Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2014 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2014 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2014 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2014 didn’t follow the usual pattern of other years as it had an additional new moon.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2014?

In 2014 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2014 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 1, 2014 6:14 AM ET (11:14 AM UTC)
  2. January 30, 2014 4:38 PM ET (9:38 PM UTC)
  3. March 1, 2014 3:00 AM ET (8:00 AM UTC)
  4. March 30, 2014 2:45 PM ET (7:45 PM UTC)
  5. April 29, 2014 2:14 AM ET (7:14 AM UTC)
  6. May 28, 2014 2:40 PM ET (7:40 PM UTC)
  7. June 27, 2014 4:08 AM ET (9:08 AM UTC)
  8. July 26, 2014 6:42 PM ET (11:42 PM UTC)
  9. August 25, 2014 10:13 AM ET (3:13 PM UTC)
  10. September 24, 2014 2:14 AM ET (7:14 AM UTC)
  11. October 23, 2014 5:57 PM ET (10:57 PM UTC)
  12. November 22, 2014 7:32 AM ET (12:32 PM UTC)
  13. December 21, 2014 8:36 PM ET (December 22, 2014 1:36 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2014 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2014 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2014

For 2014, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon at the beginning of January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year. It also set up the year to have a black moon in February. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of the 2014 New Moons:

January 1, 2014 (New Wolf Moon)

The first January 2014 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday January 1, 2014 6:14 AM ET or 11:14 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2013-2014 season as the December 2013 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

January 30, 2014 (New Snow Moon)

The second January 2014 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Thursday January 30, 2014 4:38 PM ET or 9:38 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2013-2014 season.

March 1, 2014 (New Worm Moon)

The first March 2014 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Saturday March 1, 2014 3:00 AM ET or 8:00 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2013-2014 season as it happened a few weeks before the Spring Equinox 2014.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Thursday March 20, 2014 12:57 PM ET or 5:57 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

March 30, 2014 (New Pink Moon)

The second March 2014 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday March 30, 2014 2:45 PM ET or 7:45 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring season because it happened a more than a week after the Spring Equinox 2014.

April 29, 2014 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2014 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday April 29, 2014 2:14 AM ET or 7:14 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2014 season because the second March new moon occurred after the Spring Equinox that year.

Also during the April New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

May 28, 2014 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2014 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday May 28 , 2014 2:40 PM ET or 7:40 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2014 season.

June 27, 2014  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2014 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday June 27, 2014 4:08 AM ET or 9:08 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2014 season as it happened almost a week after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 2014 6:52 AM ET or 11:52AM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 26, 2014 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2014 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday July 26, 2014 6:42 PM ET or 11:42 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2014 season.

August 25, 2014 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 2014 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Monday August 25, 2014 10:13 AM ET or 3:13 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2014 season.

September 24, 2014 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 2014 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Wednesday September 24, 2014 2:14 AM ET or 7:14 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2014 season as it happened a couple of days after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 22, 2014 10:30 PM ET or September 23, 2014 3:30 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2014 season.

October 23, 2014 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2014 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Thursday October 23, 2014 5:57 PM ET or 10:57 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2014 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

November 22, 2014 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2014 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday November 22, 2014 7:32 AM ET or 12:32 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2014 season.

December 21, 2014 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2014 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Sunday December 21, 2014 8:36 PM ET or December 22, 2014 1:36 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2014-2015 season as it occurred a few hours after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday December 21, 2014 6:03 PM ET or 11:03 PM UTC. There were 4 new moons during the Winter 2014-2015 season.

What are the names of the 2014 new moons?

The names of the 2014 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • January (second): New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • March (second): New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

2014 was an usual year because January and March had 2 new moons each. So while the year started off with the new moon name matching the month’s full moon, the names mismatched for the rest of the year.

You’ll also notice that February did not have a new moon because of the double new moons in January and March.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2014?

Yes there were three black moons in 2014 because January and March each had two new moons, and February did not hare a new moon.

2014 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2014 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2014 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2014 12:57 PM ET5:57 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2014 6:52 AM ET11:52AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2014 10:30 PM ETSeptember 23, 2014 3:30 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2014 6:03 PM11:03 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2014 was on Sunday March 30, 2014 2:45 PM ET or 7:45 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2014 was on Friday June 27, 2014 4:08 AM ET or 9:08 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2014 was on Wednesday September 24, 2014 2:14 AM ET or 7:14 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2014 was on Sunday December 21, 2014 8:36 PM ET or December 22, 2014 1:36 AM UTC. It was the December new moon. The winter season had 4 new moons.

New Moons 2014 Calendar