Full Moon Calendar 1981 with 12 full moons

The Full Moon 1981 Calendar had 12 full moons, seasonal blue moon, solstices, equinoxes, and full moon eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

Typically there are 12 full moons each year, which was true in 1981.

What were the 1981 Full Moon Dates?

In 1981 there were 12 full moons. Here is a quick list of the 1981 Full Moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 20, 1981 2:39 AM EST ( 7:39 AM UTC)
  2. February 18, 1981 5:58 PM EST (10:58 PM UTC)
  3. March 20, 1981 11:22 AM EST (3:22 PM UTC)
  4. April 19, 1981 3:59 AM EST (7:59 AM UTC)
  5. May 18, 1981 8:04 PM EDT (May 19, 1981 12:04 AM UTC)
  6. June 17, 1981 11:05 AM EDT (3:05 PM UTC)
  7. July 17, 1981 12:39 AM EDT (4:39 AM UTC)
  8. August 15, 1981 12:37 PM EDT (4:37 PM UTC)
  9. September 13, 1981 11:09 PM EDT (September 14, 1981 3:09 AM UTC)
  10. October 13, 1981 8:49 AM EDT (12:49 PM UTC)
  11. November 11, 1981 5:26 PM EST (10:26 PM UTC)
  12. December 11, 1981 3:41 AM EST (8:41 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1981 dates? Take a look at each month, the names associated with each full moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Photo of the full moon with the words Full Moon Calendar 1981

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

Full Moon Calendar 1981

In 1981, there were 12 full moons on the calendar. While there was not a calendar blue moon, 1981 had a seasonal blue moon.

The February 1981 Full Moon was the third full moon in a winter season with four full moons so it was considered a seasonal blue moon.

As part of the January and July 1981 full moon there were penumbral lunar full moon eclipses.

Here are the dates of the 1981 Full Moons:

January 20, 1981 (Full Wolf Moon)

The January 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday January 20, 1981 at 2:39 AM EST or 7:39 AM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season as the December full moon occurred hours after the 1980 Winter Solstice.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 11 minutes after the full moon peak.

February 18, 1981 (Full Snow Moon)

The February 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 18, 1981 at 5:58 PM EST or 10:58 PM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season.

The February 1981 Full Moon was also a seasonal blue moon because it was the third full moon in a season that had four full moons.

March 20, 1981 (Full Worm Moon)

The March 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Worm Moon, was on Friday March 20, 1981 at 11:22 AM EST or 3:22 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last full moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season as it occurred hours before the Spring Equinox 1981.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on March 20, 1981 1:03 PM EST or 5:03 PM UTC, the same day as the March Full Moon.

April 19, 1981  (Full Pink Moon)

The April 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 19, 1981 at 3:59 AM EST or 7:59 AM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Spring 1981 season.

May 18, 1981 (Full Flower Moon)

The May 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Flower Moon, was on Monday May 18, 1981 at 8:04 PM EDT or May 19, 1981 at 12:04 AM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Spring 1981 season.

June 17, 1981 (Full Strawberry Moon)

The June 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday June 17, 1981 at 11:05 AM EDT or 3:05 PM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Spring 1981 season as it occurred before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for June 21, 1981 at 7:45 AM EDT or 11:45 AM UTC.

July 17, 1981 (Full Buck Moon)

The July 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon, was on Friday July 17, 1981 at 12:39 AM EDT or 4:39 AM UTC. This was the first full moon of the Summer 1981 season.

There will also be a Penumbral Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 9 minutes after the full moon peak.

August 15, 1981 (Full Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday August 15, 1981 at 12:37 PM EDT or 4:37 PM UTC. This was the second full moon of the Summer 1981 season.

September 13, 1981 (Full Harvest Moon)

The September 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Harvest Moon, was on Sunday September 13, 1981 at 11:09 PM EDT or September 14, 1981 at 3:09 AM UTC. This was the third full moon of the Summer 1981 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for September 22, 1981 at 11:05 PM EDT or September 23, 1981 at 3:05 AM UTC. As the September full moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October full moon, it was called the Full Harvest Moon.

October 13, 1981 (Full Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon was on Tuesday October 13, 1981 at 8:49 AM EDT or 12:49 PM UTC. It was the first full moon of the Autumn 1981 season.

November 11, 1981 (Full Beaver Moon)

The November 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday November 11, 1981 at 5:26 PM EST or 10:26 PM UTC. It was the second full moon of the Autumn 1981 season.

December 11, 1981 (Full Cold Moon)

The December 1981 Full Moon, also called Full Cold Moon, was on Friday, Friday December 11, 1981 at 3:41 AM EST or 8:41 AM UTC. It was the third full moon of the Autumn 1981 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 1981 5:51 PM EST or 10:51 PM UTC.

Related: 1980 Full Moon Calendar 1982 Full Moon Calendar

When was the Full Harvest Moon 1981?

The Full Harvest Moon in 1981 was on Sunday September 13, 1981 11:09 PM ET or September 14, 1981 3:09 AM UTC. The September full moon ninth full moon of 1981 and was the full moon in Pisces. The Full Harvest Moon was the last full moon before the Autumnal Equinox, making it the last full moon of Summer 1981.

Depending on the year, the Harvest Moon may either be part of the Summer or Autumn season. In 1981 it was part of Summer. The New Harvest Moon occurred in August on Saturday August 29, 1981 10:44 AM ET or 2:44 PM UTC, prior to the Autumnal Equinox. The August New Moon was the last new moon of Summer.

What were the names of 1981 full moons?

The names of the 1981 full moons are as follows:

  • January: Full Wolf Moon
  • February: Full Snow Moon
  • March: Full Worm Moon
  • April: Full Pink Moon
  • May: Full Flower Moon
  • June: Full Strawberry Moon
  • July: Full Buck Moon
  • August: Full Sturgeon Moon
  • September: Full Harvest Moon
  • October: Full Hunter’s Moon
  • November: Full Beaver Moon
  • December: Full Cold Moon

The September full moon is called the Full Harvest Moon because it’s closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a blue moon in 1981?

In 1981 there was a seasonal blue moon as part of the Winter 1980-1981 season because it had four full moons. The February 1981 full moon was considered a seasonal blue moon, which occurred on Wednesday February 18, 1981 at 5:58 PM EST or 10:58 PM UTC. The March Full Moon occurred a few hours prior to the Vernal Equinox making this possible.

There are two definitions of blue moons. The most common, and the one you likely know is when two full moons occur in the same month. The second full moon is typically called a blue moon.

The second definition of a blue moon relates having an extra full moon during a season. When a season has four full moons, the third full moon of the season is also called a blue moon, or a seasonal blue moon to help distinguish between the other definition.

There was not a calendar blue moon in 1981 because none of the months had 2 full moons that year.

1981 Equinoxes and Solstices

Below are the dates for the equinoxes and solstices from 1981. The Spring Equinox and March full moon fell on the same date. The peak of the full moon occurred a few hours prior to the equinox.

The Winter 1980-1981 season had four full moons because the peak of the December 1980 full moon occurred a few hours after the Winter Solstice and the March 1981 full moon peaked a few hours prior to the Spring Equinox. The February 1981 full moon was considered a seasonal blue moon as it was the third full moon in a season with four full moons.

All of the other 1981 seasons had three full moons.

The 1981 dates of the equinoxes and solstices were:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 1981 at 1:03 PM EST or 5:03 PM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 1981 at 7:45 AM EDT or 11:45 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 1981 at 11:05 PM EDT or September 23, 1981 at 3:05 AM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 1981 at 5:51 PM EST or 10:51 PM UTC

The first full moon after Spring Equinox 1981 was on Sunday April 19, 1981 at 3:59 AM EST or 7:59 AM UTC. It was the April 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Pink Moon.

The first full moon after the Summer Solstice 1981 was on Friday July 17, 1981 at 12:39 AM EDT or 4:39 AM UTC. It was the July 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Buck Moon.

The first full moon after the Autumn Equinox 1981 was on Tuesday October 13, 1981 at 8:49 AM EDT or 12:49 PM UTC. It was the October 1981 Full Moon, also called the Full Hunter’s Moon.

The first full moon after the Winter Solstice 1981 was on Saturday January 9, 1982 2:53 PM EST or 7:53 PM UTC. It was the January 1982 full moon because the December 1981 full moon occurred before the Winter Solstice in 1981.

1981 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 1981 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (US Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 6, 1981 2:24 AM ESTJanuary 6, 1981 7:24 AM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 13, 1981 5:10 AM ESTJanuary 13, 1981 10:10 AM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 20, 1981 2:39 AM ESTJanuary 20, 1981 7:39 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 27, 1981 11:19 PM ESTJanuary 28, 1981 4:19 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 4, 1981 5:14 PM ESTFebruary 4, 1981 10:14 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 11, 1981 12:49 PM ESTFebruary 11, 1981 5:49 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 18, 1981 5:58 PM ESTFebruary 18, 1981 10:58 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 26, 1981 8:14 PM ESTFebruary 27, 1981 1:14 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 6, 1981 5:31 AM ESTMarch 6, 1981 10:31 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 12, 1981 9:50 PM ESTMarch 13, 1981 1:50 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 20, 1981 11:22 AM ESTMarch 20, 1981 3:22 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 28, 1981 3:34 PM ESTMarch 28, 1981 7:34 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 4, 1981 4:19 PM ESTApril 4, 1981 8:19 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 11, 1981 7:11 AM ESTApril 11, 1981 11:11 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 19, 1981 3:59 AM ESTApril 19, 1981 7:59 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 27, 1981 6:15 AM EDTApril 27, 1981 10:15 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 4, 1981 12:19 AM EDTMay 4, 1981 4:19 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 10, 1981 6:22 PM EDTMay 10, 1981 10:22 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 18, 1981 8:04 PM EDTMay 19, 1981 12:04 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 26, 1981 5:00 PM EDTMay 26, 1981 9:00 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 2, 1981 7:32 AM EDTJune 2, 1981 11:32 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 9, 1981 7:33 AM EDTJune 9, 1981 11:33 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 17, 1981 11:05 AM EDTJune 17, 1981 3:05 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 25, 1981 12:25 AM EDTJune 25, 1981 4:25 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 1, 1981 3:03 PM EDTJuly 1, 1981 7:03 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 8, 1981 10:40 PM EDTJuly 9, 1981 2:40 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 17, 1981 12:39 AM EDTJuly 17, 1981 4:39 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 24, 1981 5:40 AM EDTJuly 24, 1981 9:40 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 30, 1981 11:52 PM EDTJuly 31, 1981 3:52 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 7, 1981 3:26 PM EDTAugust 7, 1981 7:26 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 15, 1981 12:37 PM EDTAugust 15, 1981 4:37 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 22, 1981 10:16 AM EDTAugust 22, 1981 2:16 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 29, 1981 10:44 AM EDTAugust 29, 1981 2:44 PM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 6, 1981 9:26 AM EDTSeptember 6, 1981 1:26 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 13, 1981 11:09 PM EDTSeptember 14, 1981 3:09 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 20, 1981 3:48 PM EDTSeptember 20, 1981 7:48 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 28, 1981 12:07 AM EDTSeptember 28, 1981 4:07 AM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 6, 1981 3:45 AM EDTOctober 6, 1981 7:45 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 13, 1981 8:49 AM EDTOctober 13, 1981 12:49 PM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 19, 1981 11:41 PM EDTOctober 20, 1981 3:41 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 27, 1981 3:13 PM ESTOctober 27, 1981 8:13 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 4, 1981 8:09 PM ESTNovember 5, 1981 1:09 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 11, 1981 5:26 PM ESTNovember 11, 1981 10:26 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 18, 1981 9:54 AM ESTNovember 18, 1981 2:54 PM UTC
November New MoonNovember 26, 1981 9:38 AM ESTNovember 26, 1981 2:38 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 4, 1981 11:22 AM ESTDecember 4, 1981 4:22 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 11, 1981 3:41 AM ESTDecember 11, 1981 8:41 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 18, 1981 12:47 AM ESTDecember 18, 1981 5:47 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 26, 1981 5:10 AM ESTDecember 26, 1981 10:10 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 1981 Full Moon Calendar to help you review the moons in the past.

How many full moons were in 1981?

There were 12 full moons in 1981 with one full moon each month of the year. There was not a calendar blue moon that year, which would have increased the total number of annual full moons.

When was the first full moon of 1981?

The first full moon of 1981 was on Tuesday January 20, 1981 at 2:39 AM EST or 7:39 AM UTC. It was called the Full Wolf Moon. It was also the second full moon of the Winter 1980-1981 season.

Future Full Moon Calendars