Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2022 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2022 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2022 Calendar has 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you keep track of the upcoming dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2022 will be a little different by having 13 new moons The extra happens when one month has two, one at the very beginning of the month and one at the very end.

The 2022 New Moon Dates were:

  1. January 2, 2022 1:33 PM ET or 6:33 PM UTC
  2. February 1, 2022 12:46 AM ET or 5:46 AM UTC
  3. March 2, 2022 12:35 PM ET or 5:35 PM UTC
  4. April 1, 2022 2:24 AM ET or 7:24 AM UTC
  5. April 30, 2022 4:28 PM ET or 9:28 PM UTC
  6. May 30, 2022 7:30 AM ET or 12:30 PM UTC
  7. June 28, 2022 10:52 PM ET or June 29, 2022 3:52 AM UTC
  8. July 28, 2022 1:55 PM ET or 6:55 PM UTC
  9. August 27, 2022 4:17 AM ET or 9:17 AM UTC
  10. September 25, 2022 5:54 PM ET or 10:54 PM UTC
  11. October 25, 2022 6:49 AM ET or 11:49 AM UTC
  12. November 23, 2022 5:57 PM ET or 10:57 PM UTC
  13. December 23, 2022 5:17 AM ET or 10:17 AM UTC

Related: 2022 Full Moon Dates

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2022 dates? Take a look at each month, the date of each new moon, the eclipses that will occur, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Dark watercolor picture of moon for the New Moons 2022 Calendar Dates

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

When are the new moons in 2022?

For 2022, there will be 13 new moons. The year starts off with new moons at the beginning of the month, creating the opportunity for a month to have two new moons. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of the 2022 new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2022 New Moons:

January 2, 2022 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2022 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Sunday, January 2, 2022 1:33 PM ET or 6:33 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of 2022 and the first new moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season. The December 2021 new moon occurred in early December before Winter started. The January New Moon was the first new moon after the Winter 2021 Solstice

February 1, 2022 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2022 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Tuesday February 1, 2022 12:46 AM ET or 5:46 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of 2022 and the second new moon of the Winter 2021-2022 season. The February New Moon was the second new moon after the Winter 2021 Solstice

March 2, 2022 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2022 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Wednesday March 2, 2022 12:35 PM ET or 5:35 PM UTC. It was the third new moon of 2022, and the third and last new moon of the Winter 2022 season as it occurred days before the Spring Equinox 2022.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) will be on March 20, 2022 11:33 AM ET or 4:33 PM UTC.

April 1, 2022 (New Pink Moon)

There were two new moons in April 2022. The first April 2022 new moon was on Friday April 1, 2022 2:24 AM ET or 7:24 AM UTC. It was the fourth new moon of 2022 and the first new moon of the Spring 2022 season. The first April new moon was the first new moon after Spring Equinox 2022.

April 30, 2022 (New Flower Moon)

The second April 2022 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 30, 2022 4:28 PM ET or 9:28 PM UTC. It was the fifth new moon of 2022, and the second new moon of the Spring 2022 season. It was the second new moon after the Spring Equinox 2022.

There was also a partial solar eclipse during the second April new moon.

May 30, 2022 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2022 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday May 30, 2022 7:30 AM ET or 12:30 PM UTC. It was the sixth new moon of 2022 and the third and last new moon of the Spring 2022 season.

June 28, 2022 (New Buck Moon)

The June 2022 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 28, 2022 10:52 PM ET or Wednesday June 29, 2022 3:52 AM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of 2022, and the first new moon of the Summer 2022 season. The June New Moon was the first new moon after the 2022 Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on Tuesday June 21, 2022 5:14 AM ET or 10:14 AM UTC.

July 28, 2022 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2022 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday July 28, 2022 1:55 PM ET or 6:55 PM UTC. It was the eighth new moon of 2022, and the second new moon of the Summer 2022 season. The June New Moon was the second new moon after the Summer Solstice.

August 27, 2022 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 2022 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Saturday August 27, 2022 4:17 AM ET or 9:17 AM UTC. It was the ninth new moon of 2022 and the third new moon of the Summer 2022 season.

September 25, 2022 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 2022 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Sunday September 25, 2022 17:54 ET or 22:54 UTC. It was the tenth new moon of 2022 and the first new moon of the Fall 2022 season. The September New Moon was the first new moon after the 2022 Autumnal Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on September 22, 2022 9:04 PM ET or September 23, 2022 02:04 AM UTC.

October 25, 2022 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2022 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, will be on Tuesday October 25, 2022 6:49 AM ET or 11:49 AM UTC. It will be the eleventh new moon of 2022 and the second new moon of the Autumn 2022 season. The October New Moon will be the second new moon after the 2022 Autumnal Equinox.

There will also be a Partial Solar Eclipse during the new moon, approximately 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

November 23, 2022 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2022 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, will be on Wednesday November 23, 2022 5:57 PM ET or 10:57 PM UTC. It will be the twelfth new moon of 2022 and the third new moon of the Autumn 2022 season.

December 23, 2022 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2022 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, will be on Wednesday December 23, 2022 5:17 AM ET or 10:17 AM UTC. It will be the thirteenth new moon of 2022 and the first new moon of the Winter 2022 season. The December New Moon will be the first new moon after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice is on the calendar for December 21, 2022 4:48 PM ET or 9:48 PM UTC.

What are the names of 2022 new moons?

The names of the 2022 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April (beginning): New Flower Moon
  • April (end): New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

2022 will be an interesting year when it comes to naming new moons. For the first few months of the year, the new moon will be the same month as the full moon. Because April will have 2 new moons, for the rest of the year, the new moon for the upcoming full moon will be in the calendar month prior.

The August new moon is called the new Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon is closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Related: 2022 Full Moon Names

Will there be a black moon in 2022?

Yes, 2022 had a black moon, which is not entirely rare given there are multiple definitions for the event. April 2022 had two new moons.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

Each season will have 3 new moons. February 2022 had both a new and full moon. Each month except for April, will have 1 new moon.

In 2022 April had 2 new moons, matching one of the black moon definitions. For both the UTC and Eastern time zones, there is a new moon at the beginning of the month and one at the end. Because a new moon occurs approximately every 29.53 days, it’s possible for the calendar to line up just right for two to occur in one month.

2022 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (ET) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2022 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 02, 2022 1:33 PMJanuary 02, 2022 6:33 PM
January First QuarterJanuary 09, 2022 1:11 PMJanuary 09, 2022 6:11 PM
January Full MoonJanuary 17, 2022 6:48 PMJanuary 17, 2022 11:48 PM
January Last QuarterJanuary 25, 2022 8:41 AMJanuary 25, 2022 1:41 PM
February New MoonFebruary 01, 2022 12:46 AM February 01, 2022 5:46 AM
February First QuarterFebruary 08, 2022 8:50 AMFebruary 08, 2022 1:50 PM
February Full MoonFebruary 16, 2022 11:57 AMFebruary 16, 2022 4:57 PM
February Last QuarterFebruary 23, 2022 5:32 PMFebruary 23, 2022 10:32 PM
March New MoonMarch 02, 2022 12:35 PMMarch 02, 2022 5:35 PM
March First QuarterMarch 10, 2022 5:45 AMMarch 10, 2022 10:45 AM
March Full MoonMarch 18, 2022 3:17 AMMarch 18, 2022 8:17 AM
March Last QuarterMarch 25, 2022 1:37 AMMarch 25, 2022 6:37 AM
April New MoonApril 01, 2022 2:24 AMApril 01, 2022 7:24 AM
April First QuarterApril 09, 2022 2:48 AMApril 09, 2022 7:48 AM
April Full MoonApril 16, 2022 2:55 PMApril 16, 2022 7:55 PM
April Last QuarterApril 23, 2022 7:56 AMApril 23, 2022 12:56 PM
April New Moon (second)April 30, 2022 4:28 PMApril 30, 2022 9:28 PM
May First QuarterMay 08, 2022 8:21 PMMay 09, 2022 1:21 AM
May Full MoonMay 16, 2022 12:14 AMMay 16, 2022 5:14 AM
May Last QuarterMay 22, 2022 12:43 PMMay 22, 2022 7:43 PM
May New MoonMay 30, 2022 7:30 AMMay 30, 2022 12:30 PM
June First QuarterJune 07, 2022 10:48 AMJune 07, 2022 3:48 PM
June Full MoonJune 14, 2022 7:52 AMJune 14, 2022 12:52 PM
June Last QuarterJune 20, 2022 11:11 PMJune 21, 2022 4:11 AM
June New MoonJune 28, 2022 10:52 PMJune 29, 2022 3:52 AM
July First QuarterJuly 06, 2022 10:14 PMJuly 07, 2022 3:14 AM
July Full MoonJuly 13, 2022 2:37 PMJuly 13, 2022 7:37 PM
July Last QuarterJuly 20, 2022 10:18 AMJuly 20, 2022 3:18 PM
July New MoonJuly 28, 2022 1:55 PMJuly 28, 2022 6:55 PM
August First QuarterAugust 05, 2022 7:06 AM August 05, 2022 12:06 PM
August Full MoonAugust 11, 2022 9:36 PMAugust 12, 2022 2:36 AM
August Last QuarterAugust 19, 2022 00:36 August 19, 2022 5:36 AM
August New MoonAugust 27, 2022 04:17 August 27, 2022 9:17 AM
September First QuarterSeptember 03, 2022 2:08 PMSeptember 03, 2022 7:08 PM
September Full MoonSeptember 10, 2022 5:59 AM September 10, 2022 10:59 AM
September Last QuarterSeptember 17, 2022 5:52 PMSeptember 17, 2022 10:52 PM
September New MoonSeptember 25, 2022 5:54 PMSeptember 25, 2022 10:54 PM
October First QuarterOctober 02, 2022 8:14 PMOctober 03, 2022 1:14 AM
October Full MoonOctober 09, 2022 4:55 PMOctober 09, 2022 9:55 PM
October Last QuarterOctober 17, 2022 1:15 PMOctober 17, 2022 6:15 PM
October New MoonOctober 25, 2022 6:49 AMOctober 25, 2022 11:49 AM
November First QuarterNovember 01, 2022 1:37 AMNovember 01, 2022 6:37 AM
November Full MoonNovember 08, 2022 6:02 AMNovember 08, 2022 11:02 AM
November Last QuarterNovember 16, 2022 8:27 AMNovember 16, 2022 1:27 PM
November New MoonNovember 23, 2022 5:57 PM November 23, 2022 10:57 PM
November First QuarterNovember 30, 2022 9:36 AMNovember 30, 2022 2:36 PM
December Full MoonDecember 07, 2022 11:08 PMDecember 08, 2022 4:08 AM
December Last QuarterDecember 16, 2022 3:56 AMDecember 16, 2022 8:56 AM
December New MoonDecember 23, 2022 5:17 AMDecember 23, 2022 10:17 AM
December First QuarterDecember 29, 2022 8:20 PM December 30, 2022 1:20 AM
New Moons 2022