Full Moon Calendar 2001 with 13 full moon

When were the full moons in 2001? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 2001 to help you look back at that year and see the dates of the 13 full moons

When were the Full Moons in 2001

In 2001 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2001 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 9, 2001 15:24 EST (22:24 UTC)
  • February 8, 2001 02:12 EST (7:12 UTC)
  • March 9, 2001 12:23 EST (17:23 UTC)
  • April 7, 2001 23:22 EST (April 8, 2001 03:22 UTC)
  • May 7, 2001 09:53 EST (13:53 UTC)
  • June 5, 2001 21:40 EST (June 6, 2001 01:40 UTC)
  • July 5, 2001 11:04 EST (15:04 UTC)
  • August 4, 2001 01:56 EST (05:56 UTC)
  • September 2, 2001 17:43 EST (21:43 UTC)
  • October 2, 2001 09:49 EST (13:49 UTC)
  • November 1, 2001 00:41 EST (November 1, 2001 05:41 UTC)
  • November 30, 2001 15:49 EST (20:49 UTC)
  • December 30, 2001 05:41 EST (10:41 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2001 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, dates for the equinoxes and solstices

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 2001

Full Moon Calendar 2001

For 2001, there was 13 full moons. As the full moon dates started to shift towards the ends of the month, there was a blue moon near the end of the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

January 2001

The January 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday, January 9, 2001 15:24 EST or 20:24 UTC. It was the first full moon of the 2000-2001 Winter season.

Also during the January Full Moon there was a total lunar full moon eclipse.

February 2001

The February 2019 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Thursday, February 8, 2001 02:12 EST or 07:12 UTC. It was the second full moon of the 2000-2001 Winter season.

March 2001

The March 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, on Friday March 9, 2001 12:23 EST or 17:23 UTC. This was the third full moon of the 2000-2001 Winter season as it occurred for the Spring Equinox.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 2001 09:31 EST or 14:31 UTC.

April 2001

The April 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Saturday April 7, 2001 23:22 EST or April 8, 2001 04:22 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2001 season.

May 2001

The May 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Monday May 7, 2001 09:53 EST or 14:53 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2001 season.

June 2001

The June 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday June 5, 2001 21:40 EST or June 6, 2001 02:40 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2001 season.

The Summer Solstice occurred on June 21, 2001 03:38 EST or 8:38 UTC, after the June Full Moon.

July 2001

The July 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Thursday July 5, 2001 11:04 EST or 16:04 UTC UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2001 season.

There was a partial lunar eclipse during the July Full Moon.

August 2001

The August 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday August 4, 2001 01:56 EST or 06:56 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Summer 2001 season.

September 2001

The September 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Corn Moon, was on Sunday September 2, 2001 17:43 EST or 21:43 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Summer 2001 season.

The Autumn Equinox occurred on September 22, 2001 19:05 EST or September 23, 2001 00:05 UTC. As the October full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September full moon.

October 2001

The October 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon was on Tuesday October 2, 2001 09:49 EST or 14:49 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Fall 2001 Season.

Because this full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox, it was named the Full Harvest Moons. In other years the October Full Moon may be referred to as the Full Hunter’s Moon.

November 2001

There were two full moons in November 2001. The first November 2001 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Thursday November 1, 2001 00:41 EST or 05:41 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Fall 2001 Season.

There was also a full blue moon at the end of the month on November 30, 2001 15:49 EST or 20:49 UTC. This was also the third full moon of the Fall 2001 Season.

December 2001

The December 2001 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Sunday, December 30, 2001 05:41 EST or 10:41 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 2001 Season as it happened after the 2001 Winter Solstice.

Also during the December Full Moon there was a penumbral lunar eclipse.

The Winter Solstice occurred on December 21, 2001 14:22 EST or
19:22 UTC.

Was there a blue moon in 2001?

In 2001 there was a full blue moon in November as there were two full moons that month. The November 2001 Blue moon was on November 30, 2001 15:49 EST or 20:49 UTC.

None of the 2001 seasons has 4 full moons so there was not a seasonal blue moon in 2001.

2001 Equinoxes and Solstices

Here are the dates for the past 2001 equinoxes and solstices.

MonthEquinox/Solstice2001 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring )March 20, 2001 09:31 EST14:31 UTC
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 21, 2001 03:38 EST08:38 UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 22, 2001 19:05 EST00:05 UTC (September 23, 2001)
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2001 14:22 EST19:22 UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2001 was on Saturday April 7, 2001 23:22 EST or April 8, 2001 04:22 UTC. It was the April 2001 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2001 will be on Thursday July 5, 2001 11:04 EST or 16:04 UTC UTC. It was the July 2001 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2001 was on Tuesday October 2, 2001 09:49 EST or 14:49 UTC. It was the October 2001 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2001 was on Sunday, December 30, 2001 05:41 EST or 10:41 UTC. It was the December 2001 full moon, also called the Full Cold Moon.

Future Full Moon Calendars

Aside from the Full Moon Calendar 2001, here are schedules for the future full moons.