Full Wolf Moon 2022: the January Full Moon

Mark your calendars for the next Full Wolf Moon in 2022, the full moon that occurs every year in January. The next Full Wolf Moon will be on Monday January 17, 2022 18:48 EST or 23:48 UTC.

The last Full Wolf Moon was on Thursday, January 28, 2021 14:16 EST or 19:16 UTC.

For more information about the upcoming and past wolf moons, check out the dates below based on the data provided by NASA.

Picture of the moon to look at the Full Wolf Moon 2022 date: the January 2022 Full Moon

Why the January Full Moon is called the Full Wolf Moon

Nature generally inspires the names of the full moons. The January full moon is referred to as the Full Wolf Moon, named for wolves howling at the moon.

Also to note, the January Full Moon has a few other names including: the Old Moon, Ice Moon, Moon After Yule, and Full Snow Moon. You may notice the February Full Moon is referred to as the Full Snow Moon. Sometimes the names overlap depending on the source.

When is the Full Wolf Moon in 2022?

The 2022 Full Wolf Moon will be on Monday January 17, 2022 18:48 EST or 23:48 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December full moon will occur a few days prior to the Winter Equinox.

The full moon that follows will be the Full Snow Moon in February.

Related: Full Moon Calendar for 2022

When was the Full Wolf Moon in 2021?

The last Full Wolf Woon was in January 2021 on Thursday, January 28, 2021 14:16 EST. This was the second full moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

Related: Full Moon Calendar for 2021

Future January Full Moons for 2022 to 2025

Here is a list of the next four Full Wolf Moons for 2022 to 2025.

YearDay of the weekFuture January Moons
2022MondayJanuary 17, 2022 18:48 EST
2023FridayJanuary 6, 2023 18:08 EST
2024ThursdayJanuary 25, 2024 12:54 EST
2025MondayJanuary 13, 2025 17:27 EST

Full Wolf Moon 2022

TheĀ 2023 Full Wolf Moon will be on Monday January 17, 2022 18:48 EST or 23:48 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season as the December full moon will occur a few days prior to the Winter Equinox.

Full Wolf Moon 2023

The 2023 Full Wolf Moon will be on Friday January 6, 2023 18:08 EST or 23:08 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season as the December 2022 full moon occurred prior to the Winter Equinox.

Full Wolf Moon 2024

TheĀ 2024 Full Wolf Moon will be on Thursday January 25, 2024 12:54 EST or 17:54 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season as the December 2023 full moon occurred after the Winter Equinox.

Past January Full Moons 2015 to 2021

And here is a list of the January full moons that occurred from 2015 to 2021.

January has 31 days which means two full moons can happen in the month. When the dates align just enough, the month’s regular full moon is accompanied by a blue moon.

In the recent past, the 2018 Full Wolf Moon started off the year on January 1st. As a result, January 2018 also ended with a second full moon or the January 2018 blue moon.

Depending on where you are located sometimes a blue moon will occur in one timezone but not in another.

YearDay of the weekPast January Moons
2015SundayJanuary 4, 2015 23:53 EST
2016SaturdayJanuary 23, 2016 20:46 EST
2017ThursdayJanuary 12, 2017 06:34 EST
2018MondayJanuary 1, 2018 21:24 EST
2019MondayJanuary 21, 2019 00:16 EST
2020FridayJanuary 10, 2020 14:21 EST
2021ThursdayJanuary 28, 2021 14:16 EST

Additional Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.

Pin for later

January Full Moon Dates Past and future for the Full Wolf Moon