Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2006 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2006 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2006 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2006 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 2006 New Moon Dates?

In 2006 there were 12 new moons. The dates of the 2006 new moons were:

  1. January 29, 2006 9:15 AM ET (2:15 PM UTC)
  2. February 27, 2006 7:31 PM ET (February 28, 2006 12:31 AM UTC)
  3. March 29, 2006 6:15 AM ET (11:15 AM UTC)
  4. April 27, 2006 3:44 PM ET (8:44 PM UTC)
  5. May 27, 2006 1:26 AM ET (6:26 AM UTC)
  6. June 25, 2006 12:05 PM ET (5:05 PM UTC)
  7. July 25, 2006 12:31 AM ET (5:31 AM UTC)
  8. August 23, 2006 3:10 PM ET (8:10 PM UTC)
  9. September 22, 2006 7:45 AM ET (12:45 PM UTC)
  10. October 22, 2006 1:14 AM ET (6:14 AM UTC)
  11. November 20, 2006 5:18 PM ET (10:18 PM UTC)
  12. December 20, 2006 9:01 AM ET (2:01 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2006 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2006 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2006

For 2006, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The names and dates of the new moons in 2006 were:

January 29, 2006 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2006 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Sunday January 29, 2006 9:15 AM ET or 2:15 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2005-2006 season as the December 2005 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 27, 2006 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2006 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday February 27, 2006 7:31 PM ET or February 28, 2006 12:31 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Winter 2005-2006 season.

March 29, 2006 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2006 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Wednesday March 29, 2006 6:15 AM ET or 11:15 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2006 season as it happened a few days after the Spring Equinox 2006.

Also during the March New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Monday March 20, 2006 2:25 PM ET or 7:25 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 27, 2006 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2006 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday April 27, 2006 3:44 PM ET or 8:44 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2006 season because the March new moon occurred after the Spring Equinox that year.

May 27, 2006 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2006 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday May 27, 2006 1:26 AM ET or 6:26 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2006 season.

June 25, 2006  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2006 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Sunday June 25, 2006 12:05 PM ET or 5:05 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2006 season as it happened a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday June 21, 2006 8:26 AM ET or 1:26 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 25, 2006 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2006 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday July 25, 2006 12:31 AM ET or 5:31 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2006 season.

August 23, 2006 (New Corn Moon)

The August 2006 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Wednesday August 23, 2006 3:10 PM ET or 8:10 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2006 season. And because this was the third new moon in a season with 4, the August new moon was also considered a seasonal black moon.

September 22, 2006 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2006 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Friday September 22, 2006 7:45 AM ET or 12:45 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 2006 season as it happened about a day before the Autumn Equinox.

Also during the September New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 23, 2006 12:04 AM ET or 5:04 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2006 season.

October 22, 2006 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2006 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday October 22, 2006 1:14 AM ET or 6:14 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2006 season.

November 20, 2006 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2006 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Monday November 20, 2006 5:18 PM ET or 10:18 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2006 season.

December 20, 2006 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2006 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Wednesday December 20, 2006 9:01 AM ET or 2:01 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2006 season as it occurred about a day before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 21, 2006 7:22 PM ET or December 22, 2006 12:22 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2006-2007 season.

What are the names of 2006 new moons?

The names of the 2006 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For most of 2006, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2006?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2006 each month had at least 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. In 2006 the summer season had 4 new moons, meaning the August New Moon was a seasonal black moon.

2006 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2006 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox/SolsticeMonth2006 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2006 2:25 PM ET7:25 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2006 8:26 AM ET1:26 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2006 12:04 AM ET5:04 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2006 7:22 PM ETDecember 22, 2006 12:22 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2006 was on Wednesday March 29, 2006 6:15 AM ET or 11:15 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2006 was on Sunday June 25, 2006 12:05 PM ET or 5:05 PM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2006 was on Sunday October 22, 2006 1:14 AM ET or 6:14 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2006 was on Thursday January 18, 2007 11:01 PM ET or January 19, 2007 4:01 AM UTC. It was the January 2007 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2006 Calendar