Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2001 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

2001 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 2001 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each calendar year, and 2001 followed the usual patterns of most other years.

What were the 2001 New Moon Dates?

In 2001 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 2001 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 24, 2001 8:07 AM ET (1:07 PM UTC)
  2. February 23, 2001 3:21 AM ET (8:21 AM UTC)
  3. March 24, 2001 9:21 PM ET (March 25, 2001 1:21 AM UTC)
  4. April 23, 2001 11:26 AM ET (3:26 PM UTC)
  5. May 22, 2001 10:46 PM ET (May 23, 2001 2:46 AM UTC)
  6. June 21, 2001 7:58 AM ET (11:58 AM UTC)
  7. July 20, 2001 3:44 PM ET (7:44 PM UTC)
  8. August 18, 2001 10:55 PM ET (August 19, 2001 2:55 AM UTC)
  9. September 17, 2001 6:27 AM ET (10:27 AM UTC)
  10. October 16, 2001 3:23 PM ET (7:23 PM UTC)
  11. November 15, 2001 1:40 AM ET (6:40 AM UTC)
  12. December 14, 2001 3:48 PM ET (8:48 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2001 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Jump to: 2001 Calendar Dates New Moon Names Was there a Black Moon?

Picture of moon for the 2001 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

New Moon 2001 Calendar

For 2001, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in later-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

Here are the dates of 2001 New Moons:

January 24, 2001 (New Snow Moon)

The January 2001 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday January 24, 2001 8:07 AM ET or 1:07 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 2000-2001 season, as the December 2000 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 23, 2001 (New Worm Moon)

The February 2001 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Friday February 23, 2001 3:21 AM ET or 8:21 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 2000-2001 season.

March 24, 2001 (New Pink Moon)

The March 2001 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Saturday March 24, 2001 9:21 PM ET or March 25, 2001 1:21 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2001 season as it happened a few days after the Spring Equinox 2001.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Tuesday March 20, 2001 9:31 ET or 1:31 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 23, 2001 (New Flower Moon)

The April 2001 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Monday April 23, 2001 11:26 AM ET or 3:26 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 2001 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 22, 2001 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 2001 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Tuesday May 22, 2001 10:46 PM ET or 2:46 AM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2001 season.

June 21, 2001  (New Buck Moon)

The June 2001 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Thursday June 21, 2001 7:58 AM ET or 11:58 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2001 season as it happened hours after the Summer Solstice.

There was also a Total Solar Eclipse during the June New Moon, about 6 minutes after the new moon peak.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday June 21, 2001 3:38 AM ET or 7:38 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 20, 2001 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 2001 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Friday July 20, 2001 3:44 PM ET or 7:44 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2001 season.

August 18, 2001 (New Corn Moon)

The August 2001 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Saturday August 18, 2001 10:55 PM ET or Sunday August 19, 2001 2:55 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2001 season. And since it was the third new moon of a four new moon season, the August new moon was also considered a seasonal black moon.

September 17, 2001 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 2001 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Monday September 17, 2001 06:27 AM ET or 11:27 AM UTC. This was the fourth and final new moon of the Summer 2001 season as it happened less than a week before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Saturday September 22, 2001 7:05 PM ET or Sunday September 23, 2001 12:05 AM UTC. after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2001 season.

October 16, 2001 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 2001 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday October 16, 2001 3:23 PM ET or 8:23 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 2001 season.

November 15, 2001 (New Blue Moon)

The November 2001 New Moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Thursday November 15, 2001 01:40 AM ET or 06:40 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2001 season. Because there was a blue moon during November 2001, the new moon in November was the one prior to the late November Blue Moon.

December 14, 2001 (New Cold Moon)

The December 2001 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday December 14, 2001 3:48 PM ET or 8:48 PM UTC. It was the third and final new moon of the Autumn 2001 season as it occurred about a week before the Winter Solstice.

Also, during the December New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 7 minutes for the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Friday December 21, 2001 2:22 PM ET or 7:22 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2001-2002 season, with the first in January 2002.

What are the names of 2001 new moons?

The names of the 2001 full moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Blue Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of the year, the new moon was in the month before its associated full moon. Because November had two full moons, the November new moon was associated with the November Full Blue Moon, not one of the traditionally named.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2001?

Yes, there was a seasonal black moon in August as Summer had an extra new moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

2001 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2001 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth2001 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 2001 09:31 ET12:31 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 2001 03:38 AM ET08:38 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 22, 2001 7:05 PM ETSeptember 23, 2001 12:05 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21, 2001 2:22 PM ET 7:22 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2001 was on Saturday March 24, 2001 9:21 PM ET or March 25, 2001 2:21 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2001 was on Thursday June 21, 2001 03:38 AM ET or 08:38 PM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2001 was on Saturday September 22, 2001 7:05 PM ET or Sunday September 23, 2001 12:05 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2001 was on Sunday January 13, 2002 8:29 AM ET or 12:29 UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 2001 Calendar