Full Moon Calendar 2000 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2000 Calendar helps you look back at the dates of the full moon dates, a seasonal blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

In 2000 there will be 12 full moons with one full moon per month and three full moons per season except for one season which had four. Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2000 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of Full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 2000

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

When were the full moons in 2000?

In 2000 there were 12 full moons during the year. The full moon schedule started at the middle of January, setting up the year to have 12 full moons and a seasonal blue moon. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each full moon, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates of the 2000 Full Moons were:

January 20, 2000 (January 21 UTC) (Full Wolf Moon)

The first full moon in 2000, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Thursday January 20, 2000 11:40 PM EST or January 21, 2000 4:40 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Winter 1999-2000 season as the second full moon after the 1999 Winter Solstice. The January Full Moon was the full moon in Leo.

There was also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 4 minutes after the full moon peak.

February 19, 2000 (Full Snow Moon)

The second 2000 full moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 19, 2000 11:27 AM EST or 4:27 PM UTC. It was the third full moon of Winter 1999-2000. The February Full Moon was the full moon in Virgo.

Also as the Winter season had four full moons, the February 23rd full moon was a seasonal blue moon in 2000 as the third summer full moon.

March 20, 2000 (Full Worm Moon)

The third full moon in 2000, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Monday March 20, 2000 12:44 AM EST or 5:44 AM UTC. It was the last full moon of the Winter season as the last full moon before the spring equinox 2000. The March Full Moon was the full moon in Virgo.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) was on Monday March 20, 2000 3:35 AM EST or 8:35 AM UTC, hours after the March Full Moon.

April 18, 2000 (Full Pink Moon)

The fourth 2000 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Tuesday April 18, 2000 1:42 PM EDT or 6:42 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Spring 2000 season as the first full moon after spring equinox 2000. The April Full Moon was the full moon in Libra.

May 18, 2000 (Full Flower Moon)

The fifth full moon in 2000, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 18, 2000 3:34 AM EDT or 8:34 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 2000 season as the second full moon after the Spring Solstice. The May Full Moon was the full moon in Scorpio.

June 16, 2000 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The sixth 2000 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Friday June 16, 2000 6:27 PM EDT or 11:27 PM UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2000 season as the last full moon before the Summer Solstice by about two days. The June Full Moon was the full moon in Sagittarius.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Tuesday June 20, 2000 9:48 PM EDT or June 21, 2000 2:48 AM UTC.

July 16, 2000 (Full Buck Moon)

The seventh full moon in 2000, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Sunday July 16, 2000 9:55 AM EDT or 2:53 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Summer 2000 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice. The July Full Moon was the full moon in Capricorn.

There was also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 1 minute after the full moon peak.

August 15, 2000 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The eighth 2000 full moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 15, 2000 1:13 AM EDT or 6:13 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the 2000 Summer Season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice. The August Full Moon was the full moon in Aquarius.

September 13, 2000 (Full Harvest Moon)

The ninth full moon in 2000, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Wednesday September 13, 2000 3:37 PM EDT or 8:37 PM UTC. It was the last full moon of Summer 2000 as it occurred before the Autumnal Equinox. The September Full Moon was the full moon in Pisces.

The Autumnal Equinox was on the calendar for Friday September 22, 2000 1:28 PM EDT or 6:28 PM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 13, 2000 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The tenth 2000 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon, was on Friday October 13, 2000 4:53 AM EDT or 9:53 AM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Fall 2000 season as the first full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

November 11, 2000 (Full Beaver Moon)

The eleventh full moon in 2000, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Saturday November 11, 2000 4:15 PM EST or 9:15 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of Autumn as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The November Full Moon was the full moon in Taurus.

December 11, 2000 (Full Cold Moon)

The last full moon of 2000, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Monday December 11, 2000 4:03 AM EST or 9:03 AM UTC. It was the last full moon of Autumn 2000 as it occurred before the Winter Solstice by more than a week. The December Full Moon was the full moon in Gemini

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 21, 2000 8:38 AM EST or 1:38 PM UTC.

What were the names of the 2000 full moons?

The names of the 2000 full moons were:

  1. January 20 (January 21 UTC): Full Wolf Moon
  2. February 19: Full Snow Moon
  3. March 20: Full Worm Moon
  4. April 18: Full Pink Moon
  5. May 18: Full Flower Moon
  6. June 16: Full Strawberry Moon
  7. July 16: Full Buck Moon
  8. August 15: Full Sturgeon Moon
  9. September 13: Full Harvest Moon
  10. October 13: Full Hunter’s Moon
  11. November 11: Full Beaver Moon
  12. December 11: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

What were the signs of 2000 full moons?

The astrological signs of the 2000 full moons were:

  1. January 20, 2000 (January 21 UTC): Leo
  2. February 19, 2000: Virgo
  3. March 20, 2000: Virgo
  4. April 18, 2000: Libra
  5. May 18, 2000: Scorpio
  6. June 16, 2000: Sagittarius
  7. July 16, 2000: Capricorn
  8. August 15, 2000: Aquarius
  9. September 13, 2000: Pisces
  10. October 13, 2000: Aries
  11. November 11, 2000: Taurus
  12. December 11, 2000: Gemini

In 2000 the full moon calendar aligned such Virgo had two full moons.

Was there a blue moon in 2000?

Yes the February full moon on February 19, 2000 was a seasonal blue moon because it was the third full moon in a winter season with four full moons. A Winter Seasonal Blue Moon is less common than when it happens in other seasons.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

When were the full supermoons in 2000?

In 2000 none of the full moons were considered supermoons as they were closer than 360,000 kilometers from the Earth.

A full supermoon is a full moon that nearly coincides with the closest that the Moon comes to the Earth in its orbit, called perigee. The moon has a larger-than-usual appearance when you look at it. There isn’t an official definition for how close the moon needs to be to the earth to be considered a supermoon. For the purposes of this site, we’ll follow the Timeanddate.com definition using moons less than 360,000 kilometers from the Earth.

The full moons in January and December were just beyond the 360,000 kilometers distance from the earth. So both were large and depending on the distance you reference they could also have been considered supermoons.

When were the lunar eclipses in 2000?

In 2000 there were two lunar eclipses during the January and July full moons. The January lunar eclipse was a total lunar eclipse on January 21st during the Full Wolf Moon, about 4 minutes after the full moon peak. The second lunar eclipse of 2000 was also a total lunar eclipse on July 16th as part of the Full Buck Moon, 1 minute after the peak of the full moon.

2000 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2000 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

  • Vernal Equinox: March 20, 2000 3:35 AM EST (8:35 AM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2000 9:48 PM EDT (June 21, 2000 2:48 AM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2000 1:28 PM EDT (6:28 PM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2000 8:38 AM EST (1:38 PM UTC)

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2000 was on Tuesday April 18, 2000 1:42 PM EDT or 6:42 PM UTC. It was the April 2000 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon. The April Full Moon was the full moon in Libra.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2000 was on Sunday July 16, 2000 9:55 AM EDT or 2:53 PM UTC. It was the July 2000 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon. The July Full moon was the full moon in Capricorn and had a total lunar eclipse.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2000 was on Friday October 13, 2000 4:53 AM EDT or 9:53 AM UTC. It was the October 2000 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon. The October Full Moon was the full moon in Aries.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2000 was in the next calendar year on Tuesday January 9, 2001 3:24 PM EST or 8:24 PM UTC. It was the January 2001 full moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon. The January full moon was the full moon in Cancer and had a total lunar eclipse.

2000 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2000 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 6, 2000 1:14 PM ESTJanuary 6, 2000 6:14 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 14, 2000 8:34 AM ESTJanuary 14, 2000 8:34 AM EST or 1:34 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 20, 2000 11:40 PM ESTJanuary 21, 2000 4:40 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 28, 2000 2:57 AM ESTJanuary 28, 2000 7:57 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 5, 2000 8:03 AM ESTFebruary 5, 2000 1:03 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 12, 2000 6:21 PM ESTFebruary 12, 2000 11:21 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 19, 2000 11:27 AM ESTFebruary 19, 2000 4:27 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 26, 2000 10:54 PM ESTFebruary 27, 2000 3:54 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 6, 2000 12:17 AM ESTMarch 6, 2000 5:17 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 13, 2000 2:59 AM ESTMarch 13, 2000 7:59 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 20, 2000 12:44 AM ESTMarch 20, 2000 5:44 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 27, 2000 8:21 PM ESTMarch 28, 2000 1:21 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 4, 2000 2:12 PM EDTApril 4, 2000 7:12 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 11, 2000 9:30 AM EDTApril 11, 2000 2:30 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 18, 2000 1:42 PM EDTApril 18, 2000 6:42 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 26, 2000 3:30 PM EDTApril 26, 2000 8:30 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 4, 2000 12:12 AM EDTMay 4, 2000 5:12 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 10, 2000 4:01 PM EDTMay 10, 2000 9:01 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 18, 2000 3:34 AM EDTMay 18, 2000 8:34 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 26, 2000 7:55 AM EDTMay 26, 2000 12:55 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 2, 2000 8:14 AM EDTJune 2, 2000 1:14 PM UTC
June First QuarterJune 8, 2000 11:29 PM EDTJune 9, 2000 4:29 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 16, 2000 6:27 PM EDTJune 16, 2000 11:27 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 24, 2000 9:00 PM EDTJune 25, 2000 2:00 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 1, 2000 3:20 PM EDTJuly 1, 2000 8:20 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 8, 2000 8:53 AM EDTJuly 8, 2000 1:53 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 16, 2000 9:55 AM EDTJuly 16, 2000 2:53 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 24, 2000 7:02 AM EDTJuly 24, 2000 12:02 PM UTC
July Black MoonJuly 30, 2000 10:25 PM EDTJuly 31, 2000 3:25 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 6, 2000 9:02 PM EDTAugust 7, 2000 2:02 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 15, 2000 1:13 AM EDTAugust 15, 2000 6:13 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 22, 2000 2:51 PM EDTAugust 22, 2000 7:51 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 29, 2000 6:19 AM EDTAugust 29, 2000 11:19 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 5, 2000 12:27 PM EDTSeptember 5, 2000 5:27 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 13, 2000 3:37 PM EDTSeptember 13, 2000 8:37 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 20, 2000 9:28 PM EDT or September 21, 2000 2:28 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 27, 2000 3:53 PM EDTSeptember 27, 2000 8:53 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 5, 2000 6:59 AM EDTOctober 5, 2000 11:59 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 13, 2000 4:53 AM EDTOctober 13, 2000 9:53 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 20, 2000 3:59 AM EDTOctober 20, 2000 8:59 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 27, 2000 3:58 AM EDTOctober 27, 2000 8:58 AM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 4, 2000 2:27 AM ESTNovember 4, 2000 7:27 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 11, 2000 4:15 PM ESTNovember 11, 2000 9:15 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 18, 2000 10:24 AM ESTNovember 18, 2000 3:24 PM UTC
November New MoonNovember 25, 2000 6:11 PM ESTNovember 25, 2000 11:11 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 3, 2000 10:55 PM ESTDecember 3, 2000 3:55 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 11, 2000 4:03 AM ESTDecember 11, 2000 9:03 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 17, 2000 7:41 PM ESTDecember 18, 2000 12:41 AM UTC
December Black MoonDecember 25, 2000 12:22 PM ESTDecember 25, 2000 5:22 PM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2000 Full Moon Calendar to help you look back at the year.

How many full moons were in 2000?

There were 12 full moons in 2000 with one full moon each month and a seasonal blue moon in February. The schedule began in January with the first full moon in the middle of the month, aligning the calendar to not have an extra full moon during the year, but added an extra full moon to the Winter season.

When is the first full moon of 2000?

The first full moon of 2000 was on Thursday January 20, 2000 11:40 PM EST or January 21, 2000 4:40 AM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon as it was the January Full Moon. It was the second full moon of the Winter 1999-2000 season as the December 1999 full moon occurred after the Winter Solstice. The January 20th full moon was the full moon in Leo.

When was the last full moon of 2000?

The last full moon of 2000 was on Monday December 11, 2000 4:03 AM EST or 9:03 AM UTC. It was called the Full Cold Moon as it was the December Full Moon. It is also the last full moon of the Autumn 2000 season as the December 2000 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice. The December 11th full moon was the full moon in Gemini.

2000 Full Moon Calendar Summary

In 2000 there were 12 full moons, and a seasonal blue moon in February. The year had 2 full lunar eclipses. The dates of the Full Moons in 2000 were:

  1. January 20, 2000 11:40 PM EST (January 21, 2000 4:40 AM UTC)
  2. February 19, 2000 11:27 AM EST (4:27 PM UTC)
  3. March 20, 2000 12:44 AM EST (5:44 AM UTC)
  4. April 18, 2000 1:42 PM EDT (6:42 PM UTC)
  5. May 18, 2000 3:34 AM EDT (8:34 AM UTC)
  6. June 16, 2000 6:27 PM EDT (11:27 PM UTC)
  7. July 16, 2000 9:55 AM EDT (2:53 PM UTC)
  8. August 15, 2000 1:13 AM EDT (6:13 AM UTC)
  9. September 13, 2000 3:37 PM EDT (8:37 PM UTC)
  10. October 13, 2000 4:53 AM EDT (9:53 AM UTC)
  11. November 11, 2000 4:15 PM EST (9:15 PM UTC)
  12. December 11, 2000 4:03 AM EST (9:03 AM UTC)

Pin for later

Photo of the moon for the calendar of the Full Moons 2000

Future Full Moon Calendars