Full Moon Calendar 1990 with 13 Full Moons

When were the full moons in 1990? Here’s the Full Moon Calendar 1990 to help you go back and time and look at the year’s 13 full moons, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, and in 1990 there were 13 full moons.

What were the 1990 Full Moon Dates?

In 1990 there were 13 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1990 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 10, 1990 23:57 EST (January 11, 1990 04:57 UTC)
  • February 9, 1990 14:16 EST (19:16 UTC)
  • March 11, 1990 05:59 EST (10:59 UTC)
  • April 9, 1990 23:18 EST (04:18 UTC)
  • May 9, 1990 15:31 EST (20:31 UTC)
  • June 8, 1990 07:01 EST (12:01 UTC)
  • July 7, 1990 21:23 EST (July 8, 1990 02:23 UTC)
  • August 6, 1990 10:19 EST (15:19 UTC)
  • September 4, 1990 21:46 EST (September 5, 1990 02:46 UTC)
  • October 4, 1990 08:02 EST (13:02 UTC)
  • November 2, 1990 16:48 EST (21:48 UTC)
  • December 2, 1990 02:50 EST (07:50 UTC)
  • December 31, 1990 13:35 EST (18:35 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1990 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1990

Full Moon Calendar 1990

For 1990, there were 13 full moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Here were the dates of the 1990 Full Moons:

January 10, 1990 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday, January 10, 1990 23:57 EST or January 11, 1990 04:57 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season as the December full moon occurred prior to the Winter Equinox.

February 9, 1990 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Friday, February 9, 1990 14:16 EST or 19:16 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season.

There was also a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 4 minutes before the full moon peak.

March 11, 1990 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Sunday March 11, 1990 05:59 EST or 10:59 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season as it occurred before the spring equinox 1990.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 1990 17:19 EST or March 21, 1990 04:02 UTC, more than a week after the March Full Moon.

April 9, 1990 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Monday April 9, 1990 23:18 EST or 04:18 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 1990 season as the first full moon after spring equinox 1990.

May 9, 1990 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Wednesday May 9, 1990 15:31 EST or 20:31 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 1990 season.

June 8, 1990 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Friday June 8, 1990 07:01 EST or 12:01 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 1990 season as it occurred almost a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for June 21, 1990 11:33 EST or 15:33 UTC.

July 7, 1990 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Saturday July 7, 1990 21:23 EST or July 8, 1990 02:23 UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 1990 season as the June full moon occurred prior to the Summer Solstice.

August 6, 1990 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday August 6, 1990 10:19 EST or 15:19 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 1990 season.

There was also a Partial Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 4 minutes before the full moon peak.

September 4, 1990 (Full Corn Moon)

The September 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Tuesday September 4, 1990 21:46 EST or September 5, 1990 02:46 UTC. This was the third and last full moon of the Summer 1990 season.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for September 23, 1990 02:56 EST or 06:56 UTC. The October full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox, so the September full moon was called the Full Corn Moon.

October 4, 1990 (Full Harvest Moon)

The October 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon was on Thursday, October 4, 1990 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 1990 season.

In 1990 the October Full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn than the September full moon.

November 2, 1990 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1990 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Friday, November 2, 1990 16:48 EST or 21:48 UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1990 season.

December 2, 1990 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1990 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Sunday December 2, 1990 02:50 EST or 07:50 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 1990 season

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 1990 22:07 EST or December 22, 1990 03:07 UTC. This December full moon occurred before the Winter season began.

December 31, 1990 (Full Blue Moon)

1990 ended the year with a Full Blue Moon on Monday, December 31, 1990 13:35 EST or 18:35 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season and the last full moon of 1990

What are the names of 1990 full moons?

The names of the 1990 full moons were as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Corn Moon
  • October: Full Harvest Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The October full moon was called the Full Harvest Moon because it was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 1990?

Yes, there was a full blue moon in 1990 at the end of the year. It occurred on Monday, December 31, 1990 13:35 EST or 18:35 UTC. It was the first full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season. There wasn’t a seasonal blue moon as part of 1990 because none of the seasons have four full moons. Each season had three full moons.

1990 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below are the dates for the equinoxes and solstices from 1990. None of the 1990 full moons coincided with the year’s equinoxes or solstices. Each season had 3 full moons.

The 1990 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

MonthEquinox/Solstice1990 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 20, 1990 17:19 EST04:02 UTC
(March 21, 1990)
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 21, 1990 11:33 EST15:33 UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 23, 1990 02:56 EST06:56UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 1990 22:07 EST03:07 UTC (December 22, 1990)

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1990 was on Monday April 9, 1990 23:18 EST or 04:18 UTC. It was the April 1990 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1990 was on Saturday July 7, 1990 21:23 EST or July 8, 1990 02:23 UTC. It was the July 1990 full moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1990 was on Thursday, October 4, 1990 08:02 EST or 13:02 UTC. It’s the October 1990 full moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1990 was on Monday, December 31, 1990 13:35 EST or 18:35 UTC. It was the second full moon of December 1990, a full blue moon. It was also the first full moon of the Winter 1990-1991 season.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 1990 Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many full moons in 1990?

There were 13 full moons in 1990 with one full moon each month of the year except for December when there were 2 full moons.

When was the first full moon of 1990?

The first full moon of 1990 was on Wednesday, January 10, 1990 23:57 EST or January 11, 1990 04:57 UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. It is also the first full moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season as the December 1989 full moon occurred prior to the Winter Equinox.

When was the snow moon 1990?

The Full Snow Moon 1990 was on Friday, February 9, 1990 14:16 EST or 19:16 UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 1989-1990 season. The snow moon is the name of the February full moon.

When was the strawberry moon 1990?

The 1990 Full Strawberry moon was on Friday June 8, 1990 07:01 EST or 12:01 UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 1990 season as happened more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

What was the first full moon after the spring equinox 1990?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1990 was on Monday April 9, 1990 23:18 EST or 04:18 UTC. It was the April 1990 full moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

Future Full Moon Calendars