Full Moon 2024 Calendar with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 2024 Calendar will help you mark your calendar for the upcoming 12 full moons, a seasonal blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses. When are the full moons in 2024? Check out the dates below.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, and 2024 will match up with the typical year.

What are the 2024 Full Moon Dates?

In 2024 there will be 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 2024 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  • January 25, 2024 12:54 EST (17:54 UTC)
  • February 24, 2024 07:30 EST (12:30 UTC)
  • March 25, 2024 03:00 EST (08:00 UTC)
  • April 23, 2024 19:49 EST (April 23, 2024 00:49 UTC)
  • May 23, 2024 09:53 EST (14:53 UTC)
  • June 21, 2024 21:08 EST (June 22, 2024 02:08 UTC)
  • July 21, 2024 06:17 EST (11:17 UTC)
  • August 19, 2024 14:26 EST (19:26 UTC)
  • September 17, 2024  22:34 EST (03:34 UTC)
  • October 17, 2024 07:26 EST (12:26 UTC)
  • November 15, 2024 16:29 EST (21:29 UTC)
  • December 15, 2024 04:02 EST (09:02 UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2024 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Full Moon 2024 Calendar

Full Moon Calendar 2024

For 2024, there will be 12 full moons. While each month will have 1 full moon each, there will be 4 full moons in the Summer 2024 season. Mark your calendars accordingly!

Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the full moons, their names, and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times are provided by NASA in Eastern Standard Time (EST) with Daylight Saving Time (DST) for part of the year. Also below is the Universal Time Coordinated (UTC) time. This was previously referred to at Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Here are the dates of the 2024 Full Moons:

January 25, 2024 12:54 EST (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, will be on Thursday January 25, 2024 12:54 EST or 17:54 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season as the December 2023 full moon occurred after the Winter Equinox.

February 24, 2024 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, will be on Saturday February 24, 2024 07:30 EST or 12:30 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season.

March 25, 2024 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, on Monday March 25, 2024 03:00 EST or 08:00 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Spring 2024 season and the first full moon after the Spring Equinox 2024.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 13 minutes before the full moon peak.

The Vernal Equinox (or Spring Equinox) will be on March 19, 2024 23:07 EST or March 20, 2024 03:07 UTC, less than a week before the March Full Moon.

April 23, 2024 (Full Pink Moon)

The April 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, will be on Tuesday April 23, 2024 19:49 EST or Wednesday April 24, 2024 00:49 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Spring 2024 season.

May 23, 2024 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, will be on Thursday May 23, 2024 09:53 EST or 14:53 UTC. It will be the third full moon of the Spring 2024 season.

June 21, 2024 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, will be on Friday June 21, 2024 21:08 EST or June 22, 2024 02:08 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2024 season as it occurs a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for June 20, 2024 16:51 EST or 21:51 UTC.

July 19, 2024 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, will be on Monday July 19, 2024 06:17 EST or 11:17 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

August 19, 2024 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, will be on Monday August 19, 2024  14:26 EST or 19:26 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

September 17, 2024 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, will be on Tuesday, September 17, 2024 22:34 EST or Wednesday, September 18, 2024 03:34 UTC. This will also be the fourth full moon of the Summer 2024 season because it occurs before the Autumn Equinox

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 11 minutes before the full moon peak.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 2024 08:44 EST or 13:44 UTC. As the September full moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it will be called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 17, 2024 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon will be on Thursday October 17, 2024 07:26 EST or 12:26 UTC. It will be the first full moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

November 15, 2024 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 2024 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, will be on Friday November 15, 2024 16:29 EST or 21:29 UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

December 15, 2024 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 2024 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, will be on Sunday December 15, 2024 04:02 EST or 09:02 UTC. It will be the third full moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 2024 04:20 EST or 09:20 UTC.

What are the names of 2024 full moons?

The names of the 2024 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon. It will technically be in the Summer 2024 season because it occurs before the Autumn Equinox. And it will be part of a seasonal blue moon season as it will be the fourth full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

Will there be a blue moon in 2024?

The August 2024 full moon will be a seasonal full moon because there will be 4 full moons during the Summer 2024 season. There will not be a traditional full blue moon in 2024 as all months will have 1 full moon. No month in 2024 will have two full moons.

The 2024 seasonal blue moon will be on Monday August 19, 2024 14:26 EST or 19:26 UTC as the third full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

2024 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2024 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

MonthEquinox/Solstice2024 DateUTC Time
MarchVernal Equinox (Spring)March 19, 2024 23:07 EST04:07 UTC (March 20, 2024)
JuneSummer SolsticeJune 20, 2024 16:51 EST21:51 UTC
SeptemberAutumn EquinoxSeptember 22, 2024 08:44 EST13:44 UTC
DecemberWinter SolsticeDecember 21, 2024  04:20 EST09:20 UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2024 will be on Wednesday March 25, 2024 03:00 EST or 08:00 UTC. It’s the March 2024 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 2024 will be on Friday June 21, 2024 21:08 EST or June 22, 2024 01:08 UTC. It’s the June 2024 full moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 2024 will be on Thursday October 17, 2024 07:26 EST or 12:26 UTC. It’s the October 2024 full moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 2024 will not occur until 2025 on Monday January 13, 2025 17:27 EST or 22:27 UTC. Because the December 2024 full moon will happen before the Winter Solstice, the next full moon will be in January 2025. It’s also called the Full Wolf Moon, and is the first full moon of the Winter 2024-2025 season.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2024 Full Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many full moons in 2024?

There will be 12 full moons in 2024 with one full moon each month of the year. There will be a full seasonal blue moon in Summer 2024 season without adding another full moon to the annual calendar.

When is the first full moon of 2024?

The first full moon of 2024 will be on Thursday January 25, 2024 12:54 EST or 17:54 UTC. It will be called the Full Wolf Moon. It is also the second full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season as the December 2023 full moon occurred right after the Winter Equinox.

When is the next Snow Moon 2024?

The Full Snow Moon 2024 will be on Saturday February 24, 2024 07:30 EST or 12:30 UTC. This will be the third full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season. The snow moon is the name of the February full moon.

When is the next Strawberry Moon 2024?

The 2024 Full Strawberry moon will be on Friday June 21, 2024 21:08 EST or June 22, 2024 02:08 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2024 season as it falls a couple of days after the Summer Solstice.

What is the first full moon after the spring equinox 2024?

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 2024 will be on Monday March 25, 2024 03:00 EST or 08:00 UTC. It’s the March 2024 full moon, also called the Full Worm Moon.

Future Full Moon Calendars

Pin for later

Full Moons 2024