Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2028 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2028 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2028 Calendar has 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2028 will follow the usual pattern.

What are the 2028 New Moon Dates?

In 2028 there will be 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2028 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

New Moon 2028Date/Time (Eastern)Date/Time (UTC)New Moon Name
January New MoonJanuary 26, 2028 10:12 AM ETJanuary 26, 2028 3:12 PM UTCNew Snow Moon
February New MoonFebruary 25, 2028 5:37 AM ETFebruary 25, 2028 10:37 AM UTCNew Worm Moon
March New MoonMarch 26, 2028 12:31 AM ETMarch 26, 2028 5:31 AM UTCNew Pink Moon
April New MoonApril 24, 2028 3:47 PM ETApril 24, 2028 8:47 PM UTCNew Flower Moon
May New MoonMay 24, 2028 4:16 AM ETMay 24, 2028 9:16 AM UTCNew Strawberry Moon
June New MoonJune 22, 2028 2:28 PM ETJune 22, 2028 7:28 PM UTCNew Buck Moon
July New MoonJuly 21, 2028 11:02 PM ETJuly 22, 2028 4:02 AM UTCNew Sturgeon Moon
August New MoonAugust 20, 2028 6:44 AM ETAugust 20, 2028 11:44 AM UTCNew Corn Moon
September New MoonSeptember 18, 2028 2:24 PM ETSeptember 18, 2028 7:24 PM UTCNew Harvest Moon
October New MoonOctober 17, 2028 10:57 PM ETOctober 18, 2028 3:57 AM UTCNew Beaver Moon
November New MoonNovember 16, 2028 8:18 AM ETNovember 16, 2028 1:18 PM UTCNew Cold Moon
December New MoonDecember 15, 2028 9:06 PM ETDecember 16, 2028 2:06 AM UTCNew Blue Moon

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2028 dates? Take a look at each month, the date of each new moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of the moon for the 2028 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2028

For 2028, there will be 12 new moons. The year starts off with its first new moon later in January setting up the year to only have 1 new moon per month. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 2028 New Moons:

January 26, 2028 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2028 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, will be on Wednesday January 26, 2028 10:12 AM ET or 3:12 PM UTC. This will be the second new moon of the Winter 2027-2028 season as the December 2027 new moon will happen a few days after the Winter Solstice.

There will also be an Annular Solar Eclipse along with the new moon, 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

February 25, 2028 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2028 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, will be on Friday February 25, 2028 5:37 AM ET or 10:37 AM UTC. This will be the third and last new moon of the Winter 2027-2028 season.

March 26, 2028 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2028 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, will be on Sunday March 26, 2028 12:31 AM ET or 5:31 AM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Spring 2028 season as it occurs about a day after the Spring Equinox 2028.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) will be on Sunday March 19, 2028 10:18 PM ET or March 20, 2028 3:18 AM UTC. There will be 3 new moons during the Spring 2028 season.

April 24, 2028 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2028 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, will be on Monday April 24, 2028 3:47 PM ET or 8:47 PM UTC. This will be the second new moon of the Spring 2028 season.

May 24, 2028 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2028 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, will be on Wednesday May 24, 2028 4:16 AM ET or 9:16 AM UTC. It will be the third and last new moon of the Spring 2028 season.

June 22, 2028 (New Buck Moon)

The June 2028 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, will be on Thursday June 22, 2028 2:28 PM ET or 7:28 PM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Summer 2028 season as it occurs a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Tuesday June 20, 2028 4:02 PM ET or 9:02 PM UTC. There will be 4 new moons during the Summer 2028 season.

July 21, 2028 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2028 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, will be on Friday July 21, 2028 11:02 PM ET or July 22, 2028 4:02 AM UTC. This will be the second new moon of the Summer 2028 season as the June new moon will happen a few days after the Summer Solstice.

There will also be a Total Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 6 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 20, 2028 (New Corn Moon)

The August 2028 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, will be on Sunday August 20, 2028 6:44 AM ET or 11:44 AM UTC. This will be the third new moon of the Summer 2028 season. It will also be considered a seasonal black moon because it will be the third new moon in a four new moon season.

September 18, 2028 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2028 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, will be on Monday September 18, 2028 2:24 PM ET or 7:24 PM UTC. This will be the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 2028 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for Friday September 22, 2028 7:45 AM ET or 12:45 PM UTC. There will be three new moons during the Fall 2028 season.

October 17, 2028 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2028 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, will be on Tuesday October 17, 2028 10:57 PM ET or October 18, 2028 3:57 AM UTC. It will be the first new moon of the Autumn 2028 season.

November 16, 2028 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2028 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, will be on Thursday November 16, 2028 8:18 AM ET or 1:18 PM UTC. It will be the second new moon of the Autumn 2028 season.

December 15, 2028 (New Blue Moon)

The December 2028 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, will be on Friday December 15, 2028 9:06 PM ET or December 16, 2028 2:06 AM UTC. It will be the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2028 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Thursday December 21, 2028 3:20 AM ET or 8:20 AM UTC. The December new moon will occur before the Winter season begins.

Will there be a black moon in 2028?

In the 2028 summer season, it will have a seasonal black moon as it will have 4 new moons. The August new moon will also be considered a black moon because it will be the third new moon that season .

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the each month will have 1 new moon, and February will have both a new and full moon. The August new moon will be considered a seasonal black moon as the third new moon in a season of four.

What are the names of 2028 new moons?

The names of the 2028 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Blue Moon

For all of 2028, the new moon for the full moon cycle will occur in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The December new moon will be called a New Blue Moon because December 2028 will have a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

2028 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2028 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2028 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 19, 2028 10:18 PM ETMarch 20, 2028 3:18 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 2028 4:02 PM ET9:02 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2028 7:45 AM ET12:45 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2028 3:20 AM ET8:20 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2028 will be on Sunday March 26, 2028 12:31 AM ET or 5:31 AM UTC. The spring season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2028 will be on Thursday June 22, 2028 2:28 PM ET or 7:28 PM UTC. The summer season will have 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2028 will be on Tuesday October 17, 2028 10:57 PM ET or October 18, 2028 3:57 AM UTC. The autumn season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2028 will be on Sunday January 14, 2029 12:24 PM ET or 5:24 PM UTC because the December 2028 new moon occurs before the solstice. The first winter new moon will wait until January 2029. The winter season will have 3 new moons.

New Moons 2028 Calendar