Full Moon 2023 Calendar with 13 full moons

The Full Moon 2023 Calendar will help you mark your calendar for the dates of the upcoming full moons, a blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses. When are the full moons in 2023? Check out the dates below.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

In 2023 there will be 13 full moons with one full moon per month except for one and three full moons per season. Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2023 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the moon for the 2023 Full Moon calendar dates

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon 2023 Calendar

For 2023, there will be 13 full moons. Most of the months will have 1 full moon with the exception of August. For August 2023, a blue moon is on the schedule. Mark your calendars accordingly!

Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of the 2023 Full Moons:

January 6, 2023 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, will be on Friday January 6, 2023 at 6:08 PM EST or 11:08 PM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the December 2022 full moon occurred prior to the Winter Solstice. The January Full Moon will be the full moon in Cancer.

February 5, 2023 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Sunday February 5, 2023 at 1:29 PM EST or 6:29 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the second full moon after the 2022 Winter Solstice. The February Full Moon will be the full moon in Leo.

March 7, 2023 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, will be on Tuesday March 7, 2023 at 7:40 AM EST or 12:40 PM UTC. This will be the third and last full moon of the Winter 2023 season as it occurs before the spring equinox 2023. The March Full Moon will be the full moon in Virgo.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) will be on March 20, 2023 at 5:25 PM EDT or 9:25 PM UTC, a couple of weeks after March Full Moon.

April 6, 2023 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, will be on Thursday April 6, 2023 at 12:34 AM EDT or 4:34 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Spring 2023 season and the first full moon after the spring equinox 2023. The April Full Moon will be the full moon in Libra.

May 5, 2023 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, will be on Friday May 5, 2023 at 1:34 PM EDT or 5:34 PM UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Spring 2023 season and the second full moon after the spring equinox. The May Full Moon will be the full moon in Scorpio.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 9 minutes before the full moon peak.

June 3, 2023 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, will be on June 3, 2023 at 11:42 PM EDT or June 4, 2023 at 3:42 AM UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Spring 2023 season as it occurs about two weeks before the Summer Solstice. The June Full Moon will be the full moon in Sagittarius.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for June 21, 2023 at 10:58 AM EDT or 2:58 PM UTC.

July 3, 2023 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, will be on Monday July 3, 2023 at 7:39 AM EDT or 11:39 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2023 season as the first full moon after the Summer Solstice. The July Full Moon will be the full moon in Capricorn.

August 1, 2023 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, will be on Tuesday August 1, 2023 at 2:31 PM EDT or 6:31 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2023 season as the second full moon after the Summer Solstice. It will be one of two supermoons in 2023. The first August Full Moon will be the full moon in Aquarius.

August 30, 2023 (Full Blue Moon)

There will be a full blue moon in August 2023 on Wednesday August 30, 2023 at 9:35 PM EDT or August 31, 2023 at 1:35 AM UTC. This will be the third and last full moon of the Summer 2023 season. It will be the second of two supermoons in 2023. The second August Full Moon will be the full moon in Pisces.

This moon is called a full blue moon because it’s the second full moon in a calendar month. It could also be referred to as a super blue moon because it the second August Full Moon will also be a supermoon.

September 29, 2023 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, will be on Friday September 29, 2023 at 5:57 AM EDT or 9:57 AM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Autumn 2023 season. The September Full Moon will be the full moon in Aries.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 10 minutes before the full moon peak.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 23, 2023 at 2:50 AM EDT or 6:50 AM UTC. As the September full moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it will be called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 28, 2023 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon will be on Saturday October 28, 2023 at 4:24 PM EDT or 8:24 PM UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2023 season as the second full moon after the Autumnal Equinox. The October Full Moon will be the full moon in Taurus.

November 27, 2023 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 2023 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, will be on Monday November 27, 2023 at 4:16 AM EST or 9:16 AM UTC. It will be the third full moon of the Autumn 2023 season. The November Full Moon will be the full moon in Gemini.

December 26, 2023 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 2023 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, will be on Tuesday December 26, 2023 at 7:33 PM EST or December 27, 2023 at 12:33 AM UTC. It will be the first full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season as the first full moon after the Winter Solstice. The December Full Moon will be the full moon in Cancer.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 2023 at 10:28 PM EST or December 22, 2023 at 3:28 AM UTC.

What are the names of 2023 full moons?

The names of the 2023 full moons are as follows:

  • January 6: Full Wolf Moon
  • February 5: Full Snow Moon
  • March 7: Full Worm Moon
  • April 6: Full Pink Moon
  • May 5: Full Flower Moon
  • June 3 (June 4 UTC): Full Strawberry Moon
  • July 3: Full Buck Moon
  • August 1: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • August 30 (August 31 UTC): Full Blue Moon
  • September 29: Full Harvest Moon
  • October 28: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November 27: Full Beaver Moon
  • December 26 (December 27 UTC): Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Related: 2023 New Moons

Will there be a blue moon in 2023?

Yes, there will be a blue moon in August 2023 as there will be two full moons that month. The full blue moon will be on Wednesday August 30, 2023 at 9:35 PM EDT or August 31, 2023 at 1:35 AM UTC. It will also be the third and last full moon of the Summer 2023 season.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

There also won’t be a seasonal blue moon as part of 2023 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season will have three full moons.

2023 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2023 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

MonthEquinox/Solstice2023 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 20, 2023 5:25 PM EDT9:25 PM UTC
JuneSummer Solstice10:58 AM EDT2:58 PM UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 23, 2023 2:50 AM EDT6:50 AM UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2023 10:28 PM EST3:28 AM UTC (December 22, 2023)

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2023 will be on Thursday April 6, 2023 at 12:34 AM EDT or 4:34 AM UTC. It’s the April 2023 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2023 will be on Monday July 3, 2023 at 7:39 AM EDT or 11:39 AM UTC. It’s the July 2023 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2023 will be on Friday, September 29, 2023 at 5:57 AM EDT or 9:57 AM UTC. It’s the September 2023 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2023 will be on Tuesday December 26, 2023 at 7:33 PM EST or December 27, 2023 at 12:33 AM UTC. The December 2023 full moon is also called the Full Cold Moon, and is the first full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2023 Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many full moons in 2023?

There will be 13 full moons in 2023 with one full moon each month most of the months of the year with a second full moon in August. There will be a full blue moon in 2023 making a year of 13 full moons.

When is the first full moon of 2023?

The first full moon of 2023 will be on Friday January 6, 2023 at 6:08 PM EST or 11:08 PM UTC. It will be called the Full Wolf Moon as it is the January Full Moon. It is also the first full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the December 2022 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

When is the next Snow Moon 2023?

The Full Snow Moon 2023 will be on Sunday February 5, 2023 at 1:29 PM EST or 6:29 PM UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season. The snow moon is the name of the February full moon.

When is the next Strawberry Moon 2023?

The 2023 Full Strawberry moon will be on Saturday June 3, 2023 at 11:42 PM EDT or June 4, 2023 at 3:42 AM UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Spring 2023 season as it falls about two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

What is the first full moon after the spring equinox 2023?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2023 will be on Thursday April 6, 2023 at 12:34 AM EDT or 4:34 AM UTC. It’s the April 2023 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

When is the January 2023 full moon?

The January 2023 Full Moon will be on Friday January 6, 2023 6:08 PM EST or 11:08 PM UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the December 2022 full moon occurred prior to the Winter Solstice. The January Full moon is also called the Full Wolf Moon.

2023 Full Moon Calendar Summary

In 2023 there will be 13 full moons. The year will have 2 full supermoons. The dates of the Full Moons in 2023 were:

  1. January 6, 2023 6:08 PM EST (11:08 PM UTC)
  2. February 5, 2023 1:29 PM EST (6:29 PM UTC)
  3. March 7, 2023 7:40 AM EST (12:40 PM UTC)
  4. April 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDT (4:34 AM UTC)
  5. May 5, 2023 1:34 PM EDT (5:34 PM UTC)
  6. June 3, 2023 11:42 PM EDT (June 4, 2023 3:42 AM UTC)
  7. July 3, 2023 7:39 AM EDT (11:39 AM UTC)
  8. August 1, 2023 2:31 PM EDT (6:31 PM UTC)
  9. August 30, 2023 9:35 PM EDT (August 31, 2023 1:35 AM UTC) – 2023 blue moon!
  10. September 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDT (9:57 AM UTC)
  11. October 28, 2023 4:24 PM EDT (8:24 PM UTC)
  12. November 27, 2023 4:16 AM EST (9:16 AM UTC)
  13. December 26, 2023 7:33 PM EST (December 27, 2023 12:33 AM UTC)

Pin for later

Calendar of the Full Moons 2023

Future Full Moon Calendars