Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2023 New Moon Calendar of 12 new moons

2023 New Moon Calendar of 12 new moons

The 2023 New Moons 2023 Calendar shows you the date of the next new moon in 2023 and the new moons for the year. This year includes a black moon, solar eclipses, and three super new moons.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Picture of moon for the 2023 New Moon Calendar

The new moon calendar with the new moon dates of 2023 with peak times and dates for the year across the United States from New York To California include:

New Moon 2023New Moon NameU.S. Eastern TimeU.S. Central TimeU.S. Mountain TimeU.S. Pacific Time
January 21, 2023New Snow Moon3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST1:53 PM MST12:53 PM PST
February 20, 2023New Worm Moon2:06 AM EST1:06 AM CST12:06 AM MST11:06 PM PST
(February 19)
March 21, 2023New Pink Moon1:23 PM EDT12:23 PM CDT11:23 AM MDT10:23 AM MDT
April 20, 2023New Flower Moon12:12 AM EDT11:12 PM CDT
(April 19)
10:12 PM MDT
(April 19)
9:12 PM PDT
(April 19)
May 19, 2023New Strawberry Moon11:53 AM EDT10:53 AM CDT9:53 AM MDT8:53 AM PDT
June 18, 2023New Buck Moon12:37 AM EDT11:37 PM CDT
(June 17)
10:37 PM MDT
(June 17)
9:37 PM PDT
(June 17)
July 17, 2023New Sturgeon Moon2:32 PM EDT1:32 PM CDT1:32 PM MDT12:32 PM PDT
August 16, 2023New Blue Moon5:38 AM EDT4:38 AM CDT3:38 AM MDT2:38 AM PDT
September 14, 2023New Harvest Moon 9:40 PM EDT8:40 PM CDT7:40 PM MDT6:40 PM PDT
October 14, 2023New Hunter’s Moon1:55 PM EDT12:55 PM CDT11:55 PM MDT10:55 PM MDT
November 13, 2023New Beaver Moon4:27 AM EST3:27 AM CST2:27 AM MST1:27 AM PST
December 12, 2023New Cold Moon6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST4:32 PM MST3:32 PM PST

What are the new moon names for 2023?

The new moons get their name based on the date of their associated full moon. Sometimes the new moon is in the same month as its full moon, while in others, it’s in the month prior.

The new moon names for 2023 are:

  • New Snow Moon in January
  • New Worm Moon in February
  • New Pink Moon in March
  • New Flower Moon in April
  • New Strawberry Moon in May
  • New Buck Moon in June
  • New Sturgeon Moon in July
  • New Blue Moon in August
  • New Harvest Moon in September
  • New Hunter’s Moon in October
  • New Beaver Moon in November
  • New Cold Moon in December

New Moon 2023 Calendar by Month

The first new moon of the year was on January 21, setting the year up to have 12 new moons. On the schedule for this year are a seasonal black moon in May, three super new moons, and two solar eclipses. The following dates are based on the U.S. Eastern Timezone.

January 2023 New Moon

The first new moon of 2023 was on Saturday, January 21, 2023. The New Snow Moon was the second new moon of Winter 2022-2023. The January 21 new moon was the new moon in Capricorn.

February 2023 New Moon

The new moon in February was on Monday, February 20, 2023. The New Worm Moon was the new moon in Pisces. The February new moon was the third new moon of Winter 2022-2023.

March 2023 New Moon

The new moon in March was on Tuesday, March 21, 2023. The New Pink Moon was the new moon in Aries. The March new moon was the first new moon of Spring. It occurred about a day after the Spring Equinox 2023.

April 2023 New Moon

The new moon in April was on Thursday, April 20, 2023. The New Flower Moon was a second new moon in Aries. The April new moon was the second new moon of Spring. There was also a Hybrid Solar Eclipse during the April new moon.

May 2023 New Moon (seasonal black moon)

The new moon in May was on Friday, May 19, 2023. The New Strawberry Moon was the new moon in Taurus. The May New Moon was the third new moon of the Spring 2023 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because it was the third new moon in a season with four new moons.

June 2023 New Moon

The new moon in June was on Sunday, June 18, 2023. The New Buck Moon was the new moon in Gemini. The June new moon was the fourth Spring new moon in 2023.

July 2023 New Moon

The new moon in July was on Monday, July 17, 2023. The New Sturgeon Moon was the new moon in Cancer. The July new moon was the first Summer new moon.

August 2023 New Moon

The new moon in August was on Wednesday, August 16, 2023. The New Blue Moon was the new moon in Leo. The August new moon was the second new moon of Summer 2023.

September 2023 New Moon

The new moon in September was on Thursday September 14, 2023. The New Harvest Moon was the new moon in Virgo. The September new moon was the last Summer new moon.

October 2023 New Moon

The new moon in October was on Saturday October 14, 2023. The New Hunter’s Moon was the new moon in Libra. The October New Moon was the first new moon of Autumn. There was an Annular Solar Eclipse during the new moon.

November 2023 New Moon

The new moon in November was on Monday, November 13, 2023. The New Beaver Moon was the new moon in Scorpio. The November New Moon was the second Fall new moon.

December 2023 New Moon

The last new moon of 2023 was on Tuesday December 12, 2023. The New Cold Moon, it will be the new moon in Sagittarius. The new moon in December was the last new moon of Autumn 2023 and the last new moon of 2023.

Learn more about the Full Moons in 2023.

Is there a black moon in 2023?

Yes, In 2023 there was a black moon on Friday, May 19, 2023 because Spring had four new moons. As the third new moon in a season with four new moons, the May New Moon is called a black moon or seasonal black moon.

There are four potential definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. As a result, it’s not rare to have a black moon in a year. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month with two new moons
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

Because February has either 28 or 29 days, it’s the only calendar month that may not have both a new moon and a full moon in a given year.

New Supermoons

The three new super new moons of 2023 were on January 21, February 20, and March 21.

A new supermoon is a new moon that nearly coincides with the closest point that the Moon comes to the Earth in its orbit, called perigee. While you cannot directly see a new moon, it may leave a larger-than usual empty space in the sky. There isn’t an official definition for how close the moon must be to the Earth to be considered a supermoon. Depending on the version you use, the moon needs to be approximately 360,000 kilometers from the Earth or closer.

The first new moon of each season

Each season starts and ends with the equinoxes and solstices during the year. The 2023 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are:

  • Vernal Equinox: March 20, 2023 at 5:25 PM EDT
  • Summer Solstice: June 21, 2023 at 10:58 AM EDT
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 23, 2023 at 2:50 AM EDT
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2023 at 10:28 PM EST

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2023 was on Tuesday March 21, 2023. The spring season had four new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2023 was on Monday July 17, 2023. The summer season had three new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2023 was on Saturday October 14, 2023. The autumn season will have three new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2023 will be on Wednesday January 11, 2024 because the December 2023 new moon occurs before the solstice. The winter season will have three new moons.

New Moons and Full Moons in 2023

The new moons and full moons in 2023 will be on

MoonU.S. Eastern Date & TimeNameSignSeason
January Full MoonJanuary 6, 2023 6:08 PM ESTFull Wolf MoonCancerWinter
January New MoonJanuary 21, 2023 3:53 PM ESTNew Snow MoonCapricornWinter
February Full MoonFebruary 5, 2023 1:29 PM ESTFull Snow MoonLeoWinter
February New MoonFebruary 20, 2023 2:06 AM ESTNew Worm MoonPiscesWinter
March Full MoonMarch 7, 2023 7:40 AM ESTFull Worm MoonVirgoWinter
March New MoonMarch 21, 2023 1:23 PM EDTNew Pink MoonAriesSpring
April Full MoonApril 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDTFull Pink MoonLibraSpring
April New MoonApril 20, 2023 12:12 AM EDTNew Flower MoonAriesSpring
May Full MoonMay 5, 2023 1:34 PM EDTFull Flower MoonScorpioSpring
May New MoonMay 19, 2023 11:53 AM EDTNew Strawberry MoonTaurusSpring
June Full MoonJune 3, 2023 11:42 PM EDTFull Strawberry MoonSagittariusSpring
June New MoonJune 18, 2023 12:37 AM EDTNew Buck MoonGeminiSpring
July Full MoonJuly 3, 2023 7:39 AM EDTSuper Buck MoonCapricornSummer
July New MoonJuly 17, 2023 2:32 PM EDTNew Sturgeon MoonCancerSummer
August Full MoonAugust 1, 2023 2:31 PM EDTSuper Sturgeon MoonAquariusSummer
August New MoonAugust 16, 2023 5:38 AM EDTNew Blue MoonLeoSummer
August Full MoonAugust 30, 2023 9:35 PM EDTSuper Blue MoonPiscesSummer
September New MoonSeptember 14, 2023 9:40 PM EDTNew Harvest MoonVirgoSummer
September Full MoonSeptember 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDTSuper Harvest MoonAriesAutumn
October New MoonOctober 14, 2023 1:55 PM EDTNew Hunter’s MoonLibraAutumn
October Full MoonOctober 28, 2023 4:24 PM EDTFull Hunter’s MoonTaurusAutumn
November New MoonNovember 13, 2023 4:27 AM ESTNew Beaver MoonScorpioAutumn
November Full MoonNovember 27, 2023 4:16 AM ESTFull Beaver MoonGeminiAutumn
December New MoonDecember 12, 2023 6:32 PM ESTNew Cold MoonSagittariusAutumn
December Full MoonDecember 26, 2023 7:33 PM ESTFull Cold MoonCancerWinter

2023 Moon Phases in U.S. Eastern Time and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2023 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseUS Eastern Date & TimeUTC Date & Time
January Full MoonJanuary 6, 2023 6:08  PM ESTJanuary 6, 2023 11:08 PM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 14, 2023 9:10  PM ESTJanuary 15, 2023 2:10 AM UTC
January New MoonJanuary 21, 2023 3:53  PM ESTJanuary 21, 2023 8:53 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 28, 2023 10:19  AM ESTJanuary 28, 2023 3:19 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 5, 2023 1:29  PM ESTFebruary 5, 2023 6:29 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 13, 2023 11:01  AM ESTFebruary 13, 2023 4:01 PM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 20, 2023 2:06  AM ESTFebruary 20, 2023 7:06 AM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 27, 2023 3:06  AM ESTFebruary 27, 2023 8:06 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 7, 2023 7:40  AM ESTMarch 7, 2023 12:40 PM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 14, 2023 10:08 PM EDTMarch 15, 2023 2:08 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 21, 2023 1:23 PM EDTMarch 21, 2023 5:23 PM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 28, 2023 10:32 PM EDTMarch 29, 2023 2:32 AM UTC
April Full MoonApril 6, 2023 12:34 AM EDTApril 6, 2023 4:34 AM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 13, 2023 5:11 AM EDTApril 13, 2023 9:11 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 20, 2023 12:12 AM EDTApril 20, 2023 4:12 AM UTC
April First QuarterApril 27, 2023 5:20 PM EDTApril 27, 2023 9:20 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 5, 2023 1:34 PM EDTMay 5, 2023 5:34 PM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 12, 2023 10:28 AM EDTMay 12, 2023 2:28 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 19, 2023 11:53 AM EDTMay 19, 2023 3:53 PM UTC
May First QuarterMay 27, 2023 11:22 AM EDTMay 27, 2023 3:22 PM UTC
June Full MoonJune 3, 2023 11:42 PM EDTJune 4, 2023 3:42 AM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 10, 2023 3:31 PM EDTJune 10, 2023 7:31 PM UTC
June New MoonJune 18, 2023 12:37 AM EDTJune 18, 2023 4:37 AM UTC
June First QuarterJune 26, 2023 3:50 AM EDTJune 26, 2023 7:50 AM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 3, 2023 7:39 AM EDTJuly 3, 2023 11:39 AM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 9, 2023 9:48 PM EDTJuly 10, 2023 1:48 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 17, 2023 2:32 PM EDTJuly 17, 2023 6:32 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 25, 2023 6:07 PM EDTJuly 25, 2023 10:07 PM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 1, 2023 2:31 PM EDTAugust 1, 2023 6:31 PM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 8, 2023 6:28 AM EDTAugust 8, 2023 10:28 AM UTC
August New MoonAugust 16, 2023 5:38 AM EDTAugust 16, 2023 9:38 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 24, 2023 5:57 AM EDTAugust 24, 2023 9:57 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 30, 2023 9:35 PM EDTAugust 31, 2023 1:35 AM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 6, 2023 6:21 PM EDTSeptember 6, 2023 10:21 PM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 14, 2023 9:40 PM EDTSeptember 15, 2023 1:40 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 22, 2023 3:32 PM EDTSeptember 22, 2023 7:32 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 29, 2023 5:57 AM EDTSeptember 29, 2023 9:57 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 6, 2023 9:48 AM EDTOctober 6, 2023 1:48 PM UTC
October New MoonOctober 14, 2023 1:55 PM EDTOctober 14, 2023 5:55 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 21, 2023 11:29 PM EDTOctober 22, 2023 3:29 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 28, 2023 4:24 PM EDTOctober 28, 2023 8:24 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 5, 2023 3:37  AM ESTNovember 5, 2023 8:37 AM UTC
November New MoonNovember 13, 2023 4:27  AM ESTNovember 13, 2023 9:27 AM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 20, 2023 5:50  AM ESTNovember 20, 2023 10:50 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 27, 2023 4:16  AM ESTNovember 27, 2023 9:16 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 5, 2023 12:49  AM ESTDecember 5, 2023 5:49 AM UTC
December New MoonDecember 12, 2023 6:32  PM ESTDecember 12, 2023 11:32 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 19, 2023 1:39  PM ESTDecember 19, 2023 6:39 PM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 26, 2023 7:33  PM ESTDecember 27, 2023 12:33 AM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2023 New Moon Calendar to help you prepare for the year ahead.

How many new moons are there in 2023?

In 2023 there will be 12 new moons, with one each month of the year. There will be a seasonal black moon on the calendar for this year because the Spring 2023 season will have 4 new moons.

When is the first new moon of 2023?

The first new moon of 2023 was on Saturday, January 21, 2023. It was later in January at the start of the year. It was also the second new moon of the Winter 2022-2023 season, as the December 2022 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

When were the Spring 2023 new moons?

The four new moons of Spring 2023 were on March 21, April 21, May 19, and June 18. Spring 2023 began on March 20 and ended on June 21.

Dark picture of the moon for the New Moons 2023

Sources

The dates and times provided by NASA in the United States Eastern Time are for Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year in the United States. Also below is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. Since you may be in a different time zone, the exact dates may shift for your calendar.