Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2005 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2005 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2005 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2005 had an additional new moon compared to the usual patterns of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2005?

In 2005 there were 13 new moons. The dates of the new moons in 2005 were:

  1. January 10, 2005 7:03 AM ET (12:03 PM UTC)
  2. February 8, 2005 5:28 PM ET (10:28 PM UTC)
  3. March 10, 2005 4:10 AM ET (9:10 AM UTC)
  4. April 8, 2005 4:32 PM ET (9:32 PM UTC)
  5. May 8, 2005 4:45 AM ET (9:45 AM UTC)
  6. June 6, 2005 5:55 PM ET (10:55 PM UTC)
  7. July 6, 2005 8:03 AM ET (1:03 PM UTC)
  8. August 4, 2005 11:05 PM ET (August 5, 2005 4:05 AM UTC)
  9. September 3, 2005 2:46 PM ET (7:46 PM UTC)
  10. October 3, 2005 6:28 AM ET (11:28 AM UTC)
  11. November 1, 2005 8:25 PM ET (November 2, 2005 1:25 AM UTC)
  12. December 1, 2005 10:01 AM ET (3:01 PM UTC)
  13. December 30, 2005 10:12 PM ET (December 31, 2005 3:12 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2005 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2005 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2005

For 2005, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early-January setting up the year to have the 13 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The names and dates of the new moons in 2005 were:

January 10, 2005 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2005 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Monday January 10, 2005 7:03 AM ET or 12:03 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2004-2005 season as the December 2004 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 8, 2005 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2005 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Tuesday February 8, 2005 5:28 PM ET or 10:28 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2004-2005 season.

March 10, 2005 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2005 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Thursday March 10, 2005 4:10 AM ET or 9:10 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2004-2005 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Spring Equinox 2005.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Sunday March 20, 2005 8:34 AM ET or 1:34 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 8, 2005 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2005 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday April 8, 2005 4:32 PM ET or 9:32 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2005 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

Also during the April New Moon, there was a Hybrid Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

May 8, 2005 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2005 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Sunday May 8, 2005 4:45 AM ET or 9:45 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2005 season.

June 6, 2005  (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2005 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday June 6, 2005 5:55 PM ET or 10:55 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2005 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday June 21, 2005 2:46 AM ET or 7:46 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 6, 2005 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2005 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 6, 2005 8:03 AM ET or 1:03 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2005 season.

August 4, 2005 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2005 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 4, 2005 11:05 PM ET or August 5, 2005 4:05 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2005 season.

September 3, 2005 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2005 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Saturday September 3, 2005 2:46 PM ET or 7:46 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2005 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Thursday September 22, 2005 6:23 PM ET or 11:23 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2005 season.

October 3, 2005 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2005 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Monday October 3, 2005 6:28 AM ET or 11:28 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2005 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

November 1, 2005 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2005 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday November 1, 2005 2005 8:25 PM ET or November 2, 2005 1:25 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2005 season.

December 1, 2005 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2005 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Thursday December 1, 2005 10:01 AM ET or 3:01 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2005 season as it occurred a couple of weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday December 21, 2005 1:35 PM ET or 6:35 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2005-2006 season.

December 30, 2005 (New Wolf Moon)

The second December 2005 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday December 30, 2005 10:12 PM ET or December 31, 2005 3:12 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2005-2006 season as it occurred about a week after the Winter Solstice. The second Winter Season new moon will be the January 2006 new moon.

What are the names of 2005 new moons?

The names of the 2005 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon
  • December (Second): New Wolf Moon

For most of 2005, the new moon name matched the month’s new moon name because the two fell in the same month together. With December having 2 new moons, the 2006 new moon names won’t match the same way.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2005?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2005 each month had at least 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. In 2005 each season had 3 new moons, so there wasn’t a seasonal black moon either.

2005 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2005 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox/SolsticeMonth2005 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2005 8:34 AM ET1:34 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2005 2:46 AM ET7:46 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2005 6:23 PM ET11:23 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2005 1:35 PM ET6:35 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2005 was on Friday April 8, 2005 4:32 PM ET or 9:32 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2005 was on Wednesday July 6, 2005 8:03 AM ET or 1:03 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2005 was on Thursday September 22, 2005 6:23 PM ET or 11:23 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2005 was on Friday December 30, 2005 10:12 PM ET or December 31, 2005 3:12 AM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2005 Calendar