2021 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2021 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons in 2021 included 12 new moons, 2 solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2021 followed the usual pattern.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2021 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2021 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

When were the new moons in 2021?

There were 12 new moons in 2021. The year started off with its first new moon later in mid-January setting up the year to only have 1 new moon per month.

The 2021 New Moon Dates were:

  • January 13, 2021, new moon in Capricorn
  • February 11, 2021, new moon in Aquarius
  • March 13, 2021, new moon in Pisces
  • April 11, 2021 (April 12 UTC), new moon in Aries
  • May 11, 2021, new moon in Taurus
  • June 10, 2021, new moon in Gemini
  • July 9, 2021, new moon in Cancer
  • August 8, 2021, new moon in Leo
  • September 6, 2021 (September 7 UTC), new moon in Virgo
  • October 6, 2021, new moon in Libra
  • November 4, 2021, new moon in Scorpio
  • December 4, 2021, new moon in Sagittarius

Here’s a deeper look at the dates of each new moon and how they fit into each season.

January 13, 2021 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2021 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday January 13, 2021 12:00 AM ET or 5:00 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as the December 2020 new moon occurred a week before the Winter Solstice.

Friday 11, 2021 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2021 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Thursday Friday 11, 2021 2:06 PM ET or 7:06 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

March 13, 2021 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2021 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Saturday March 13, 2021 5:21 AM ET or 10:21 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as it happened about a week before the Spring Equinox 2021.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was Saturday March 20, 2021 5:37 AM ET or 10:37 AM UTC.

April 11, 2021 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2021 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 11, 2021 10:31 PM ET, or Monday April 12, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2021 season.

May 11, 2021 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2021 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 11, 2021 3:00 PM ET or 8:00 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2021 season.

June 10, 2021 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2021 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday June 10, 2021 6:53 AM ET or 11:53 AM UTC. This was the third and final new moon of the Spring 2021 season as it was more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

Also during the June new moon, there was an annular solar eclipse which occurred about 10 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 20, 2021 11:32 PM ET or June 21, 2021 4:32 AM UTC.

July 9, 2021 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2021 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday July 9, 2021 9:16 PM ET or Saturday July 10, 2021 2:16 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2021 season as the June new moon was more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

August 8, 2021 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2021 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 8, 2021 9:50 AM ET or 2:50 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2021 season.

September 6, 2021 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2021 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Monday September 6, 2021 8:52 AM ET or September 7, 2021 1:52 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2021 season.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 22, 2021 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC.

October 6, 2021 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2021 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Wednesday October 6, 2021 7:05 AM ET or 12:05 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2021 season.

November 4, 2021 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2021 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Thursday November 4, 2021 4:15 PM ET or 9:15 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2021 season.

December 4, 2021 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2021 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday December 4, 2021 2:43 AM ET or 7:43 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2021 season.

Also during the December new moon, there was a total solar eclipse that happened about 9 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday December 21, 2021 10:59 AM ET or 3:59 PM UTC. The December new moon occurred before the Winter season began.

Was there a black moon in 2021?

No there was not a black moon in 2021 because none of the moons fit any of the lack moon definitions. Each month in 2021 had 1 new moon and three new moons each season.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

What were the names of 2021 new moons?

New moons take their name from the full moon name in the same lunar cycle. The names of the 2021 new moon names were:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2021, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred during the same month, so the names matched.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

What was the first new moon of each season?

During 2021 each season had three new moons, started or ended by an equinox or solstice.

2021 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2021 equinoxes and solstices were on the following dates:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 20, 2021 5:37 AM EDT (10:37 AM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2021 11:32 PM EDT (June 21, 2021 4:32 AM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2021 3:21 PM EDT (8:21 PM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2021 10:59 AM EST (3:59 PM UTC)

The first new moon of Spring 2021

The first Spring new moon in 2021 was on Sunday April 11, 2021 10:31 PM ET or Monday April 12, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. It was the first new moon after Spring Equinox 2021. The March 2021 new moon occurred before the equinox. The Spring season had three new moons.

The first new moon of Summer 2021

The first Summer new moon in 2021 on Friday July 9, 2021 9:16 PM ET or Saturday July 10 2:16 AM UTC. It was the first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2021. The June 2021 new moon occurred before the solstice. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon of Autumn 2021

The first Autumn New Moon in 2021 was on Wednesday October 6, 2021 7:05 AM ET or 12:05 PM UTC. It was the first new moon after the Autumnal Equinox 2021. The September new moon occurred before the Equinox. The Fall season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon of Winter 2021-2022

The first Winter New Moon of the 2021-2022 season was on Sunday, January 2, 2022 1:33 PM ET or 6:33 PM. It was the first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2021. The December 2021 new moon occurred before the solstice. The first new moon of the season will wait until January 2022. The Winter 2021-2022 season had 3 new moons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2021 New Moon Calendar as you look back to the year in the past.

How many new moons were in 2021?

There were 12 new moons in 2021 with one new moon each month of the year, and each season had 3 new moons There was not a black moon or seasonal black moon on the calendar that year.

When was the first new moon of 2021?

The first new moon of 2021 was on Wednesday January 13, 2021 12:00 AM ET or 5:00 AM UTC. It was in mid-January. It was also the first new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as the December 2020 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon of spring 2021?

The first new moon of Spring 2021 was Sunday April 11, 2021 10:31 PM ET or Monday April 12, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. The March 2021 new moon was about a week before the Spring Equinox so it was part of the Winter 2020-2021 season.

When was the new moon in January 2021?

The new moon in January 2021 was on Wednesday January 13, 2021 12:00 AM ET or 5:00 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of 2021 and the first new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as the December 2020 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

When was the new moon in February 2021?

The new moon in February 2021 was on Thursday Friday 11, 2021 2:06 PM ET or 7:06 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the 2021 year and the second new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season following the January new moon.

When was the new moon in March 2021?

The new moon in March 2021 was on Saturday March 13, 2021 5:21 AM ET or 10:21 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the year, and the third new moon of the Winter 2020-2021 season as it occurred about a week before Spring Equinox 2021.

When was the new moon in April 2021?

The new moon in April 2021 was on Sunday April 11, 2021 10:31 PM ET or Monday April 12, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. This was the fourth new moon of the year, and the first new moon of the Spring 2021 season.

When was the new moon in May 2021?

The new moon in May 2021 was on Tuesday May 11, 2021 3:00 PM ET or 8:00 PM UTC. It was the fifth new moon of the year. It was also the second new moon of the Spring 2021 season.

When was the new moon in June 2021?

The new moon in June 2021 was on Thursday June 10, 2021 6:53 AM ET or 11:53 AM UTC. It was the sixth new moon of the year. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2021 season as it occurs more than a week before the Summer Solstice.

When was the new moon in July 2021?

The new moon in July 2021 was on Friday July 9, 2021 9:16 PM ET or Saturday July 10 2:16 AM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of the year. This was also the first new moon of the Summer 2021 season as the June new moon was before the Summer Solstice.

When was the new moon in August 2021?

The new moon in August 2021 was on Sunday August 8, 2021 9:50 AM ET or 2:50 PM UTC. It was the eighth new moon of the year. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2021 season.

When was the new moon in September 2021?

The new moon in September 2021 was on Monday September 6, 2021 8:52 AM ET or September 7, 2021 1:52 AM UTC. It was the ninth new moon of the year. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2021 season.

When was the new moon in October 2021?

The new moon in October 2021 was on Wednesday October 6, 2021 7:05 AM ET or 12:05 PM UTC. It was the tenth new moon of the year. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2021 season.

When was the new moon in November 2021?

The new moon in November 2021 was on Thursday November 4, 2021 4:15 PM ET or 9:15 PM UTC. It was the eleventh new moon of the year. This was also the second new moon of the Fall 2021 season.

When was the new moon in December 2021?

The new moon in December 2021 was on Saturday December 4, 2021 2:43 AM ET or 7:43 AM UTC. It was the twelfth new moon of the year. This was also the third and last new moon of the Fall 2021 season as it was a few weeks before the Winter season began.

When were the Spring 2021 new moons?

In Spring 2021, there were 3 new moons. The first was on Sunday April 11, 2021 10:31 PM ET or Monday April 12, 2021 3:31 AM UTC. The second was on Tuesday May 11, 2021 3:00 PM ET or 8:00 PM UTC. The third was on Thursday June 10, 2021 6:53 AM ET or 11:53 AM UTC.

Spring 2021 began with the Vernal Equinox on March 20, 2021 5:37 AM ET or 10:37 AM UTC, and ended with the Summer Solstice on June 20, 2021 11:32 PM ET or June 21, 2021 4:32 AM UTC.

New Moons 2021