Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2015 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2015 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2015 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2015 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2015?

In 2015 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2015 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 20, 2015 8:14 AM ET (1:14 PM UTC)
  2. February 18, 2015 6:47 PM ET (11:47 PM UTC)
  3. March 20, 2015 5:36 AM ET (10:36 AM UTC)
  4. April 18, 2015 2:57 PM ET (7:57 PM UTC)
  5. May 18, 2015 12:13 AM ET (5:13 AM UTC)
  6. June 16, 2015 10:05 AM ET (3:05 PM UTC)
  7. July 15, 2015 9:24 PM ET (July 16, 2015 2:24 AM UTC)
  8. August 14, 2015 10:54 AM ET (3:54 PM UTC)
  9. September 13, 2015 2:41 AM ET (7:41 AM UTC)
  10. October 12, 2015 8:06 PM ET (October 13, 2015 1:06 AM UTC)
  11. November 11, 2015 12:47 PM ET (5:47 PM UTC)
  12. December 11, 2015 5:29 AM ET (10:29 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2015 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2015 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2015

For 2015, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in later January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of the 2015 New Moons:

January 20, 2015 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2015 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Tuesday January 20, 2015 8:14 AM ET or 1:14 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2014-2015 season as the December 2014 new moon occurred hours after the Winter Solstice.

February 18, 2015 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2015 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Wednesday February 18, 2015 6:47 PM ET or 11:47 PM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Winter 2014-2015 season. It was also a seasonal black moon because it was the third new moon in a season with 4 new moons.

March 20, 2015 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2015 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday March 20, 2015 5:36 AM ET or 10:36 AM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Winter 2014-2015 season as it happened hours before the Spring Equinox 2015.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 2015 6:45 PM ET or 11:45 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 18, 2015 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2015 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 18, 2015 2:57 PM ET or 7:57 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2015 season because the March new moon occurred hours before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 18, 2015 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2015 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday May 18, 2015 12:13 AM ET or 5:13 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2015 season.

June 16, 2015  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2015 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 16, 2015 10:05 AM ET or 3:05 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Spring 2015 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 21, 2015 12:38 PM ET or 5:38 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 15, 2015 (New Blue Moon)

The July 2015 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Wednesday July 15, 2015 9:24 PM ET or July 16, 2015 2:24 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2015 season.

August 14, 2015 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2015 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday August 14, 2015 10:54 AM ET or 3:54 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2015 season.

September 13, 2015 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2015 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Sunday September 13, 2015 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2015 season as it happened more than a week before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the September New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 14 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 23, 2015 4:20 AM ET or 9:59 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2015 season.

October 12, 2015 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2015 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 12, 2015 8:06 PM ET or October 13, 2015 1:06 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2015 season.

November 11, 2015 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2015 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday November 11, 2015 12:47 PM ET or 5:47 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2015 season.

December 11, 2015 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2015 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Friday December 11, 2015 5:29 AM ET or 10:29 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2015 season as it occurred more than a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 2015 11:48 PM ET or December 22, 2015 4:48 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2015-2016 season.

What are the names of the 2015 new moons?

The names of the 2015 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Blue Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For the first half of 2015, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The July new moon was called a New Blue Moon because July 2015 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2015?

Yes there was a seasonal black moon in 2015 because Winter had an extra new moon. The February new moon was called a seasonal black moon as the third new moon in a season with four new moons.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

2015 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2015 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2015 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2015 6:45 PM ET11:45 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2015 12:38 PM ET5:38 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2015 4:20 AM ET9:59 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2015 11:48 PM ETDecember 22, 2015 4:48 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2015 was on Saturday April 18, 2015 2:57 PM ET or 7:57 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2015 was on Wednesday July 15, 2015 9:24 PM ET or July 16, 2015 2:24 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2015 was on Monday October 12, 2015 8:06 PM ET or October 13, 2015 1:06 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2015 was on Saturday January 9, 2016 8:30 PM ET or January 10, 2016 1:30 AM UTC. It was the January 2016 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2015 Calendar