Full Flower Moon, the May Full Moon

Home » Full Moon Name » Full Flower Moon, the May Full Moon

Mark your calendars for the next Full Flower Moon in 2022. The 2022 Full Flower Moon will be on Monday, May 16, 2022 00:14 EST. And the last Full Flower Moon was the May 2021 Full Moon on Wednesday, May 26, 2021 07:14 EST based on the data provided by NASA.

More information about future and past flower moons is below.

Picture of the Full Flower Moon 2022, the May Full Moon

Why the May Full Moon is called the Full Flower Moon

Of all the Full Moon Names, this one probably doesn’t come as a surprise. Welcome spring and its flowers. As the say goes, “April showers bring May flowers”. So while the April full moon is named the Full Pink Moon, not related to rain, the May full moon name follows the saying nicely.

When is the Full Flower Moon in 2022?

The 2022 Full Flower Moon will be on Monday, May 16, 2022 00:14 EST or 05:14 UTC. It will be the second full moon of the Spring 2022 season. There will also be a Total Lunar Eclipse at the same time as the full moon, technically 3 minutes after the full moon peak.

Related: Full Moon Calendar for 2022

When was the Full Flower Moon in 2021?

The 2021 Full Flower Moon was on Wednesday, May 26, 2021 07:14 EST or 11:14 UTC. It was the third full moon of the Spring 2021 season.

Related: Full Moon Calendar for 2021

Future May Full Moons for 2022 to 2025

Here is a list of the next five March Full Moons for 2022 to 2025.

YearDate
2022May 16, 2022 00:14 EST
2023May 5, 2023 13:34 EST
2024May 23, 2024 09:53 EST
2025May 12, 2025 12:56 EST

Past May Full Moons 2015 to 2021

And here is a list of the six May full moons that occurred from 2015 to 2021.

Depending on where you are located sometimes the full moon will shift dates between timezones.