2013 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2013 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2013 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2013 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2013?

In 2013 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2013 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 11, 2013 2:44 PM ET (7:44 PM UTC)
  2. February 10, 2013 2:20 AM ET (7:20 AM UTC)
  3. March 11, 2013 3:51 PM ET (8:51 PM UTC)
  4. April 10, 2013 5:35 AM ET (10:35 AM UTC)
  5. May 9, 2013 8:29 PM ET (May 10, 2013 1:29 AM UTC)
  6. June 8, 2013 11:56 AM ET (4:56 PM UTC)
  7. July 8, 2013 3:14 AM ET (8:14 AM UTC)
  8. August 6, 2013 5:51 PM ET (10:51 PM UTC)
  9. September 5, 2013 7:36 AM ET (12:36 PM UTC)
  10. October 4, 2013 8:35 PM ET (October 5, 2013 1:35 AM UTC)
  11. November 3, 2013 7:50 AM ET (12:50 PM UTC)
  12. December 2, 2013 7:22 PM ET (12:22 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2013 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2013 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2013

For 2013, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of the 2013 New Moons:

January 11, 2013 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2013 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 11, 2013 2:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2012-2013 season as the December 2012 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 10, 2013 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2013 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Sunday February 10, 2013 2:20 AM ET or 7:20 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2012-2013 season.

March 11, 2013 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2013 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday March 11, 2013 3:51 PM ET or 8:51 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2012-2013 season as it happened more than a week before the Spring Equinox 2013.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Wednesday March 20, 2013 7:02 AM ET or 12:02 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 10, 2013 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2013 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 10, 2013 5:35 AM ET or 10:35 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2013 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 9, 2013 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2013 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 9, 2013 8:29 PM ET or May 10, 2013 1:29 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2013 season.

Also during the May New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

June 8, 2013  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2013 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 8, 2013 11:56 AM ET or 4:56 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2013 season as it happened about 2 weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Friday June 21, 2013 1:04 AM ET or 6:04 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 8, 2013 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2013 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 8, 2013 3:14 AM ET or 8:14 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2013 season.

August 6, 2013 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2013 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday August 6, 2013 5:51 PM ET or 10:51 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2013 season.

September 5, 2013 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2013 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Thursday September 5, 2013 7:36 AM ET or 12:36 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2013 season as it happened more than two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Sunday September 22, 2013 4:44 PM ET or 9:44 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2013 season.

October 4, 2013 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2013 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Friday October 4, 2013 8:35 PM ET or October 5, 2013 1:35 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2013 season.

November 3, 2013 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2013 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 3, 2013 7:50 AM ET or 12:50 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2013 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Hybrid Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

December 2, 2013 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2013 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Monday December 2, 2013 7:22 PM ET or 12:22 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2013 season as it occurred more than two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 2013 12:11 PM ET or 5:11 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2013-2014 season.

What are the names of the 2013 new moons?

The names of the 2013 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2013, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, meaning all the names matched.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2013?

No there was not a black moon in 2013 because each month had 1 new moon and each season had 3 new moons.

2013 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2013 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2013 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2013 7:02 AM ET12:02 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2013 1:04 AM ET6:04 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2013 4:44 PM ET9:44 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2013 12:11 PM ET5:11 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2013 was on Wednesday April 10, 2013 5:35 AM ET or 10:35 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2013 was on Monday July 8, 2013 3:14 AM ET or 8:14 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2013 was on Friday October 4, 2013 8:35 PM ET or October 5, 2013 1:35 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2013 was on Wednesday January 1, 2014 6:14 AM ET or 11:14 AM UTC. It was the January 2014 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2013 Calendar