Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2009 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2009 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2009 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2009 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2009 New Moon Dates?

In 2009 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2009 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 26, 2009 2:55 AM ET (7:55 AM UTC)
  2. February 24, 2009 8:35 PM ET (February 25, 2009 1:35 AM UTC)
  3. March 26, 2009 12:06 PM ET (5:06 PM UTC)
  4. April 24, 2009 11:23 PM (April 25, 2009)
  5. May 24, 2009 8:11 AM ET (1:11 PM UTC)
  6. June 22, 2009 3:35 PM ET (8:35 PM UTC)
  7. July 21, 2009 10:35 PM ET (July 22, 2009 3:35 AM UTC)
  8. August 20, 2009 6:01 AM ET (11:01 AM UTC)
  9. September 18, 2009 2:44 PM ET (7:44 PM UTC)
  10. October 18, 2009 1:33 AM ET (6:33 AM UTC)
  11. November 16, 2009 2:14 ET (7:14 PM UTC)
  12. December 16, 2009 7:02 AM ET (12:02 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2009 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2009 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2009

For 2009, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2009 New Moons:

January 26, 2009 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2009 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Monday January 26, 2009 2:55 AM ET or 7:55 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2008-2009 season as the December 2008 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

Also during the January New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes the peak of the new moon.

February 24, 2009 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2009 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday February 24, 2009 8:35 PM ET or February 25, 2009 1:35 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2008-2008 season.

March 26, 2009 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2009 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Thursday March 26, 2009 12:06 PM ET or 5:06 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2009 season as it happened about a week after the Spring Equinox 2009.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 2009 7:44 AM ET or 12:44 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 24, 2009 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2009 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Friday April 24, 2009 11:23 PM ET or April 25, 2009 4:23 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2008 season because the March new moon occurred after the Spring Equinox that year.

May 24, 2009 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2009 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday May 24, 2009 8:11 AM ET or 1:11 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2008 season.

June 22, 2009  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2009 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday June 22, 2009 3:35 PM ET or 8:35 PM UTC . This was the first new moon of the Summer 2009 season as it happened about a day after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 21, 2009 1:45 AM ET or 6:45 AM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 21, 2009 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2009 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday July 21, 2009 10:35 PM ET or July 22, 2009 3:35 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2009 season.

Also during the July New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak at the same time as the peak of the new moon.

August 20, 2009 (New Corn Moon)

The August 2009 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Thursday August 20, 2009 6:01 AM ET or 11:01 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2009 season. Since the summer season had 4 new moons, the August New Moon was also considered a seasonal black moon.

September 18, 2009 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2009 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Friday September 18, 2009 2:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 2009 season as it happened a few days before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 22, 2009 5:18 PM ET or 10:18 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2009 season.

October 18, 2009 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2009 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday October 18, 2009 1:33 AM ET or 6:33 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2009 season.

November 16, 2009 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2009 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Monday November 16, 2009 2:14 ET or 7:14 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2009 season.

December 16, 2009 (New Blue Moon)

The December 2009 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday December 16, 2009 7:02 AM ET or 12:02 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2009 season as it occurred about a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 2009 12:47 PM ET or 5:47 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2009-2010 season.

What are the names of 2009 new moons?

The names of the 2009 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Blue Moon

For most of 2009, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The December new moon was called a New Blue Moon because December 2009 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2009?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2009 each month had at least 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. The Summer 2009 season had 4 new moons, meaning the August New Moon was considered a seasonal black moon as the third new moon that season.

2009 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2009 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2009 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2009 7:44 AM ET12:44 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2009 1:45 AM ET6:45 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2009 5:18 PM ET10:18 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2009 12:47 PM ET5:47 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2009 was on Thursday March 26, 2009 12:06 PM ET or 5:06 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2009 was on Monday June 22, 2009 3:35 PM ET or 8:35 PM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2009 was on Sunday October 18, 2009 1:33 AM ET or 6:33 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2009 was on Friday January 15, 2010 2:11 AM ET or 7:11 AM UTC. It was the January 2010 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2009 New Moon Calendar to help you look back at the year.

How many new moons were there in 2009?

There were 12 new moons in 2009 with one new moon each month of the year. Each season had three new moons except for summer which had four.

When was the first new moon of 2009?

The first new moon of 2009 was on Monday January 26, 2009 at 2:55 AM EST or 7:55 AM UTC. It was the new moon in Aquarius and also called the New Snow Moon. The January 26th new moon was be the second new moon of the Winter 2008-2009 season as the December 2008 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon after the spring equinox 2009?

The first new moon after the Spring Equinox 2029 was on Thursday March 26, 2009 at 12:06 PM EDT or 5:06 PM UTC. The March 2009 new moon was the new moon in Aries and also called the New Pink Moon.

When is the last new moon of 2009?

The last new moon of 2009 was on Wednesday December 16, 2009 7:02 AM EST or 12:02 PM UTC. It was the new moon in sagittarius and also called the New Blue Moon. The December 16th new moon was the last new moon of the Autumn 2009 season as the last new moon before the Winter Solstice in 2009.
New Moons 2009 Calendar