Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2012 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2012 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2012 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2012 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2012?

In 2012 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2012 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 23, 2012 2:39 AM ET (7:39 AM UTC)
  2. February 21, 2012 5:35 PM ET (10:35 PM UTC)
  3. March 22, 2012 10:37 AM ET (3:37 PM UTC)
  4. April 21, 2012 3:18 AM ET (8:18 AM UTC)
  5. May 20, 2012 7:47 PM ET (May 21, 2012 12:47 AM UTC)
  6. June 19, 2012 11:02 AM ET (4:02 PM UTC)
  7. July 19, 2012 12:24 AM ET (5:24 AM UTC)
  8. August 17, 2012 11:55 AM ET (4:55 PM UTC)
  9. September 15, 2012 10:11 PM ET (September 16, 2012 3:11 AM UTC)
  10. October 15, 2012 8:02 AM ET (1:02 PM UTC)
  11. November 13, 2012 5:08 PM ET (10:08 PM UTC)
  12. December 13, 2012 3:42 AM ET (8:42 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2012 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2012 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2012

For 2012, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of the 2012 New Moons:

January 23, 2012 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2012 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday January 23, 2012 2:39 AM ET or 7:39 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2011-2012 season as the December 2011 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 21, 2012 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2012 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday February 21, 2012 5:35 PM ET or 10:35 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2011-2012 season.

March 22 2012 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2012 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 22, 2012 10:37 AM ET or 3:37 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2012 season as it happened a couple of days after the Spring Equinox 2012.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 2012 1:14 AM ET or 6:14 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 4 new moons.

April 21, 2012 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2012 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday April 21, 2012 3:18 AM ET or 8:18 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2012 season.

May 20, 2012 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2012 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday May 20, 2012 7:47 PM ET or May 21, 2012 12:47 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Spring 2012 season.

As it was also the third new moon in a season with 4 new moons, the May 2012 New Moon was also considered a seasonal black moon.

Also during the May New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 7 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

June 19, 2012  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2012 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 19, 2012 11:02 AM ET or 4:02 PM UTC – New Moon. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Spring 2012 season as it happened about a day before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday June 20, 2012 7:08 PM ET or June 21, 2012 12:08 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 19, 2012 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2012 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday July 19, 2012 12:24 AM ET or 5:24 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2012 season.

August 17, 2012 (New Blue Moon)

The August 2012 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Friday August 17, 2012 11:55 AM ET or 4:55 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2012 season.

September 15, 2012 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2012 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Saturday September 15, 2012 10:11 PM ET or September 16, 2012 3:11 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2012 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 22, 2012 10:49 AM ET or 3:49 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2012 season.

October 15, 2012 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2012 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 15, 2012 8:02 AM ET or 1:02 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2012 season.

November 13, 2012 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2012 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday November 13, 2012 5:08 PM ET or 10:08 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2012 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

December 13, 2012 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2012 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Thursday December 13, 2012 3:42 AM ET or 8:42 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2012 season as it occurred about a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 21, 2012 6:12 AM ET or 11:12 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2012-2013 season.

What are the names of the 2012 new moons?

The names of the 2012 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2012, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The August new moon was called a New Blue Moon because August has 2 full moons that year. The new moon in the middle of the month started the lunar cycle for the new moon.

The September new moon was called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2012?

Yes, there was a seasonal black moon in 2012 in May as Spring had an extra new moon.

2012 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2012 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2012 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2012 1:14 AM ET6:14 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 2012 7:08 PM ETJune 21, 2012 12:08 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2012 10:49 AM ET3:49 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2012 6:12 AM ET11:12 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2012 was on Thursday March 22, 2012 10:37 AM ET or 3:37 PM UTC – New Moon. The spring season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2012 was on Thursday July 19, 2012 12:24 AM ET or 5:24 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2012 was on Monday October 15, 2012 8:02 AM ET or 1:02 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2012 was on Friday January 11, 2013 2:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC. It was the January 2013 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2012 Calendar