Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2008 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2008 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2008 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2008 had one additional one compared to the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2008 New Moon Dates?

In 2008 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2008 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 08, 2008 6:37 AM ET (11:37 AM UTC)
  2. February 6, 2008 10:44 PM ET (February 7, 2008 3:44 AM UTC)
  3. March 7, 2008 12:14 PM ET (5:14 PM UTC)
  4. April 5, 2008 11:55 PM ET (April 6, 2008 4:55 AM UTC)
  5. May 5, 2008 8:18 ET AM (1:18 PM UTC)
  6. June 3, 2008 3:23 PM ET (8:23 PM UTC)
  7. July 2, 2008 10:19 PM ET (July 3, 2008 3:19 AM UTC)
  8. August 1, 2008 6:13 AM ET (11:13 AM UTC)
  9. August 30, 2008 3:58 PM ET (8:58 PM UTC)
  10. September 29, 2008 4:12 AM ET (9:12 AM UTC)
  11. October 28, 2008 6:14 PM ET (11:14 PM UTC)
  12. November 27, 2008 11:55 AM ET (4:55 PM UTC)
  13. December 27, 2008 7:22 AM ET (12:22 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2008 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of the moon for the 2008 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2008

For 2008, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2008 New Moons:

January 8, 2008 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2008 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday January 08, 2008 6:37 AM ET or 11:37 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2007-2008 season as the December 2007 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 6, 2008 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2008 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday February 6, 2008 10:44 PM ET or February 7, 2008 3:44 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2007-2008 season.

Also during the February New Moon, there was an Annual Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

March 7, 2008 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2008 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday March 7, 2008 12:14 PM ET or 5:14 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2007-2008 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 2008.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Thursday March 20, 2008 1:49 AM ET or 6:49 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 5, 2008 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2008 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Saturday April 5, 2008 11:55 PM ET or April 6, 2008 4:55 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2008 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 5, 2008 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2008 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday May 5, 2008 8:18 ET AM or 1:18 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2008 season.

June 3, 2008  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2008 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday June 3, 2008 3:23 PM ET or 8:23 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2008 season as it happened about a few weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Friday June 20, 2008 8:00 PM ET or June 21, 2008 1:00 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 2, 2008 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2008 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 2, 2008 10:19 PM ET or July 3, 2008 3:19 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2008 season.

August 1, 2008 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The first August 2008 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday August 1, 2008 6:13 AM ET or 11:13 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2008 season.

Also during the first August New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 9 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

August 30, 2008 (New Harvest Moon)

The second August 2008 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Saturday August 30, 2008 3:58 PM ET or 8:58 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2008 season as it happened more than a few weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

September 29, 2008 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The September 2008 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday September 29, 2008 4:12 AM ET or 9:12 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 2008 season.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 22, 2008 11:45 ET or 4:45 PM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2008 season.

October 28, 2008 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2008 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday October 28, 2008 6:14 PM ET or 11:14 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2008 season.

November 27, 2008 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2008 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Thursday November 27, 2008 11:55 AM ET or 4:55 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2008 season.

December 27, 2008 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2008 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Saturday December 27, 2008 7:22 AM ET or 12:22 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2008-2009 season as it occurred less than a week after the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday December 21, 2008 7:04 AM ET or 12:04 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2007-2008 season.

What are the names of 2008 new moons?

The names of the 2008 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August (Second): New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 2008, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in most names matching.

The second August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2008?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2008 each month had at least 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. Each season during 2008 had 3 new moons, meaning there wasn’t a seasonal black moon either.

2008 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2008 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2008 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2008 1:49 AM ET6:49 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 2008 8:00 PM ETJune 21, 2008 1:00 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2008 11:45 ET4:45 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2008 7:04 AM ET12:04 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2008 was on Saturday April 5, 2008 11:55 PM ET or April 6, 2008 4:55 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2008 was on Wednesday July 2, 2008 10:19 PM ET or July 3, 2008 3:19 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2008 was on Monday September 29, 2008 4:12 AM ET or 9:12 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2008 was on Saturday December 27, 2008 7:22 AM ET or 12:22 PM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2008 Calendar