Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2029 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2029 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2029 Calendar has 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

The 12 new moons in 2029 will be on:

  1. January 14, 2029, new moon in Capricorn
  2. February 13, 2029, new moon in Aquarius
  3. March 15, 2029, new moon in pisces
  4. April 13, 2029, new moon in Aries
  5. May 13, 2029, new moon in Taurus
  6. June 11, 2029 (June 12 UTC), new moon in Gemini
  7. July 11, 2029, new moon in Cancer
  8. August 9, 2029 (August 10 UTC), new moon in Leo
  9. September 8, 2029, new moon in Virgo
  10. October 7, 2029, new moon in Libra
  11. November 5, 2029 (November 6 UTC), new moon in Scorpio
  12. December 5, 2029, new moon in Sagittarius

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2029 dates? Take a look at each month, the date of each new moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the New Moons 2029 Calendar Dates

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

When are the new moons in 2029?

For 2029, there will be 12 new moons. The year starts off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to only have 1 new moon per month. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates of the 2029 New Moons are:

January 14, 2029

The January 2029 new moon will be on Sunday January 14, 2029 at 12:24 PM EST or 5:24 PM UTC. The first new moon of 2029 will be the new moon in Capricorn, and also called the New Wolf Moon. This will be the first new moon of the Winter 2028-2029 season as the first new moon after the Winter Solstice. The new moon in December 2028 will be part of the Autumn season.

February 13, 2029

The February 2029 new moon will be on Tuesday February 13, 2029 at 5:31 AM EST or 10:31 AM UTC. The second 2029 new moon will be the new moon in Aquarius and, also called the New Snow Moon. This will be the second new moon of the Winter 2028-2029 season as the second new moon after the Winter Solstice.

March 15, 2029

The March 2029 new moon will be on Thursday March 15, 2029 at 12:19 AM EDT or 5:19 AM UTC. The third new moon in 2029 will be the new moon in pisces and also called the New Worm Moon. This will be the third and last new moon of the Winter 2028-2029 season as it occurs less than a week before the Spring Equinox 2029.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) will be on Tuesday March 20, 2029 4:01 AM EDT or 9:01 AM UTC. There will be 3 new moons during the spring season.

April 13, 2029

The April 2029 new moon will be on Friday April 13, 2029 at 5:40 PM EDT or 10:40 PM UTC. It will be the new moon in Aries and also called the New Pink Moon. This will be the first new moon of the Spring 2029 season as the first new moon after the Spring Equinox.

May 13, 2029

The May 2029 New Moon will be on Sunday May 13, 2029 at 9:42 AM EDT or 2:42 PM UTC. It will be the new moon in Taurus and also called the New Flower Moon. It will be the second new moon of the Spring 2029 season as the second new moon after the Spring Equinox.

June 11, 2029 (June 12 UTC)

The June 2029 New Moon will be on Monday June 11, 2029 11:51 PM EDT or June 12, 2029 4:51 AM UTC. It will be the new moon in Gemini, and also called the New Strawberry Moon. This will be the third and last new moon of the Spring 2029 season as it occurs more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

There will also be a Partial Solar Eclipse along with the new moon, 15 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Wednesday June 20, 2029 9:48 PM EDT or June 21, 2029 2:48 AM UTC. There will be 3 new moons during the Summer 2029 season.

July 11, 2029

The July 2029 new moon will be on Wednesday July 11, 2029 at 11:51 AM EDT or 4:51 PM UTC. The seventh new moon of 2029 will be the new moon in Cancer, and also called the New Sturgeon Moon. This will be the first new moon of the Summer 2029 season as the first new moon after the Summer Solstice.

There will also be a Partial Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 15 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 9, 2029 (August 10 UTC)

The August 2029 new moon will be on Thursday August 9, 2029 at 9:56 PM EDT or August 10, 2029 2:56 AM UTC. The eighth 2029 new moon will be the new moon in Leo, and also called the New Sturgeon Moon. This will be the second new moon of the Summer 2029 season as the second new moon after the Summer Solstice.

September 8, 2029

The September 2029 new moon will be on Saturday September 8, 2029 at 6:44 AM EDT or 11:44 AM UTC. The ninth new moon in 2029 will be the new moon in Virgo and also called the New Harvest Moon. This will be the third and last new moon of the Summer 2029 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for Saturday September 22, 2029 1:37 PM EDT or 6:37 PM UTC. There will be 3 new moons during the Fall 2029 season.

October 7, 2029

The October 2029 New Moon will be on Sunday October 7, 2029 at 3:14 PM EDT or 8:14 PM UTC. The tenth 2029 new moon will be the new moon in Libra and also called the New Hunter’s Moon. It will be the first new moon of the Autumn 2029 season as the first new moon after the Autumnal Equinox.

November 5, 2029 (November 6 UTC)

The November 2029 New Moon will be on Monday November 5, 2029 at 11:24 PM EST or November 6, 2029 4:24 AM UTC. The eleventh new moon of 2029 will be the new moon in Scorpio and also called the New Beaver Moon. It will be the second new moon of the Autumn as the second new moon after the Autumnal Equinox 2029.

December 5, 2029

The December 2029 New Moon will be on Wednesday December 5, 2029 at 9:52 AM EST or 2:52 PM UTC. The twefth and last 2029 new moon will be the new moon in Sagittarius, and also called the New Cold Moon. It will be the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2029 season.

There will also be a Partial Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Friday December 21, 2029 at 9:14 AM EST or 2:14 PM UTC. The December new moon will occur before the Winter season begins. There will be 3 new moons during the Winter 2029-2030 season.

Will there be a black moon in 2029?

No, 2029 will not have a black moon, which is rare given there are multiple definitions for the event.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the each month will have 1 new moon and each season will have 3 new moons. February 2029 will have both a new and full moon.

What are the names of 2029 new moons?

The names of the 2029 new moons will be:

  1. January: New Wolf Moon
  2. February: New Snow Moon
  3. March: New Worm Moon
  4. April: New Pink Moon
  5. May: New Flower Moon
  6. June: New Strawberry Moon
  7. July: New Buck Moon
  8. August: New Sturgeon Moon
  9. September: New Harvest Moon
  10. October: New Hunter’s Moon
  11. November: New Beaver Moon
  12. December: New Cold Moon

For 2029, the new moon for the full moon cycle will occur in the same month, meaning each month will have name matches.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

When will be the first new moons of the 2029 seasons?

In 2029 all of the seasons will have three full moons. There will not be a seasonal black moon on the calendar for the year.

2029 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2029 equinoxes and solstices will be on the following dates:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 2029 4:01 AM EDT (9:01 AM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2029 9:48 PM EDT (June 21, 2029 2:48 AM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2029 1:37 PM EDT (6:37 PM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2029 9:14 AM EST (2:14 PM UTC)

The first new moon of Spring 2029

The first new moon of Spring 2029 will be on Friday April 13, 2029 5:40 PM ET or 10:40 PM UTC. It will be the first new moon after Spring Equinox 2029. The first spring new moon will be the April New Moon, also called the New Pink Moon, and will be the new moon in Aries. The spring season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon of Summer 2029

The first new moon of Summer 2029 will be on Wednesday July 11, 2029 11:51 AM ET or 4:51 PM UTC. It will be the first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2029. The first summer new moon will be the July New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, and will be the new moon in Cancer. The summer season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon of Autumn 2029

The first new moon of Autumn 2029 will be on Sunday October 7, 2029 3:14 PM ET or 8:14 PM UTC. It will be the first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2029. The first Fall new moon will be the October New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, and will be the new moon in Libra. It will also be a new supermoon. The autumn season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon of Winter 2029-2030

The first new moon of Winter 2029-2030 will be in the next calendar year on Thursday January 3, 2030 9:49 PM ET or January 4, 2030 2:49 AM UTC because the December 2029 new moon occurs before the solstice. It will be the first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2029. The first new moon of Winter will be the January 2030 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon. The winter season will have 3 new moons.

2029 Moon Phases in Eastern Time and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2029 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter that were on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseUS Eastern Date & TimeUTC Date & Time
January Last QuarterJanuary 7, 2029 8:26 AM ESTJanuary 7, 2029 1:26 PM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 14, 2029 12:24 PM ESTJanuary 14, 2029 5:24 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 22, 2029 2:23 PM ESTJanuary 22, 2029 7:23 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 30, 2029 1:03 AM ESTJanuary 30, 2029 6:03 AM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 5, 2029 4:52 PM ESTFebruary 5, 2029 9:52 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 13, 2029 5:31 AM ESTFebruary 13, 2029 10:31 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 21, 2029 10:10 AM ESTFebruary 21, 2029 3:10 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 28, 2029 12:10 PM ESTFebruary 28, 2029 or 5:10 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 7, 2029 2:52 AM ESTMarch 7, 2029 7:52 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 15, 2029 12:19 AM EDTMarch 15, 2029 5:19 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 23, 2029 3:33 AM EDTMarch 23, 2029 8:33 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 29, 2029 10:26 PM EDTMarch 30, 2029 3:26 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 5, 2029 3:51 PM EDTApril 5, 2029 8:51 PM UTC
April New MoonApril 13, 2029 5:40 PM EDTApril 13, 2029 10:40 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 21, 2029 3:50 PM EDTApril 21, 2029 8:50 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 28, 2029 6:37 AM EDTApril 28, 2029 11:37 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 5, 2029 5:48 AM EDTMay 5, 2029 10:48 AM UTC
May New MoonMay 13, 2029 9:42 AM EDTMay 13, 2029 2:42 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 21, 2029 12:16 AM EDTMay 21, 2029 5:16 AM UTC
May Full MoonMay 27, 2029 2:37 PM EDTMay 27, 2029 7:37 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 3, 2029 9:19 PM EDTJune 4, 2029 2:19 AM UTC
June New MoonJune 11, 2029 11:51 PM EDTJune 12, 2029 4:51 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 19, 2029 5:54 AM EDTJune 19, 2029 10:54 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 25, 2029 11:22 PM EDTJune 26, 2029 4:22 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 3, 2029 1:58 PM EDTJuly 3, 2029 6:58 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 11, 2029 11:51 AM EDTJuly 11, 2029 4:51 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 18, 2029 10:14 AM EDTJuly 18, 2029 3:14 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 25, 2029 9:36 AM EDTJuly 25, 2029 2:36 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 2, 2029 7:16 AM EDTAugust 2, 2029 12:16 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 9, 2029 9:56 PM EDTAugust 10, 2029 2:56 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 16, 2029 2:55 PM EDTAugust 16, 2029 7:55 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 23, 2029 9:51 PM EDTAugust 24, 2029 2:51 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 1, 2029 12:33 AM EDTSeptember 1, 2029 5:33 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 8, 2029 6:44 AM EDTSeptember 8, 2029 11:44 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 14, 2029 9:29 PM EDTSeptember 15, 2029 2:29 AM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 22, 2029 12:29 PM EDTSeptember 22, 2029 5:29 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 30, 2029 4:57 PM EDTSeptember 30, 2029 9:57 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 7, 2029 3:14 PM EDTOctober 7, 2029 8:14 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 14, 2029 7:09 AM EDTOctober 14, 2029 12:09 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 22, 2029 5:28 AM EDTOctober 22, 2029 10:28 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 30, 2029 6:32 AM EDTOctober 30, 2029 11:32 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 5, 2029 11:24 PM ESTNovember 6, 2029 4:24 AM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 12, 2029 7:35 PM ESTNovember 13, 2029 12:35 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 20, 2029 11:03 PM ESTNovember 21, 2029 4:03 AM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 28, 2029 6:48 PM ESTNovember 28, 2029 11:48 PM UTC
December New MoonDecember 5, 2029 9:52 AM ESTDecember 5, 2029 2:52 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 12, 2029 12:49 PM ESTDecember 12, 2029 5:49 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 20, 2029 5:46 PM ESTDecember 20, 2029 10:46 PM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 28, 2029 4:49 AM ESTDecember 28, 2029 9:49 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2029 New Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many new moons will there be in 2029?

There will be 12 new moons in 2029 with one new moon each month of the year. Each month will have one new moon and each season will have three new moons.

When is the first new moon of 2029?

The first new moon of 2029 is on Sunday January 14, 2029 at 12:24 PM EST or 5:24 PM UTC. It will be the new moon in Capricorn and also called the New Wolf Moon. The January 14th new moon will be the first new moon of the Winter 2028-2029 season as the December 2028 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

What is the first new moon after the spring equinox 2029?

The first new moon after the Spring Equinox 2029 will be on Friday April 13, 2029 at 5:40 PM EDT or 10:40 PM UTC. The April 2029 new moon will be the new moon in Aries and also called the New Pink Moon.

When is the last new moon of 2029?

The last new moon of 2029 will be on Wednesday December 5, 2029 at 9:52 AM EST or 2:52 PM UTC. It will be the new moon in sagittarius and also called the Cold Wolf Moon. The December 5th new moon will be the last new moon of the Autumn 2029 season as the last new moon before the Winter Solstice in 2029.
New Moons 2029 Calendar