Home » 2010 to 2019 New Moons » 2010 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2010 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2010 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2010 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2010 New Moon Dates?

In 2010 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2010 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 15, 2010 2:11 AM ET (7:11 AM UTC)
  2. February 13, 2010 9:51 PM ET (February 14, 2010 2:51 AM UTC)
  3. March 15, 2010 5:01 PM ET (10:01 PM UTC)
  4. April 14, 2010 8:29 AM ET or 1:29 PM UTC
  5. May 13, 2010 9:04 PM ET (May 14, 2010 2:04 AM UTC)
  6. June 12, 2010 7:15 AM ET (12:15 PM UTC)
  7. July 11, 2010 3:40 PM ET (8:40 PM UTC)
  8. August 9, 2010 11:08 PM ET (August 10, 2010 04:08 AM UTC)
  9. September 8, 2010 6:30 AM ET (11:30 AM UTC)
  10. October 7, 2010 2:44 PM ET (7:44 PM UTC)
  11. November 5, 2010 11:52 PM ET (November 6, 2010 4:52 AM UTC)
  12. December 5, 2010 12:36 PM ET (5:36 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2010 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2010 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 2010

For 2010, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 2010 New Moons:

January 15, 2010 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2010 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday January 15, 2010 2:11 AM ET or 7:11 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2009-2010 season as the December 2009 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

Also during the January New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

February 13, 2010 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2010 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 13, 2010 9:51 PM ET or February 14, 2010 2:51 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2009-2010 season.

March 15, 2010 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2010 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday March 15, 2010 5:01 PM ET or 10:01 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2009-2010 season as it happened less than a week before the Spring Equinox 2010.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Saturday March 20, 2010 1:32 PM ET or 6:32 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 14, 2010 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2010 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday April 14, 2010 8:29 AM ET or 1:29 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2010 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 13, 2010 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2010 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 13, 2010 9:04 PM ET or May 14, 2010 2:04 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2010 season.

June 12, 2010  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2010 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday June 12, 2010 7:15 AM ET or 12:15 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Spring 2010 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Monday June 21, 2010 7:28 AM ET or 12:28 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 11, 2010 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2010 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Sunday July 11, 2010 3:40 PM ET or 8:40 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2010 season.

Also during the July New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 6 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 9, 2010 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2010 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Monday August 9, 2010 11:08 PM ET or August 10, 2010 04:08 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2010 season.

September 8, 2010 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2010 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Wednesday September 8, 2010 6:30 AM ET or 11:30 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2010 season as it happened about two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 22, 2010 11:09 PM ET or September 23, 2010 4:09 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2010 season.

October 7, 2010 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2010 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Thursday October 7, 2010 2:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2010 season.

November 5, 2010 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2010 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 5, 2010 11:52 PM ET or November 6, 2010 4:52 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2010 season.

December 5, 2010 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2010 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Sunday December 5, 2010 12:36 PM ET or 5:36 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2010 season as it occurred more than two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday December 21, 2010 6:38 PM ET or 11:38 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2010-2011 season.

What are the names of the 2010 new moons?

The names of the 2010 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2010, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month meaning the names matched.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2010?

No, there was not a black moon in 2010. Each month had 1 new moon and each season had 3 new moons.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

2010 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2010 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2010 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2010 1:32 PM ET6:32 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2010 7:28 AM ET12:28 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2010 11:09 PM ETSeptember 23, 2010 4:09 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2010 6:38 PM ET11:38 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2010 was on Wednesday April 14, 2010 8:29 AM ET or 1:29 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2010 was on Sunday July 11, 2010 3:40 PM ET or 8:40 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2010 was on Thursday October 7, 2010 2:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC- New Moon. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2010 was on Tuesday January 4, 2011 4:03 AM ET or 9:03 AM UTC. It was the January 2011 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2010 Calendar