seasonal blue moon, and for 2016 was the May 2016 full moon on Saturday May 21, 2016 17:15 EST or 21:15 UTC.

2016 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2016 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 2016 at 12:31 AM EDT or 6:03 PM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2016 at 6:35 PM EDT or 11:35 PM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2016 at 10:21 AM EDT or 3:21 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2016 at 5:45 AM EST or 10:45 AM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2016 was on Wednesday March 23, 2016 08:01 EST or 12:01 UTC. It’s the March 2016 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2016 was on Tuesday July 19, 2016 18:57 EST or 23:57 UTC. It’s the July 2016 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2016 was on Sunday October 16, 2016 00:23 EST (05:23 UTC). It was the October 2016 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon. It’s almost a month after the Autumn Equinox because the September full moon was six days before the Equinox.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2016 was on Thursday January 12, 2017 06:34 EST. It was the January 2017 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. The December 2016 full moon was about a week prior to the solstice.

2016 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2016 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Last QuarterJanuary 2, 2016 12:30 AM ESTJanuary 2, 2016 5:30 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 9, 2016 8:30 PM ESTJanuary 10, 2016 1:30 AM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 16, 2016 6:26 PM ESTJanuary 16, 2016 11:26 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 23, 2016 8:46 PM EST January 24, 2016 1:46 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 31, 2016 10:28 PM ESTFebruary 1, 2016 3:28 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 8, 2016 9:39 AM ESTFebruary 8, 2016 2:39 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 15, 2016 2:46 AM ESTFebruary 15, 2016 7:46 AM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 22, 2016 1:20 PM ESTFebruary 22, 2016 6:20 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 1, 2016 6:11 PM ESTMarch 1, 2016 11:11 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 8, 2016 8:54 PM ESTMarch 9, 2016 1:54 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 15, 2016 1:03 PM EDTMarch 15, 2016 6:03 PM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 23, 2016 8:01 AM EDTMarch 23, 2016 1:01 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 31, 2016 11:17 AM EDTMarch 31, 2016 4:17 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 7, 2016 7:24 AM EDTApril 7, 2016 12:24 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 13, 2016 11:59 PM EDTApril 14, 2016 4:59 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 22, 2016 1:24 AM EDTApril 22, 2016 6:24 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 29, 2016 11:29 PM EDTApril 30, 2016 4:29 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 6, 2016 3:30 PM EDTMay 6, 2016 8:30 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 13, 2016 1:02 PM EDTMay 13, 2016 6:02 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 21, 2016 5:15 PM EDTMay 21, 2016 10:15 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 29, 2016 8:12 AM EDTMay 29, 2016 1:12 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 4, 2016 11:00 PM EDTJune 5, 2016 4:00 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 12, 2016 4:10 AM EDTJune 12, 2016 9:10 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 20, 2016 7:02 AM EDTJune 20, 2016 12:02 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 27, 2016 2:19 PM EDTJune 27, 2016 7:19 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 4, 2016 7:01 AM EDTJuly 4, 2016 12:01 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 11, 2016 8:52 PM EDTJuly 12, 2016 1:52 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 19, 2016 6:57 PM EDTJuly 19, 2016 11:57 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 26, 2016 7:00 PM EDTJuly 27, 2016 12:00 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 2, 2016 4:45 PM EDTAugust 2, 2016 9:45 PM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 10, 2016 2:21 PM EDTAugust 10, 2016 7:21 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 18, 2016 5:27 AM EDTAugust 18, 2016 10:27 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 24, 2016 11:41 PM EDTAugust 25, 2016 4:41 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 1, 2016 5:03 AM EDTSeptember 1, 2016 10:03 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 9, 2016 7:49 AM EDTSeptember 9, 2016 12:49 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 16, 2016 3:05 PM EDTSeptember 16, 2016 8:05 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 23, 2016 5:56 AM EDTSeptember 23, 2016 10:56 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 30, 2016 8:12 PM EDTOctober 1, 2016 1:12 AM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 9, 2016 12:33 AM EDTOctober 9, 2016 5:33 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 16, 2016 12:23 AM EDTOctober 16, 2016 5:23 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 22, 2016 3:14 PM EDTOctober 22, 2016 8:14 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 30, 2016 12:38 PM EDTOctober 30, 2016 5:38 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 7, 2016 2:51 PM ESTNovember 7, 2016 7:51 PM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 14, 2016 8:52 AM ESTNovember 14, 2016 1:52 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 21, 2016 3:33 AM ESTNovember 21, 2016 8:33 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 29, 2016 7:18 AM ESTNovember 29, 2016 12:18 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 7, 2016 4:03 AM ESTDecember 7, 2016 9:03 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 13, 2016 7:05 PM ESTDecember 14, 2016 12:05 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 20, 2016 8:56 PM ESTDecember 21, 2016 1:56 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 29, 2016 1:53 AM ESTDecember 29, 2016 6:53 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2016 Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many full moons in 2016?

There were 12 full moons in 2016 with one full moon each month of the year. None of the months had a second full moon. There was a seasonal full moon in May 2016, but that did not add an additional full moon to the entire year.

When was the first full moon of 2016?

The first full moon of 2016 was on Saturday, January 23, 2016 20:46 EST or January 24, 2016 01:46 UTC. As the January Full Moon, it’s called the Full Wolf Moon.

When was the strawberry moon 2016?

The next Strawberry Moon 2016 was on Monday June 20, 2016 07:02 EST or 12:02 UTC. It is the name for the June Full moon and is the last full moon of the Spring 2016 season, occurring hours before the Summer Solstice.

When was the snow moon 2016?

The Snow Moon 2016 was on Monday February 22, 2016 13:20 EST or 18:20 UTC. It was the name for the February Full Moon and was the third and last full moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season.

What is the first full moon after the spring equinox 2016?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2016 was on Wednesday March 23, 2016 08:01 EST or 12:01 UTC. It was the March 2016 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 2016?

There was 1 seasonal blue moon in 2016 as the Spring 2016 season had 4 full moons. The May 2016 full moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 21, 2016 17:15 EST or 21:15 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2016 season. There were no calendar blue moons that year as each month had 1 full moon.

Future Full Moon Calendars