Full Buck Moon 2021: the July Full Moon

Mark your calendars for the Full Buck Moon 2021, the full moon that occurs in July. The next Full Buck Moon will be on Friday July 23, 2021 22:37 EST or July 24, 2021 02:37 UTC. The last Full Buck Moon was on Sunday July 5, 2020 00:44 EST or 5:44 UTC.

A full moon occurs when the Earth is directly between the Sun and Moon so that the moon looks completely illuminated when you look at it. It happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average.

For more dates of this full moon, check out the information below.

Picture of the Full Buck Moon 2021, the July Full Moon

Why the July Full Moon is called the Full Buck Moon

The July Full Moon nickname is probably not one you would have guessed. This full moon name comes from the time of year when the antlers start to appear on bucks (male deer).

When is the Full Buck Moon in 2021?

Mark your calendar for the next Full Buck Moon. The 2021 Full Buck Moon will be on Friday, July 23, 2021 22:37 EST based on the data provided by NASA. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

Related: Full Moon Calendar for 2021

Future Full Buck Moons for 2021 to 2025

Here is a list of the next five Buck Full Moons for 2021 to 2025.

YearDay of the weekFuture Full Buck Moons
2021FridayJuly 23, 2021 22:37 EST
2022WednesdayJuly 13, 2022 14:37 EST
2023MondayJuly 3, 2023 07:39 EST
2024SundayJuly 21, 2024 06:17 EST
2025ThursdayJuly 10, 2025 16:37 EST

Full Buck Moon 2021

The 2021 Full Buck Moon will be on Friday July 23, 2021 22:37 EST or July 24, 2021 03:37 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2021 season.

Full Buck Moon 2022

The 2022 Full Buck Moon will be on Wednesday July 13, 2022 14:37 ET or 19:37 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2022 season as the June full moon will happen prior to the Summer Solistice.

Full Buck Moon 2023

The 2023 Full Buck Moon will be on Saturday July 3, 2023 07:39 EST or 11:39 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2023 season as the June full moon occurred prior to the Summer Solstice.

Full Buck Moon 2024

The 2024 Full Buck Moon will be on Monday July 19, 2024 06:17 EST or 11:17 UTC. This will be the second full moon of the Summer 2024 season.

Full Buck Moon 2025

The 2025 Full Buck Moon will be on Thursday July 10, 2025 16:37 EST or 21:37 UTC. This will be the first full moon of the Summer 2025 season.

Past Buck Full Moons 2015 to 2020

And here is a list of the six Full Buck Moons, the July Full moon, that occurred from 2015 to 2020. In July 2015 there was also a blue moon to close out the month on July 31st.

Depending on where you are located sometimes the full moon will shift dates between timezones.

YearDay of the weekPast Full Buck Moons
2015WednesdayJuly 1, 2015 22:20 EST
2016TuesdayJuly 19, 2016 18:57 EST
2017SundayJuly 9, 2017 00:07 EST
2018FridayJuly 27, 2018 16:21 EST
2019TuesdayJuly 16, 2019 17:38 EST
2020SundayJuly 5, 2020 00:44 EST

Additional Full Moon Calendars

And if you’re looking for when the full moon occurs for the rest of the year, check out these future full moon calendars.