Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2002 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2002 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2002 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Picture of moon for the 2002 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

When were the new moons in 2002?

In 2002 there were 12 new moons. The names and dates of the new moons in 2002 were:

  • February 12, 2002: New Wolf Moon
  • March 13, 2002: New Worm Moon
  • April 12, 2002: New Pink Moon
  • May 12, 2002: New Flower Moon
  • June 10, 2002: New Strawberry Moon
  • July 10, 2002: New Buck Moon
  • August 8, 2002: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September 6, 2002: New Harvest Moon
  • October 6, 2002: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November 4, 2002: New Beaver Moon
  • December 4, 2002: New Cold Moon

New Moon 2002 Calendar

For 2002, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the typical 12 new moons per year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

New Moon 2002New Moon NameSignUS Eastern TimeUTC Time
January 13, 2002New Wolf MoonCapricorn8:29  AM EST1:29 PM UTC
February 12, 2002New Snow MoonAquarius2:41  AM EST7:41 AM UTC
March 13, 2002New Worm MoonPisces9:03  PM EST2:03 AM UTC
(March 14)
April 12, 2002New Pink MoonAries3:21 PM EDT7:21 PM UTC
May 12, 2002New Flower MoonTaurus6:45 AM EDT10:45 AM UTC
June 10, 2002New Strawberry MoonGemini7:46 PM EDT11:46 PM UTC
July 10, 2002New Buck MoonCancer6:26 AM EDT10:26 AM UTC
August 8, 2002New Sturgeon MoonLeo3:15 PM EDT7:15 PM UTC
September 6, 2002New Harvest MoonVirgo11:10 PM EDT3:10 AM UTC
(September 7)
October 6, 2002New Hunter’s MoonLibra7:17 AM EDT11:17 AM UTC
November 4, 2002New Beaver MoonScorpio3:35  PM EST8:35 PM UTC
December 4, 2002New Cold MoonSagittarius2:34  AM EST7:34 AM UTC

January 13, 2002 (New Wolf Moon)

The January 2002 new moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Sunday January 13, 2002 8:29 AM ET or 12:29 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as the December 2001 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 12, 2002 (New Snow Moon)

The February 2002 new moon, also called New Snow Moon, was on Tuesday February 12, 2002 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 UTC. It was the second of the Winter 2001-2002 season.

March 13, 2002 (New Worm Moon)

The March 2002 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Wednesday March 13, 2002 10:03 PM ET or Thursday March 14, 2002 3:03 UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as it happened a week before the Spring Equinox 2002.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was Thursday, March 20, 2002 3:16 PM ET or 20:16 UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 12, 2002 (New Pink Moon)

The April 2002 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday April 12, 2002 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2002 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 12, 2002 (New Flower Moon)

The May 2002 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Sunday May 12, 2002 06:45 AM ET or 11:45 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2002 season.

June 10, 2002 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 2002 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday June 10, 2002 7:46 PM ET or Tuesday June 11, 2002 12:46 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2002 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Summer Solstice.

An Annular Solar Eclipse happened during June New Moon and in a rare moment, the peak of the eclipse and the new moon was at the same minute.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Friday June 21, 2002 9:25 AM ET or 2:25 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 10, 2002 (New Buck Moon)

The July 2002 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Wednesday July 10, 2002 6:26 AM ET or 11:26 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2002 season.

August 8, 2002 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 2002 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday August 8, 2002 3:15 PM ET or 8:15 PM ET UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2002 season.

September 6, 2002 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2002 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Friday September 6, 2002 11:10 PM ET or Saturday September 7, 2002 4:10 AM UTC. This was the last new moon of the Summer 2002 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Monday September 23, 2002 12:56 AM ET or 5:56 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2002 season.

October 6, 2002 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 2002 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Sunday October 6, 2002 7:17 AM ET or 12:17 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2002 season.

November 4, 2002 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 2002 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Monday November 4, 2002 3:35 PM ET or 8:35 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2002 season.

December 4, 2002 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2002 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday December 4, 2002 2:34 AM ET or 7:34 AM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 2002 season as it occurred a few weeks before the Winter Solstice. The December new moon occurred before the Winter season began.

Also during the December New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 2 minutes from the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Saturday December 21, 2002 8:15 PM ET or Sunday December 22, 2002 1:15 AM ET. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2002-2003 season with the first being in January 2003.

What were the names of 2002 new moons?

The names of the 2002 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

Since all the 2002 full moons occurred towards the latter half of each month, the new moon names each month matched up the months’ full moon names.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2002?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2002 each month had 1 new moon, so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition. And each season during 2002 had 3 new moons, so there wasn’t a seasonal black moon either.

While not considered a black moon, there were not any months in 2002 that had 2 new moons.

2002 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2002 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox/SolsticeMonth2002 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20 2002 3:16 PM ET20:16 UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2002 9:25 AM ET2:25 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 2002 12:56 AM ET5:56 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2002 8:15 PM ETDecember 22, 2002 1:15 AM ET

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2002 was on Friday April 12, 2002 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2002 was on Wednesday July 10, 2002 6:26 AM ET or 11:26 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2002 was on Sunday October 6, 2002 7:17 AM ET or 12:17 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2002 was on Thursday January 2, 2003 3:23 PM ET or 8:13 PM UTC because the December 2002 new moon happened before the solstice. The winter season had 3 new moons.

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2002 New Moon Calendar as you look back to the year in the past.

How many new moons in 2002?

There were 12 new moons in 2002 with all months having one new moon each month of the year, and all seasons had 3 new moons.

When was the first new moon of 2002?

The first new moon of 2002 was on Sunday January 13, 2002 8:29 AM ET or 12:29 UTC. It was in mid-January, setting up the year for 12 new moons.

It was the first new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as the December 2001 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon of Spring 2002?

The first new moon of Spring 2002 was in April on Friday April 12, 2002 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC as the first new moon after the Spring Equinox 2002. The March 2002 new moon was about a week before the Spring Equinox.

When was the new moon in January 2002?

The new moon in January 2002 was on Sunday January 13, 2002 8:29 AM ET or 12:29 UTC. This was the first new moon of 2002 and the first new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as the December 2001 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice. The January 2002 new moon was also called New Wolf Moon.

When was the new moon in February 2002?

The new moon in February 2002 was on Tuesday February 12, 2002 2:41 AM ET or 7:41 UTC. This was the second new moon of the 2002 year and the second new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season. The February 2002 new moon was also called the New Snow Moon.

When was the new moon in March 2002?

The new moon in March 2002 was on Wednesday March 13, 2002 10:03 PM ET or Thursday March 14, 2002 3:03 UTC. This was the third new moon of the year, and the third and last new moon of the Winter 2001-2002 season as it occurred about a week before the Spring Equinox 2002. The March 2002 new moon was also called the New Worm Moon.

When was the new moon in April 2002?

The new moon in April 2002 was on Friday April 12, 2002 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC. This was the fourth new moon of the year and the first new moon of the Spring 2002 season. The April 2002 new moon was also called the New Pink Moon.

When was the new moon in May 2002?

The new moon in May 2002 was on Sunday May 12, 06:45 AM ET or 11:45 AM UTC. It was the fifth new moon of the year. It was also the second new moon of the Spring 2002 season. The May 2002 new moon was also called the New Flower Moon.

When was the new moon in June 2002?

The new moon in June 2002 was on Monday June 10, 2002 7:46 PM ET or Tuesday June 11, 2002 12:46 AM UTC. It was the sixth new moon of the year. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2002 season as it occurred a couple of weeks before the Summer Solstice. The June 2002 new moon was also called the New Strawberry Moon.

When was the new moon in July 2002?

The new moon in July 2002 was on Wednesday July 10, 2002 6:26 AM ET or 11:26 AM UTC. It was the seventh new moon of the year. This was also the first new moon of the Summer 2002 season as the June new moon was before the Summer Solstice. The July 2003 new moon was also called the New Buck Moon.

When was the new moon in August 2002?

The new moon in August 2002 was on Thursday August 8, 2002 3:15 PM ET or 8:15 PM ET UTC. It was the eighth new moon of the year. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2002 season. The August 2002 new moon was also called the New Sturgeon Moon.

When was the new moon in September 2002?

The new moon in September 2002 was on Friday September 6, 2002 11:10 PM ET or Saturday September 7, 2002 4:10 AM UTC. It was the ninth new moon of the year. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2002 season. The September 2002 new moon was also called the New Harvest Moon.

When was the new moon in October 2002?

The new moon in October 2002 was on Sunday October 6, 2002 7:17 AM ET or 12:17 PM UTC. It was the tenth new moon of the year. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2002 season. The October 2002 new moon was also called the New Hunter’s Moon.

When was the new moon in November 2002?

The new moon in November 2002 was on Monday November 4, 2002 3:35 PM ET or 8:35 PM UTC. It was the eleventh new moon of the year. This was also the second new moon of the Fall 2002 season. The November 2002 new moon was also called the New Beaver Moon.

When was the new moon in December 2002?

The new moon in December 2002 was on Wednesday December 4, 2002 2:34 AM ET or 7:34 AM UTC. It was the twelfth new moon of the year. This was also the third and last new moon of the Fall 2002 season as it was a couple of weeks before the Winter season began. There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the December New Moon, about 2 minutes before the peak. The December 2002 new moon was also called the New Cold Moon.

When were the Spring 2002 new moons?

In Spring 2002, there were 3 new moons. The first was on Friday April 12, 2002 3:21 PM ET or 8:21 PM UTC. The second was on Sunday May 12, 06:45 AM ET or 11:45 AM UTC. The third was on Monday June 10, 2002 7:46 PM ET or Tuesday June 11, 2002 12:46 AM UTC.

Spring 2002 began with the Vernal Equinox on March 20 2002 3:16 PM ET or 20:16 UTC, and ended with the Summer Solstice on June 21, 2002 9:25 AM ET or 2:25 PM UTC.

New Moons 2002 Calendar