Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2003 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2003 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2003 Calendar had 13 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 2003 had one extra new moon, breaking with the usual pattern of only one new moon each month.

What were the 2003 New Moon Dates?

In 2003 there were 13 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2003 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 2, 2003 3:23 PM ET (8:23 PM UTC)
  2. February 1, 2003 5:48 AM ET (10:48 AM UTC)
  3. March 2, 2003 9:35 PM ET (March 3, 2003 2:35 AM UTC)
  4. April 1, 2003 3:19 PM ET (8:19 PM UTC)
  5. May 1, 2003 8:15 AM ET (1:15 PM UTC)
  6. May 31, 2003 12:20 AM ET (5:20 AM UTC)
  7. June 29, 2003 2:39 PM ET (7:39 PM UTC)
  8. July 29, 2003 2:53 AM ET (7:53 AM UTC)
  9. August 27, 2003 1:26 PM ET (6:26 PM UTC)
  10. September 25, 2003 11:09 PM ET (September 26, 2003 4:09 AM UTC)
  11. October 25, 2003 8:50 AM ET (1:50 PM UTC)
  12. November 23, 2003 5:59 PM ET (10:59 PM UTC)
  13. December 23, 2003 4:43 AM ET (9:43 AM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2003 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2003 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon Calendar 2003

For 2003, there were 13 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in early January setting up the year to have an additional new moon. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each new moon and how they fit into each season.

The names and dates of the new moons in 2003 were:

January 2, 2003 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2003 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Thursday January 2, 2003 3:23 PM ET or 8:23 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2002-2003 season as the December 2002 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 1, 2003 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2003 new moon, also called New Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 1, 2003 5:48 AM ET or 10:48 AM UTC. It was the second of the Winter 2002-2003 season.

March 2, 2003 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2003 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Sunday March 2, 2003 21:35 PM ET or March 3, 2003 2:35 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2002-2003 season as it happened a few weeks before the Spring Equinox 2003.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was Thursday March 20, 2003 9:00 PM ET or March 21, 2003 2:00 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 1, 2003 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2003 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Tuesday April 1, 2003 3:19 PM ET or 8:19 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2003 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 1, 2003 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2003 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday May 1, 2003 8:15 AM ET or 1:15 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2003 season.

May 31, 2003 (New Strawberry Moon)

The second May 2003 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Saturday May 31, 2003 12:20 AM ET or 05:20 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2003 season.

An Annular Solar Eclipse happened during the second May New Moon, with the peak being about 11 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

June 29, 2003 (New Buck Moon)

The June 2003 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Sunday June 29, 2003 2:39 PM ET or 7:39 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2003 season as it happened a few days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday June 21, 2003 3:11 PM ET or 8:11 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 29, 2003 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2003 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Tuesday July 29, 2003 02:53 AM ET or 07:53 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2003 season.

August 27, 2003 (New Harvest Moon)

The August 2003 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Wednesday August 27, 2003 1:26 PM ET or 6:26 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 2003 season.

September 25, 2003 (New Huner’s Moon)

The September 2003 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Thursday September 25, 2003 11:09 PM ET or Friday Sept 26, 2003 4:09 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Autumn 2003 season as it happened a few days after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Tuesday September 23, 2003 6:47 AM ET or 11:47 AM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2003 season.

October 25, 2003 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2003 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Saturday October 25, 2003 8:50 AM ET or 1:50 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2003 season.

November 23, 2003 (New Cold Moon)

The November 2003 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Sunday November 23, 2003 5:59 PM ET or 10:59 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2003 season.

Also during the November New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 9 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

December 23, 2003 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 2003 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Tuesday December 23, 2003 04:43 AM ET or 09:43 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2003-2004 season as it occurred about a day after the Winter Solstice. The December new moon occurred after the Winter season began.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 22, 2003 02:04 AM ET or 07:04 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2003-2004 season.

What were the names of 2003 new moons?

The names of the 2003 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • May (second): New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

Since the 2003 full moons occurred towards the middle of each month, in the first half of the year, the new moon names matched the months’ full moon names.

As there was a second new moon in May, the names for the second half of the year did not match the associated monthly full moons.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2003?

There was a black moon in May 2003 because the month had two new moons

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

.

New Moons 2003 Calendar