Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2011 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2011 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2011 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2011 didn’t follow the usual pattern of other years as it had an extra new moon during the year.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2011?

In 2011 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2011 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 4, 2011 4:03 AM ET (9:03 AM UTC)
  2. February 2, 2011 9:31 PM ET (February 3, 2011 2:31 AM UTC)
  3. March 4, 2011 3:46 PM ET (8:46 PM UTC)
  4. April 3, 2011 12:32 AM ET (3:32 PM UTC)
  5. May 3, 2011 2:51 AM ET (7:51 AM UTC)
  6. June 1, 2011 5:03 PM ET (10:03 PM UTC)
  7. July 1, 2011 4:54 AM ET (9:54 AM UTC)
  8. July 30, 2011 2:40 PM ET (7:40 PM UTC)
  9. August 28, 2011 11:04 PM ET (August 29, 2011 4:04 AM UTC)
  10. September 27, 2011 7:09 AM ET (12:09 PM UTC)
  11. October 26, 2011 3:56 PM ET (8:56 PM UTC)
  12. November 25, 2011 1:10 AM ET (6:10 AM UTC)
  13. December 24, 2011 1:06 PM ET (6:06 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2011 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2011 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2011

For 2011, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of the 2011 New Moons:

January 4, 2011 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2011 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday January 4, 2011 4:03 AM ET or 9:03 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season as the December 2010 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

Also during the January New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

February 2, 2011 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2011 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 2, 2011 9:31 PM ET or February 3, 2011 2:31 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season.

March 4, 20011 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2011 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday March 4, 2011 3:46 PM ET or 8:46 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2010-2011 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 2011.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Sunday March 20, 2011 7:21 PM ET or March 21, 2011 12:21 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 3, 2011 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2011 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday April 3, 2011 12:32 AM ET or 3:32 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2011 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 3, 2011 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2011 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday May 3, 2011 2:51 AM ET or 7:51 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2011 season.

June 1, 2011  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2011 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday June 1, 2011 5:03 PM ET or 10:03 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2011 season as it happened a few weeks before the Summer Solstice.

Also during the June New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 14 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday June 21, 2011 1:16 PM ET or 6:16 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 1, 2011 (New Buck Moon)

The first July 2011 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Friday July 1, 2011 4:54 AM ET or 9:54 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2011 season.

Also during the first July New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 15 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

July 30, 2011 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The second July 2011 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Saturday July 30, 2011 2:40 PM ET or 7:40 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2011 season.

August 28, 2011 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 2011 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Sunday August 28, 2011 11:04 PM ET or August 29, 2011 4:04 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2011 season.

September 27, 2011 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 2011 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was Tuesday September 27, 2011 7:09 AM ET or 12:09 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 2011 season as it happened less than a week after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Friday September 23, 2011 5:05 AM ET or 10:05 AM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2011 season.

October 26, 2011 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2011 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Wednesday October 26, 2011 3:56 PM ET or 8:56 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2011 season.

November 25, 2011 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2011 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Friday November 25, 2011 1:10 AM ET or 6:10 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Autumn 2011 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

December 24, 2011 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2011 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday December 24, 2011 1:06 PM ET or 6:06 PM UTC. Along with being a Christmas Eve New Moon, it was the first new moon of the Winter 2011-2012 season, happening after the Winter Solistice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 22, 2011 12:30 AM ET or 5:30 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2011-2012 season.

What are the names of the 2011 new moons?

The names of the 2011 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • July (second new moon): New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For the first half of 2011, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, matching in names.

In July there were two new moons, which the new moons to follow didn’t match the full moon name for the month.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2011?

Yes, there was a black moon in 2011 because July had two new moons. The new moon on July 30 was called a black moon.

2011 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2011 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2011 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2011 7:21 PM ETMarch 21, 2011 12:21 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2011 1:16 PM ET6:16 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2011 5:05 AM ET10:05 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 2011 12:30 AM ET5:30 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2011 was on Sunday April 3, 2011 12:32 AM ET or 3:32 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2011 was on Tuesday September 27, 2011 7:09 AM ET or 12:09 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2011 was on Tuesday September 27, 2011 7:09 AM ET or 12:09 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2011 was on Saturday December 24, 2011 1:06 PM ET or 6:06 PM UTC. It was the December 2011 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2011 Calendar