Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2004 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2004 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2004 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2004 had an additional new moon compared to the usual patterns of other years.

What were the dates of the new moons in 2004

In 2004 there were 12 new moons. The dates of the 2004 new moons were:

  1. January 21, 2004 at 4:05 PM ET (9:05 PM UTC)
  2. February 20, 2004 at 4:18 AM ET (9:18 AM UTC)
  3. March 20, 2004 at 6:41 PM ET (11:41 PM UTC)
  4. April 19, 2004 at 9:21 AM ET (2:21 PM UTC)
  5. May 19, 2004 at 12:52 AM ET (5:52 AM UTC)
  6. June 17, 2004 at 4:27 PM ET (9:27 PM UTC)
  7. July 17, 2004 at 7:24 AM ET (12:24 PM UTC)
  8. August 15, 2004 at 9:24 PM ET (August 16, 2004 2:24 AM UTC)
  9. September 14, 2004 at 10:29 AM ET (3:29 PM UTC)
  10. October 13, 2004 at 10:48 PM ET (October 14, 2004 3:48 AM UTC)
  11. November 12, 2004 at 9:27 AM ET (2:27 PM UTC)
  12. December 11, 2004 at 8:29 PM ET (December 12, 2004 1:29 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2004 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2004 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2004

For 2004, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in later-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The names and dates of the new moons in 2004 were:

January 21, 2004 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2004 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday January 21, 2004 4:05 PM ET or 9:05 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2003-2004 season as the December 2003 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 20, 2004 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2004 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday February 20, 2004 04:18 AM ET or 09:18 AM UTC. It was the third and final of the Winter 2003-2004 season.

March 20, 2004 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2004 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Saturday March 20, 2004 6:41 PM ET or 11:41 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2004 season as it happened about four hours after the Spring Equinox 2004.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Saturday March 20, 2004 02:49 AM ET or 07:49 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 4 new moons.

April 19, 2004 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2004 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday April 19, 2004 09:21 AM ET or 2:21 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2004 season because the March new moon occurred after the Spring Equinox that year.

Also during the April New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 13 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

May 19, 2004 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2004 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Wednesday May 19, 2004 12:52 AM ET or 05:52 AM UTC. It was the third new moon of the Spring 2004 season. It will also be considered a seasonal black moon because the Spring 2004 season has 4 new moons.

June 17, 2004  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2004 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Thursday June 17, 2004 4:27 PM ET or 9:27 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Spring 2004 season as it happened a few days before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 20, 2004 8:57 PM ET or June 21, 2004 01:57 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 17, 2004 (New Blue Moon)

The July 2004 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Saturday July 17, 2004 07:24 AM ET or 12:24 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2004 season. While New Blue Moon is an unofficial name, it was the new moon for a Full Blue Moon that would occur at the end of July 2004.

August 15, 2004 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2004 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday August 15, 2004 9:24 PM ET or August 16, 2004 02:24 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2004 season.

September 14, 2004 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2004 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Tuesday September 14, 2004 10:29 AM ET or 3:29 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2004 season as it happened about a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 22, 2004 12:30 PM ET or 5:30 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2004 season.

October 13, 2004 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2004 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Wednesday October 13, 2004 10:48 PM ET or October 14, 2004 03:48 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2004 season.

Also during the October New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 11 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

November 12, 2004 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2004 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday November 12, 2004 09:27 AM ET or 2:27 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2004 season.

December 11, 2004 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2004 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday December 11, 2004 8:29 PM ET or December 12, 2004 01:29 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2004 season as it occurred a couple of weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday December 21, 2004 07:42 AM ET or 12:42 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2004-2005 season. The first new moon of the Winter season was in January 2005.

What are the names of 2004 new moons?

The names of the 2004 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Blue Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

2004 was an interesting year when it came to naming new moons. For the first half of the year, the new moon for the upcoming full moon was in the calendar month prior. With July having 2 full moons, the July New Moon was left without a traditional name.

While the New Blue Moon isn’t an official name, it was the new moon for an upcoming full blue moon. And then, for the rest of the year, the new moon and full moon were in the same month, realigning the names.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2004?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2004 each month had at least 1 new moon so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition.

A seasonal black moon occurs when a season has 4 new moons, making the third new moon the black moon. During the Spring 2004 season, there were 4 new moons, and the May 2004 new moon would have been considered a seasonal black moon.

2004 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2004 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox/SolsticeMonth2004 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2004 02:49 AM ET07:49 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 20, 2004 8:57 PM ET June 21, 2004 01:57 AM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2004 12:30 PM ET5:30 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2004 07:42 AM ET12:42 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2004 was on Saturday March 20, 2004 6:41 PM ET or 11:41 PM UTC. The spring season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2004 was on Saturday July 17, 2004 07:24 AM ET or 12:24 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2004 was on Wednesday September 22, 2004 12:30 PM ET or 5:30 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2004 was the January 2005 new moon on Monday January 10, 2005 07:03 AM ET or 12:03 PM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2004 New Moon Calendar as you look back to the year in the past.

How many new moons were in 2004?

There were 12 new moons in 2004 because each month had 1 new moon that year. Most seasons had 3 new moons, with Spring 2004 having 4.

When was the first new moon of 2004?

The first new moon of 2004 was on Wednesday January 21, 2004 4:05 PM ET or 9:05 PM UTC. It was late enough in January to set up the year to have 12 new moons. It was the second new moon of the Winter 2003-2004 season as the December 2003 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon of Spring 2004?

The first new moon of Spring 2004 was in March on Saturday March 20, 2004 6:41 PM ET or 11:41 PM UTC as it was the first new moon after the Spring 2004 equinox. The March 2004 new moon was about four hours after the Spring Equinox. The timing of this new moon also set up Spring 2004 to have a black moon.

When was the new moon in January 2004?

The new moon in January 2004 was on Wednesday January 21, 2004 4:05 PM ET or 9:05 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of 2004 and the second new moon of the Winter 2003-2004 season as the December 2003 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice. The January 2004 new moon was called the New Snow Moon.

When was the new moon in February 2004?

The new moon in February 2004 was on Friday February 20, 2004 04:18 AM ET or 09:18 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the 2004 year and the third new moon of the Winter 2003-2004 season. The February 2004 new moon was called the New Worm Moon.

When was the new moon in March 2004?

The new moon in March 2004 was on Saturday March 20, 2004 6:41 PM ET or 11:41 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the year, and the first new moon of the Spring 2004 season as it occurred about four hours after the Spring Equinox 2004. The March 2004 new moon was called the New Pink Moon.

When was the new moon in April 2004?

The new moon in April 2004 was on Monday April 19, 2004 09:21 AM ET or 2:21 PM UTC. This was the fourth new moon of the year and the second new moon of the Spring 2004 season. The April 2004 new moon was called the New Flower Moon.

When was the new moon in May 2004?

The new moon in May 2004 was on Wednesday May 19, 2004 12:52 AM ET or 05:52 AM UTC. It was the fifth new moon of the year. It was also the third new moon of the Spring 2004 season. Because of the Spring season four new moons, the May New Moon was considered a seasonal black moon. The May 2004 new moon was called the New Strawberry Moon.

When was the new moon in June 2004?

The new moon in June 2004 was on Thursday June 17, 2004 4:27 PM ET or 9:27 PM UTC. It was the sixth new moon of the year. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Spring 2004 season as it occurred less than a week before the Summer Solstice. The June 2004 new moon was called the New Buck Moon.

When was the new moon in July 2004?

The new moon in July 2004 was on Saturday July 17, 2004 07:24 AM ET or 12:24 PM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of the year. It was also the first new moon of the Summer 2004 season the June new moon occurred before the Summer Solstice. The July 2004 new moon was called the New Blue Moon, an unofficial name because it was the new moon for a Full Blue Moon that month.

When was the new moon in August 2004?

The new moon in August 2004 was on Sunday August 15, 2004 9:24 PM ET or August 16, 2004 02:24 AM UTC. It was the eighth new moon of the year. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2004 season. The August 2004 new moon was called the New Sturgeon Moon.

When was the new moon in September 2004?

The new moon in September 2004 was on Tuesday September 14, 2004 10:29 AM ET or 3:29 PM UTC. It was the ninth new moon of the year. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2004 season. The September 2004 new moon was called the New Harvest Moon.

When was the new moon in October 2004?

The new moon in October 2004 was on Wednesday October 13, 2004 10:48 PM ET or October 14, 2004 03:48 AM UTC. It was the tenth new moon of the year. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2004 season. The October 2004 new moon was called the New Hunter’s Moon.

When was the new moon in November 2004?

The new moon in November 2004 was on Friday November 12, 2004 09:27 AM ET or 2:27 PM UTC. It was the eleventh new moon of the year. This was also the second new moon of the Fall 2004 season. The November 2004 new moon was called the New Beaver Moon.

When was the new moon in December 2004?

The new moon in December 2004 was on Saturday December 11, 2004 8:29 PM ET or December 12, 2004 01:29 AM UTC. It was the twelfth new moon of the year. This was also the third and last new moon of the Fall 2004 season. The December 2004 new moon was called the New Cold Moon.

When were the Spring 2004 new moons?

In Spring 2004, there were 4 new moons. The first was on Saturday March 20, 2004 6:41 PM ET or 11:41 PM UTC. The second was on Monday April 19, 2004 09:21 AM ET or 2:21 PM UTC. The third was on Wednesday May 19, 2004 12:52 AM ET or 05:52 AM UTC. The fourth was on Thursday June 17, 2004 4:27 PM ET or 9:27 PM UTC.

Spring 2004 began with the Vernal Equinox on Saturday March 20, 2004 02:49 AM ET or 07:49 AM UTC, and ended with the Summer Solstice on Sunday June 20, 2004 8:57 PM ET or June 21, 2004 01:57 AM UTC.

New Moons 2004 Calendar