2027 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2027 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2027 Calendar has 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you track upcoming dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase, which occurs about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically, there are 12 new moons yearly, and 2027 will have an additional new moon over the usual pattern.

What are the 2027 New Moon Dates?

In 2027, there will be 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2027 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

New Moon 2027Date/Time (Eastern)Date/Time (UTC)New Moon Name
January New MoonJanuary 7, 2027 3:24 PM ETJanuary 7, 2027 8:24 PM UTCNew Wolf Moon
February New MoonFebruary 6, 2027 10:56 AM ETFebruary 6, 2027 3:56 PM UTCNew Snow Moon
March New MoonMarch 8, 2027 4:29 AM ETMarch 8, 2027 9:29 AM UTCNew Worm Moon
April New MoonApril 6, 2027 7:51 PM ETApril 7, 2027 12:51 AM UTCNew Pink Moon
May New MoonMay 6, 2027 6:59 AM ETMay 6, 2027 11:59 AM UTCNew Flower Moon
June New MoonJune 4, 2027 3:40 PM ETJune 4, 2027 8:40 PM UTCNew Strawberry Moon
July New MoonJuly 3, 2027 11:02 PM ETJuly 4, 2027 4:02 AM UTCNew Buck Moon
August New MoonAugust 2, 2027 6:05 AM ETAugust 2, 2027 11:05 AM UTCNew Sturgeon Moon
Second August New MoonAugust 31, 2027 1:41 PM ETAugust 31, 2027 6:41 PM UTCNew Harvest Moon
September New MoonSeptember 29, 2027 10:36 PM ETSeptember 30, 2027 3:36 AM UTCNew Hunter’s Moon
October New MoonOctober 29, 2027 9:36 AM ETOctober 29, 2027 2:36 PM UTCNew Beaver Moon
November New MoonNovember 27, 2027 10:24 PM ETNovember 28, 2027 3:24 AM UTCNew Cold Moon
December New MoonDecember 27, 2027 3:12 PM ETDecember 27, 2027 8:12 PM UTCNew Wolf Moon

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2027 dates? Take a look at each month, the date of each new moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of the moon for the 2027 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2027

For 2027, there will be 13 new moons. The year starts with its first new moon in early January, setting up the year to have a month with 2 new moons. Here’s a quick summary of the new moons’ dates and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 2027 New Moons:

January 7, 2027 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2027 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, will be on Thursday, January 7, 2027, at 3:24 PM ET or 8:24 PM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Winter 2026-2027 season, as the December 2026 new moon will happen before the Winter Solstice.

February 6, 2027 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2027 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, will be on Saturday February 6, 2027 10:56 AM ET or 3:56 PM UTC. This will be the second new moon of the Winter 2026-2027 season.

There will also be an Annular Solar Eclipse along with the new moon, 4 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

March 8, 2027 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2027 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, will be on Monday March 8, 2027 4:29 AM ET or 9:29 AM UTC. This will be the third and last new moon of the Winter 2026-2027 season as it occurs almost two weeks before the Spring Equinox 2027.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) will be on Saturday, March 20, 2027, at 4:25 PM ET or 9:25 PM UTC. There will be three new moons during the 2027 Spring season.

April 6, 2027 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2027 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, will be on Tuesday April 6, 2027 7:51 PM ET or April 7, 2027 12:51 AM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Spring 2027 season.

May 6, 2027 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2027 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, will be on Thursday May 6, 2027 6:59 AM ET or 11:59 AM UTC. It will be the second new moon of the Spring 2027 season.

June 4, 2027 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2027 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, will be on Friday June 4, 2027 3:40 PM ET or 8:40 PM UTC. This will be the third and last new moon of the Spring 2027 season.

The Summer Solstice is on the calendar for Monday, June 21, 2027, 10:11 AM ET or 3:11 PM UTC. The 2027 Summer season will have 3 new moons.

July 3, 2027 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2027 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, will be on Saturday July 3, 2027 11:02 PM ET or July 4, 2027 4:02 AM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Summer 2027 season as the June new moon will happen before the Summer Solstice.

August 2, 2027 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The first August 2027 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, will be on Monday August 2, 2027 6:05 AM ET or 11:05 AM UTC. This will be the second new moon of the Summer 2027 season.

There will also be a Total Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 2 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

August 31, 2027 (New Harvest Moon)

The second August 2027 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, will be on Tuesday August 31, 2027 1:41 PM ET or 6:41 PM UTC. This will be the third new moon of the Summer 2027 season.

September 29, 2027 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 2027 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, will be on Wednesday September 29, 2027 10:36 PM ET or September 30, 2027 3:36 AM UTC. This will be the first new moon of the Autumn 2027 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for Thursday September 23, 2027 2:02 AM ET or 7:02 AM UTC. There will be 3 new moons during the Fall 2027 season.

October 29, 2027 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2027 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, will be on Friday October 29, 2027 9:36 AM ET or 2:36 PM UTC. It will be the second new moon of the Autumn 2027 season.

November 27, 2027 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2027 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, will be on Saturday November 27, 2027 10:24 PM ET or November 28, 2027 3:24 AM UTC. It will be the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2027 season.

December 27, 2027 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2027 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, will be on Monday December 27, 2027 3:12 PM ET or 8:12 PM UTC. It will be the first new moon of the Winter 2027-2028 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Monday December 27, 2027 3:12 PM ET or 8:12 PM UTC. The December new moon will occur after the Winter season begins. The Winter season will have 3 new moons.

Will there be a black moon in 2027?

In 2027, August will have a black moon because it will have 2 new moons.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month with only a new or full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year, each season will have 3 new moons, and February will have both a new and full moon. August will have two new moons, with late August New Moon considered a black moon.

What are the names of 2027 new moons?

The names of the 2027 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August (second): New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For about the second half of 2027, the new moon for the full moon cycle will occur in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon will be closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

2027 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2027 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2027 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2027 4:25 PM ET9:25 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2027 10:11 AM ET3:11 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2027 2:02 AM ET7:02 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2027 9:43 PM ETDecember 22, 2027 2:43 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2027 will be on Tuesday April 6, 2027 7:51 PM ET or April 7, 2027 12:51 AM UTC. The spring season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2027 will be on Saturday July 3, 2027 11:02 PM ET or July 4, 2027 4:02 AM UTC. The summer season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2027 will be on Wednesday September 29, 2027 10:36 PM ET or September 30, 2027 3:36 AM UTC. The autumn season will have 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2027 will be on Monday, December 27, 2027, at 3:12 PM ET or 8:12 PM UTC because the December 2027 new moon occurs after the solstice. The winter season will have three new moons, with the second new moon in January 2028.

New Moons 2027 Calendar