Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2007 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2007 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2007 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2007 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2007 New Moon Dates?

In 2007 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2007 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 18, 2007 11:01 PM ET (January 19, 2007 4:01 AM UTC)
  2. February 17, 2007 11:14 AM ET (4:14 PM UTC)
  3. March 18, 2007 10:43 PM ET (March 19, 2007 3:43 AM UTC)
  4. April 17, 2007 7:36 AM ET (12:36 PM UTC)
  5. May 16, 2007 3:27 PM ET (8:27 PM UTC)
  6. June 14, 2007 11:13 PM ET (June 15, 2007 4:13 AM UTC)
  7. July 14, 2007 8:04 AM ET (1:04 PM UTC)
  8. August 12, 2007 7:03 PM ET (August 13, 2007 12:03 AM UTC)
  9. September 11, 2007 8:44 AM ET (1:44 PM UTC)
  10. October 11, 2007 1:01 AM ET (6:01 AM UTC)
  11. November 9, 2007 6:03 PM ET (11:03 PM UTC)
  12. December 9, 2007 12:40 PM ET (5:40 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2007 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2007 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2007

For 2007, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2007 New Moons:

January 18, 2007 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2007 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Thursday January 18, 2007 Th 11:01 PM ET or January 19, 2007 4:01 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2006-2007 season as the December 2006 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 17, 2007 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2007 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Saturday February 17, 2007 11:14 AM ET or 4:14 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2006-2007 season.

March 18, 2007 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2007 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Sunday March 18, 2007 10:43 PM ET or March 19, 2007 3:43 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2006-2007 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 2007.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 10 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 2007 8:07 PM ET or March 21, 2007 01:07 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 17, 2007 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2007 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Tuesday April 17, 2007 7:36 ET AM or 12:36 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2007 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 16, 2007 (New Blue Moon)

The May 2007 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Wednesday May 16, 2007 3:27 PM ET or 8:27 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2007 season.

June 14, 2007  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2007 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Thursday June 14, 2007 11:13 PM ET or June 15, 2007 4:13 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2007 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 21, 2007 2:06 PM ET or 7:06 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 14, 2007 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2007 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Saturday July 14, 2007 8:04 AM ET or 1:04 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2007 season.

August 12, 2007 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2007 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 12, 2007 7:03 PM ET or August 13, 2007 12:03 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2007 season.

September 11, 2007 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2007 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Tuesday September 11, 2007 8:44 AM ET or 1:44 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2007 season as it happened more than. week about a day before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the September New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 12 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Sunday September 23, 2007 5:51 AM ET or 10:51 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2007 season.

October 11, 2007 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2007 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Thursday October 11, 2007 1:01 AM ET or 6:01 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2007 season.

November 9, 2007 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2007 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 9, 2007 6:03 PM ET or 11:03 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2007 season.

December 9, 2007 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2007 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Sunday December 09, 2007 12:40 PM ET or 5:40 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2007 season as it occurred almost two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 22, 2007 1:08 AM ET or 6:08 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2007-2008 season.

What are the names of 2007 new moons?

The names of the 2007 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Blue Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 2007, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The May new moon was called a New Blue Moon because May 2007 had a blue moon that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2007?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2007 each month had at least 1 new moon so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. Each season during 2007 had 3 new moons, meaning there wasn’t a seasonal black moon either.

2007 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2007 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2007 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2007 8:07 PM ETMarch 21, 2007 01:07 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2007 2:06 PM ET7:06 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2007 5:51 AM ET10:51 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 2007 1:08 AM ET6:08 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2007 was on Tuesday April 17, 2007 7:36 ET AM or 12:36 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2007 was on Saturday July 14, 2007 8:04 AM ET or 1:04 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2007 was on Thursday October 11, 2007 1:01 AM ET or 6:01 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2007 was on Tuesday January 8, 2008 6:37 AM ET or 11:37 AM UTC. It was the January 2008 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2007 Calendar