2020 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

Home » 2020 to 2029 New Moons » 2020 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2020 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2020 followed the usual pattern. In addition to one new moon per month, there were 4 new moons during the summer season, creating a seasonal black moon.

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2020 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2020 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

What were the 2020 New Moon Dates?

The dates of the 12 new moons in 2020 were:

  1. January 24, 2020
  2. February 23, 2020
  3. March 24, 2020
  4. April 22, 2020 (April 23 UTC)
  5. May 22, 2020
  6. June 21, 2020
  7. July 20, 2020
  8. August 18, 2020 (August 19 UTC)
  9. September 17, 2020
  10. October 16, 2020
  11. November 15, 2020
  12. December 14, 2020

New Moon Calendar 2020

For 2020, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon later in late-January setting up the year to only have 1 new moon per month. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2020 New Moons:

January 24, 2020 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2020 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Friday January 24, 2020 4:42 PM ET or 9:42 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2019-2020 season as the December 2019 new moon occurred less than a week after the Winter Solstice.

February 23, 2020 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2020 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Sunday February 23, 2020 10:32 AM ET or 3:32 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2019-2020 season.

March 24, 2020 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2020 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Tuesday March 24, 2020 5:28 AM ET or 10:28 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2020 season as it happened a few days after the Spring Equinox 2020.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was Thursday March 19, 2020 11:50 PM ET or March 20, 2020 4:50 AM UTC.

April 22, 2020 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2020 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Wednesday April 22, 2020 10:26 PM ET or April 23, 2020 3:26 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2020 season.

May 22, 2020 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2020 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Friday May 22, 2020 1:39 PM ET or 6:39 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2020 season.

June 21, 2020 (New Buck Moon)

The June 2020 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Sunday June 21, 2020 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2020 season as it happened about a day after the Summer Solstice. This also set up the Summer season to have 4 new moons.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 20, 2020 5:43 PM ET or 10:43 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year.

July 20, 2020 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2020 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday July 20, 2020 1:33 PM ET or 6:33 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2020 season.

August 18, 2020 (New Corn Moon)

The August 2020 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Tuesday August 18, 2020 10:41 PM ET or August 19, 2020 3:41 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2020 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because it was the third new moon during a season with four new moons.

September 17, 2020 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2020 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Thursday September 17, 2020 7:00 AM ET or 12:00 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 2020 season.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 22, 2020 9:31 AM ET or 2:31 PM UTC.

October 16, 2020 (New Blue Moon)

The October 2020 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Friday October 16, 2020 3:31 PM ET or 8:31 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2020 season.

November 15, 2020 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2020 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 15, 2020 12:07 AM ET or 5:07 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2020 season.

December 14, 2020 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2020 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Monday December 14, 2020 11:17 AM ET or 4:17 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2020 season.

Also during the December new moon there was a total solar eclipse that happened about 2 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 2020 5:02 AM ET or 10:02 AM UTC. The December new moon occurred before the Winter season began.

Was there a black moon in 2020?

Yes, 2020 had a seasonal black moon in Summer 2020. The August 2020 New Moon on August 18th was the third new moon in a summer season with four.

What were the names of the 2020 new moons?

The names of the 2020 new moons were as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Blue Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2020, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The October new moon was called a New Blue Moon because October 2020 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

2020 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2020 equinoxes and solstices were on the following dates:

  • Vernal Equinox (Spring): March 19, 2020 11:50 PM EDT (March 20, 2020 4:50 AM UTC)
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2020 5:43 PM EDT (10:43 PM UTC)
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2020 9:31 AM EDT (2:31 PM UTC)
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2020 5:02 AM EST (10:02 AM UTC)

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2020 was on Tuesday March 24, 2020 5:28 AM ET or 10:28 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2020 was on Sunday June 21, 2020 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 AM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2020 was on Friday October 16, 2020 3:31 PM ET or 8:31 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2020 was on Wednesday January 13, 2021 12:00 AM ET or 5:00 AM UTC because the December 2020 new moon happened before the solstice. The first new moon of the winter season will have to wait until January 2021. The winter season had 3 new moons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2020 New Moon Calendar as you look back to the year in the past.

How many new moons were in 2020?

There were 12 new moons in 2020 with one new moon each month of the year, and most seasons had 3 new moons The Summer 2020 season had four new moons making the August 2020 new moon a seasonal black moon.

When was the first new moon of 2020?

The first new moon of 2020 was on Friday January 24, 2020 4:42 PM ET or 9:42 PM UTC. It was in late-January. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2019-2020 season as the December 2019 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon of Spring 2020?

The first new moon of Spring 2020 was on Tuesday March 24, 2020 5:28 AM ET or 10:28 AM UTC as it was the first new moon after the Spring 2020 equinox. The March 2020 new moon was less than a week after the Spring Equinox, making it part of the Spring 2020 season.

When was the new moon in January 2020?

The new moon in January 2020 was on Friday January 24, 2020 4:42 PM ET or 9:42 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of 2020 and the second new moon of the Winter 2019-2020 season as the December 2019 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

When was the new moon in February 2020?

The new moon in February 2020 was on Sunday February 23, 2020 10:32 AM ET or 3:32 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the 2020 year and the third new moon of the Winter 2019-2020 season.

When was the new moon in March 2020?

The new moon in March 2020 was on Tuesday March 24, 2020 5:28 AM ET or 10:28 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the year, and the first new moon of the Spring 2020 season as it occurred less than a week after Spring Equinox 2020.

When was the new moon in April 2020?

The new moon in April 2020 was on Wednesday April 22, 2020 10:26 PM ET or April 23, 2020 3:26 AM UTC. This was the fourth new moon of the year, and the second new moon of the Spring 2020 season.

When was the new moon in May 2020?

The new moon in May 2020 was on Friday May 22, 2020 1:39 PM ET or 6:39 PM UTC. It was the fifth new moon of the year. It was also the third and last new moon of the Spring 2020 season.

When was the new moon in June 2020?

The new moon in June 2020 was on Sunday June 21, 2020 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 AM UTC. It was the sixth new moon of the year. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2020 season as it occurred about a day after the Summer Solstice.

When was the new moon in July 2020?

The new moon in July 2020 was on Monday July 20, 2020 1:33 PM ET or 6:33 PM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of the year. This was also the second new moon of the Summer 2020 season as the June new moon was after the Summer Solstice.

When was the new moon in August 2020?

The new moon in August 2020 was on Tuesday August 18, 2020 10:41 PM ET or August 19, 2020 3:41 AM UTC. It was the eighth new moon of the year. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2020 season. As the Summer season had four new moons that year, the August 2020 new moon was also considered a seasonal black moon.

When was the new moon in September 2020?

The new moon in September 2020 was on Thursday September 17, 2020 7:00 AM ET or 12:00 PM UTC. It was the ninth new moon of the year. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 2020 season.

When was the new moon in October 2020?

The new moon in October 2020 was on Friday October 16, 2020 3:31 PM ET or 8:31 PM UTC. It was the tenth new moon of the year. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2020 season.

When was the new moon in November 2020?

The new moon in November 2020 was on Sunday November 15, 2020 12:07 AM ET or 5:07 AM UTC. It was the eleventh new moon of the year. This was also the second new moon of the Fall 2020 season.

When was the new moon in December 2020?

The new moon in December 2020 was on Monday December 14, 2020 11:17 AM ET or 4:17 PM UTC. It was the twelfth new moon of the year. This was also the third and last new moon of the Fall 2020 season as it was about a week before the Winter season began. There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the December New Moon, about 2 minutes before the peak.

When were the Spring 2020 new moons?

In Spring 2020, there were 3 new moons. The first was on Tuesday March 24, 2020 5:28 AM ET or 10:28 AM UTC. The second was on Wednesday April 22, 2020 10:26 PM ET or April 23, 2020 3:26 AM UTC. The third was on Friday May 22, 2020 1:39 PM ET or 6:39 PM UTC.

Spring 2020 began with the Vernal Equinox on March 19, 2020 11:50 PM ET or March 20, 2020 4:50 AM UTC, and ended with the Summer Solstice on June 20, 2020 5:43 PM ET or 10:43 PM UTC.

New Moons 2020