2024 New Moons: Calendar of 13 new moons

The New Moon 2024 Calendar includes 13 new moons, solar eclipses, and solstices and, equinoxes upcoming during the year.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

What are the 2024 New Moon Dates?

2024 has 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2024 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

2024 New MoonDate & Time (Eastern)Date & Time (UTC)New Moon Name
January New MoonJanuary 11, 2024 6:57 AM ETJanuary 11, 2024 11:57 AM UTCNew Wolf Moon
February New MoonFebruary 9, 2024 5:59 PM ETFebruary 9, 2024 10:59 PM UTCNew Snow Moon
March New MoonMarch 10, 2024 4:00 AM ETMarch 10, 2024 9:00 AM UTCNew Worm Moon
April New MoonApril 8, 2024 2:21 PM ETApril 8, 2024 7:21 PM UTCNew Pink Moon
May New MoonMay 7, 2024 11:22 PM ETMay 8, 2024 4:22 AM UTCNew Flower Moon
June New MoonJune 6, 2024 8:38 AM ETJune 6, 2024 1:38 PM UTCNew Strawberry Moon
July New MoonJuly 5, 2024 6:57 PM ETJuly 5, 2024 11:57 PM UTCNew Buck Moon
August New MoonAugust 4, 2024 7:13 AM ETAugust 4, 2024 12:13 PM UTCNew Sturgeon Moon
September New MoonSeptember 2, 2024 9:55 PM ETSeptember 3, 2024 2:55 AM UTCNew Harvest Moon
October New MoonOctober 2, 2024 2:49 PM ETOctober 2, 2024 7:49 PM UTCNew Hunter’s Moon
November New MoonNovember 1, 2024 7:47 AM ETNovember 1, 2024 12:47 PM UTCNew Beaver Moon
December New MoonDecember 1, 2024 1:21 AM ETDecember 1, 2024 6:21 AM UTCNew Cold Moon
Second December New MoonDecember 30, 2024 5:27 PM ETDecember 30, 2024 11:27 PM UTCNew Wolf Moon

Related: 2024 Full Moons

Continue below for additional information on the 2024 dates.

Picture of moon for the 2024 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may be different, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

New Moon Calendar 2024

In 2024, there will be 13 new moons because the first new moon of the year was before mid-January. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates of 2024 New Moons are:

January 11, 2024 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2024 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, will be on Thursday January 11, 2024 6:57 AM ET or 11:57 AM UTC. It will be the first new moon of 2024 and the first new moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season. The prior new moon in December 203 will occur before the Winter 2023-2024 Solstice.

February 9, 2024 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2024 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, will be on Friday February 9, 2024 5:59 PM ET or 10:59 PM UTC. It will be the second new moon of the year and the second of the Winter 2023-2024 season.

March 10, 2024 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2024 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, will be on Sunday March 10, 2024 4:00 AM ET or 9:00 AM UTC. It will be the third new moon of the year and the third new moon of the Winter 2023-2024 season. It will occur more than a week before the Spring Equinox 2024.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) will be on Tuesday March 19, 2024 11:07 PM ET or March 20, 2024 4:07 AM UTC.

April 8, 2024 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2024 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, will be on Monday April 8, 2024 2:21 PM ET or 7:21 PM UTC. This is the fourth new moon of 2024, and the first new moon of the Spring 2024 season. There will also be a Total Solar Eclipse during the April new moon.

May 7, 2024 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2024 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, will be on Tuesday May 7, 2024 11:22 PM ET or May 8, 2024 4:22 AM UTC. It will be the fifth new moon of 2024 and the second new moon of the Spring 2024 season.

June 6, 2024 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2024 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, will be on Thursday June 6, 2024 8:38 AM ET or 1:38 PM UTC. It will be the sixth new moon of 2024, and the third new moon of the Spring 2024 season. It will occur almost two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The 2024 Summer Solstice will be on Thursday June 20, 2024 4:51 PM ET or 9:51 PM UTC.

July 5, 2024 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2024 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, will be on Friday July 5, 2024 6:57 PM ET or 11:57 PM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of 2024 and the first new moon of the Summer 2024 season.

August 4, 2024 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2024 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, will be on Sunday August 4, 2024 7:13 AM ET or 12:13 PM UTC. It will be the eighth new moon of 2024 and the second new moon of the Summer 2024 season.

September 2, 2024 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2024 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, will be on Monday September 2, 2024 9:55 PM ET or September 3, 2024 2:55 AM UTC. It will be the nineth new moon of 2024 and the third new moon of the Summer 2024 season.

The Autumn Equinox is on the calendar for Sunday September 22, 2024 8:44 AM ET or 1:44 PM UTC.

October 2, 2024 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2024 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, will be on Wednesday October 2, 2024 2:49 PM ET or 7:49 PM UTC. It will be the tenth new moon of 2024 and the first new moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

There will also be an Annular Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

November 1, 2024 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2024 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, will be on Friday November 1, 2024 7:47 AM ET or 12:47 PM UTC. It will be the eleventh new moon of 2024 and the second new moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

December 1, 2024 (New Cold Moon)

The first December 2024 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, will be on Sunday December 1, 2024 1:21 AM ET or 6:21 AM UTC. It will be the twelveth new moon of the year and third new moon of the Autumn 2024 season.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 2024 4:20 AM ET or 9:02 AM UTC. The First December new moon will occur before the Winter season begins. The second December new moon will be part of the Winter season.

December 30, 2024 (New Wolf Moon)

The second December 2024 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, will be on Monday December 30, 2024 5:27 PM ET or 11:27 PM UTC. It will be the thirteenth new moon of 2024 and the first new moon of the Winter 2024-2025 season.

What are the names of 2024 new moons?

The names of the 2024 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon
  • December: (second) New Wolf Moon

The new moons take their name based on the date of their associated full moon. Sometimes the new moon is in the same month as its full moon, while in others it’s in the month prior.

The September new moon is called the new Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon is closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Related: 2024 Full Moons

Will there be a black moon in 2024?

Yes there will be a black moon in December 2024 because the month will have two new moons. The second new moon in a month is considered a black moon by one of the definitions.

There are four potential definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. As a result, it’s not rare to have a black moon in a year. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month with two new moons
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

Because February has either 28 or 29 days, it’s the only calendar month that may not have both a new moon and a full moon in a given year.

2024 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2024 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January Last QuarterJanuary 3, 2024 10:30 PM ETJanuary 4, 2024 3:30 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 11, 2024 6:57 AM ET or 11:57 AM UTCJanuary 11, 2024 11:57 AM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 17, 2024 10:53 PM ETJanuary 18, 2024 3:53 AM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 25, 2024 5:54 PM UTCJanuary 25, 2024 5:54 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 2, 2024 6:18 PM ETFebruary 2, 2024 11:18 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 9, 2024 5:59 PM ETFebruary 9, 2024 10:59 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 16, 2024 10:01 AM ETFebruary 16, 2024 3:01 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 24, 2024 7:30 AM ETFebruary 24, 2024 12:30 PM UTC
March Last Quarter
March 3, 2024 10:24 AM ETMarch 3, 2024 3:24 PM UTC
March New MoonMarch 10, 2024 4:00 AM ETMarch 10, 2024 9:00 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 17, 2024 12:11 AM ETMarch 17, 2024 5:11 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 25, 2024 3:00 AM ETMarch 25, 2024 8:00 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 1, 2024 11:15 PM ETApril 2, 2024 4:15 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 8, 2024 2:21 PM ETApril 8, 2024 7:21 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 15, 2024 3:13 PM ETApril 15, 2024 8:13 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 23, 2024 7:49 PM ETApril 24, 2024 12:49 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 1, 2024 7:27 AM ETMay 1, 2024 12:27 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 7, 2024 11:22 PM ETMay 8, 2024 4:22 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 15, 2024 7:48 AM ETMay 15, 2024 12:48 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 23, 2024 9:53 AM ETMay 23, 2024 2:53 PM UTC
June Last QuarterMay 30, 2024 1:13 PM ETMay 30, 2024 6:13 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 6, 2024 8:38 AM ETJune 6, 2024 1:38 PM UTC
June First QuarterJune 14, 2024 1:18 AM ETJune 14, 2024 6:18 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 21, 2024 9:08 PMJune 22, 2024 2:08 AM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 28, 2024 5:53 PM ETJune 28, 2024 10:53 PM UTC
July New MoonJuly 5, 2024 6:57 PM ETJuly 5, 2024 11:57 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 13, 2024 6:49 PM ETJuly 13, 2024 11:49 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 21, 2024 6:17 AM ETJuly 21, 2024 11:17 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 27, 2024 10:52 PM ETJuly 28, 2024 3:52 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 4, 2024 7:13 AM ETAugust 4, 2024 12:13 PM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 12, 2024 11:19 AM ETAugust 12, 2024 4:19 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 19, 2024 2:26 PM ETAugust 19, 2024 7:26 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 26, 2024 5:26 AM ETAugust 26, 2024 10:26 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 2, 2024 9:55 PM ETSeptember 3, 2024 2:55 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 11, 2024 2:06 AM ETSeptember 11, 2024 7:06 AM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 17, 2024 10:34 PM ETSeptember 18, 2024 3:34 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 24, 2024 2:50 PM ETSeptember 24, 2024 7:50 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 2, 2024 2:49 PM ETOctober 2, 2024 7:49 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 10, 2024 2:55 PM ETOctober 10, 2024 7:55 PM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 17, 2024 7:26 AM ETOctober 17, 2024 12:26 PM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 24, 2024 4:03 AM ETOctober 24, 2024 9:03 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 1, 2024 7:47 AM ETNovember 1, 2024 12:47 PM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 9, 2024 12:56 AM ETNovember 9, 2024 5:56 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 15, 2024 4:29 PM ETNovember 15, 2024 9:29 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 22, 2024 8:28 PM ETNovember 23, 2024 1:28 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 1, 2024 1:21 AM ETDecember 1, 2024 6:21 AM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 8, 2024 10:27 AM ETDecember 8, 2024 3:27 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 15, 2024 4:02 AM ETDecember 15, 2024 9:02 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 22, 2024 5:18 PM ETDecember 22, 2024 11:18 PM UTC
Second December New MoonDecember 30, 2024 5:27 PM ETDecember 30, 2024 11:27 PM UTC
How many new moons are there in 2024?

In 2024 there will be 13 new moons, with a second new moon in December, making that a black moon

Dark picture of the moon for the New Moons 2024