Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2018 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2018 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2018 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2018 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2018 New Moon Dates?

In 2018 there were 12 new moons. The dates of the 2018 new moons were:

  1. January 16, 2018 9:17 PM ET (January 17, 2018 2:17 AM UTC)
  2. February 15, 2018 4:05 PM ET (9:05 PM UTC)
  3. March 17, 2018 9:12 AM ET (2:12 PM UTC)
  4. April 15, 2018 9:57 PM ET (April 16, 2018 2:57 AM UTC)
  5. May 15, 2018 7:48 AM ET (12:48 PM UTC)
  6. June 13, 2018 3:43 PM ET (8:43 PM UTC)
  7. July 12, 2018 10:48 PM ET (July 13, 2018 3:48 AM UTC)
  8. August 11, 2018 5:58 AM ET (10:58 AM UTC)
  9. September 9, 2018 2:01 PM ET (7:01 PM UTC)
  10. October 8, 2018 11:47 PM ET (October 9, 2018 4:47 AM UTC)
  11. November 7, 2018 11:02 AM ET (4:02 PM UTC)
  12. December 7, 2018 2:20 AM ET (7:20 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the schedule of 2018 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2018 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2018

For 2018, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The names and dates of the new moons in 2018 were:

January 16, 2018 (New Blue Moon)

The January 2018 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Tuesday January 16, 2018 9:17 PM ET or January 17, 2018 2:17 AM UTC. The January new moon wasn’t called a new wolf moon because there was a second full moon in January.

This was the first new moon of the Winter 2017-2018 season as the December 2017 new moon, called the New Wolf Moon, occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 15, 2018 (New Worm Moon)

The next new moon in 2018 was the February 2018 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon. It was on Thursday February 15, 2018 4:05 PM ET or 9:05 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2017-2018 season.

March 17, 2018 (New Blue Moon)

The March 2018 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Saturday March 17, 2018 9:12 AM ET or 2:12 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2017-2018 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 2018. The March New Moon was also called a New Blue Moon because there was an extra full moon in March.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 2018 12:15 PM ET or 5:15 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 15, 2018 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2018 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 15, 2018 9:57 PM ET or April 16, 2018 2:57 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2018 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 15, 2018 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2018 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 15, 2018 7:48 AM ET or 12:48 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2018 season.

June 13, 2018  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2018 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday June 13, 2018 3:43 PM ET or 8:43 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2018 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 21, 2018 6:07 AM ET or 11:07 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 12, 2018 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2018 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Thursday July 12, 2018 10:48 PM ET or July 13, 2018 3:48 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2018 season.

Also during the July New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 13 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

August 11, 2018 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2018 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday August 11, 2018 5:58 AM ET or 10:58 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2018 season.

Also during the August New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

September 9, 2018 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2018 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Sunday September 9, 2018 2:01 PM ET or 7:01 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2018 season as it happened almost two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 22, 2018 9:54 PM ET or September 23, 2018 2:54 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2018 season.

October 8, 2018 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2018 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 8, 2018 11:47 PM ET or October 9, 2018 4:47 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2018 season.

November 7, 2018 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2018 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday November 7, 2018 11:02 AM ET or 4:02 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2018 season.

December 7, 2018 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2018 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Friday December 7, 2018 2:20 AM ET or 7:20 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2018 season as it occurred about two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 21, 2018 5:22 PM ET or 11:22 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2018-2019 season.

What are the names of the 2018 new moons?

The names of the 2018 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Blue Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Blue Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

2018 was an interesting year with an unusual event. Two new moons early in the year were called New Blue Moons. From April onward, the new moons fell in the same month as their full moon, resulting in a name match.

The January and March new moons were each called a New Blue Moon because January and March each had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2018?

A black moon occurs when a calendar month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2018 each month had at least 1 new moon so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. Each season during 2018 had 3 new moons, meaning there wasn’t a seasonal new moon either.

2018 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2018 dates for the equinoxes and solstices to start each astronomical season were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2018 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2018 12:15 PM ET5:15 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2018 6:07 AM ET11:07 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2018 9:54 PM ETSeptember 23, 2018 2:54 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2018 5:22 PM ET11:22 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2018 was on Sunday April 15, 2018 9:57 PM ET or April 16, 2018 2:57 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2018 was on Thursday July 12, 2018 10:48 PM ET or July 13, 2018 3:48 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2018 was on Monday October 8, 2018 11:47 PM ET or October 9, 2018 4:47 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2018 was on Saturday January 5, 2019 8:28 PM ET or January 6, 2019 1:28 AM UTC. It was the January 2019 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2018 Calendar