Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2016 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2016 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2016 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2016 had an additional new moon compared to the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2016?

In 2016 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2016 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 9, 2016 8:30 PM ET (January 10, 2016 1:30 AM UTC)
  2. February 8, 2016 9:39 AM ET (2:39 PM UTC)
  3. March 8, 2016 8:54 PM ET (March 9, 2016 1:54 AM UTC)
  4. April 7, 2016 7:24 AM ET (12:24 PM UTC)
  5. May 6, 2016 3:30 PM ET (8:30 PM UTC)
  6. June 4, 2016 11:00 PM ET (June 5, 2016 4:00 AM UTC)
  7. July 4, 2016 7:01 AM ET (12:01 PM UTC)
  8. August 2, 2016 4:45 PM ET (8:45 PM UTC)
  9. September 1, 2016 5:03 AM ET (10:03 AM UTC)
  10. September 30, 2016 8:12 PM ET (October 1, 2016 1:12 AM UTC)
  11. October 30, 2016 12:38 PM ET (5:38 PM UTC)
  12. November 29, 2016 7:18 AM ET (12:18 PM UTC)
  13. December 29, 2016 1:53 AM ET (6:53 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2016 dates? Take a look at new moons in 2016, the dates of each, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2016 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2016

For 2016, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 2016 New Moons:

January 9 2016 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2016 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday January 9, 2016 8:30 PM ET or January 10, 2016 1:30 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season as the December 2015 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 8, 2016 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2016 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday February 8, 2016 9:39 AM ET or 2:39 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season.

March 8, 2016 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2016 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday March 8, 2016 8:54 PM ET or March 9, 2016 1:54 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2015-2016 season as it happened about two weeks before the Spring Equinox 2016.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Sunday March 20, 2016 12:31 AM ET or 6:03 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 7, 2016 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2016 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday April 7, 2016 7:24 AM ET or 12:24 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2016 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 6, 2016 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2016 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Friday May 6, 2016 3:30 PM ET or 8:30 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2016 season.

June 4, 2016  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2016 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 4, 2016 11:00 PM ET or June 5, 2016 4:00 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2016 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Monday June 20, 2016 6:35 PM ET or 11:35 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 4, 2016 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2016 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 4, 2016 7:01 AM ET or 12:01 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2016 season.

August 2, 2016 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2016 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 2, 2016 4:45 PM ET or 8:45 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2016 season.

September 1, 2016 (New Harvest Moon)

The first September 2016 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Thursday September 1, 2016 5:03 AM ET or 10:03 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2016 season as it happened a few weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the first September New Moon, there was an Annual Solar Eclipse with the peak 5 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Thursday September 22, 2016 10:21 AM ET or 3:21 PM UTC, after the first September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2016 season.

September 30, 2016 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The second September 2016 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Friday September 30, 2016 8:12 PM ET or October 1, 2016 1:12 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2016 season.

For the UTC time zone, October 2016 had 2 new moons instead of September since the peak of the new moon was late in the day.

October 30, 2016 (New Beaver Moon)

The second October 2016 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday October 30, 2016 12:38 PM ET or 5:38 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2016 season.

November 29, 2016 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2016 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Tuesday November 29, 2016 7:18 AM ET or 12:18 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2016 season.

December 29, 2016 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2016 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Thursday December 29, 2016 1:53 AM ET or 6:53 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2016-2017 season as it occurred about a week after the Winter Solstice. The new moon on December 29th was the last new moon of 2016.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday December 21 , 2016 5:45 AM ET or 10:45 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2016-2017 season.

What are the names of the 2016 new moons?

The names of the 2016 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • Second September New Moon: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 2016, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, creating a name match.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2016?

Yes, there was a black moon in 2016 because September had two new moons. The new moon on Friday September 30, 2016 was called a black moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

2016 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2016 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2016 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2016 12:31 AM ET6:03 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 2016 6:35 PM ET11:35 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2016 10:21 AM ET3:21 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21 , 2016 5:45 AM ET10:45 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2016 was on Thursday April 7, 2016 7:24 AM ET or 12:24 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2016 was on Monday July 4, 2016 7:01 AM ET or 12:01 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2016 was on Friday September 30, 2016 8:12 PM ET or October 1, 2016 1:12 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2016 was on Thursday December 29, 2016 1:53 AM ET or 6:53 AM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moon 2016 Calendar