Home » 2000 to 2009 New Moons » 2000 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

2000 New Moon Calendar with 13 new moons

The New Moons 2000 Calendar had 13 new moons along with 2 solstices, 2 equinoxes, and 2 solar eclipses. Take a look below at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible, though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

In 2000 there were:

  • 13 new moons in 2000
  • 2 new supermoon, both in July
  • 3 Partial Solar Eclipses
  • A Black Moon in July

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 2000 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Picture of moon for the 2000 New Moon Calendar

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

When were the new moons in 2000?

There were 13 new moon in 2000. The year started off with its first new moon in early-January setting up the year to have an extra new moon during the year.

The dates of 2000 New Moons were:

January 6, 2000: new moon in Capricorn

The first new moon of 2000, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Thursday, January 6, 2000 at 1:14 PM EST or 6:15 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1999-2000 season as the December 1999 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 5, 2000: new moon in Aquarius

The February 2000 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Saturday February 5, 2000 at 8:03 AM EST or 1:03 PM UTC. During the February new moon, there was also a partial solar eclipse that peaks about 13 minutes before new moon’s peak. It was the second of the Winter 1999-2000 season.

March 6, 2000: new moon in Pisces

The March 2000 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Monday March 6, 2000 at 12:17 AM EST or 5:17 AM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1999-2000 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Spring Equinox 2000.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Monday March 20, 2000 at 3:35 AM EDT or 7:35 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 4, 2000: new moon in Aries

The April 2000 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Tuesday, April 4, 2000 at 2:12 PM EDT or 6:12 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 2000 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 4, 2000: new moon in Taurus

The May 2000 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Thursday, May 4, 2000 at 12:12 AM EDT or 4:12 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 2000 season.

June 2, 2000: new moon in Gemini

The June 2000 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Friday, June 2, 2000 at 8:14 AM EDT or 12:14 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Spring 2000 season as it happened a couple of weeks before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Tuesday June 20, 2000 at 9:48 PM EDT or Wednesday June 21, 2000 at 1:48 AM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 1, 2000: new moon in Cancer

During July 2000 there were two new moons. The First July 2000 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Saturday July 1, 2000 at 3:20 PM EDT or 7:20 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 2000 season.

There was also a partial solar eclipse during the first July new moon. The eclipse peak was about 12 minutes after the new moon peak.

July 30, 2000 (July 31 UTC): new moon in Leo

The Second July new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Sunday July 30, 2000 at 10:25 PM EDT or July 31, 2000 at 2:25 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 2000 Season.

Because of the timing of both new moons, they occurred in July for the Eastern and UTC time zones. Other time zones may shift the date slightly.

And similar to the first new moon in July, there was also a partial solar eclipse during this new moon. The peak of the solar eclipse was 9 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

August 29, 2000: new moon in Virgo

The August 2000 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was on Tuesday August 29, 2000 at 6:19 AM EDT or 10:19 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 2000 season.

September 27, 2000: new moon in Libra

The September 2000 new moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Wednesday September 27, 2000 at 3:53 PM EDT or 7:53 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Fall 2000 season as it happened less than a week after the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Friday September 22, 2000 at 1:38 PM EDT or 5:28 PM UTC, before the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 2000 season.

October 27, 2000: new moon in Scorpio

The October 2000 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Friday October 27, 2000 at 3:58 AM EDT or 7:58 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 2000 season.

November 25, 2000: new moon in Sagittarius

The November 2000 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Saturday November 25, 2000 at 6:11 PM EST or 11:11 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Autumn 2000 season.

December 25, 2000: new moon in Capricorn

The December 2000 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Monday December 25, 2000 12:22 PM EST or 5:22 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Winter 2000-2001 season as it occurred a few days after the Winter Solstice. The December New Moon was a Christmas New Moon for the Eastern and UTC timezones.

Also during the December New Moon, there was a Partial Solar Eclipse with the peak 14 minutes for the peak of the new moon.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Thursday December 21, 2000 at 8:38 AM EST or 1:38 PM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 2000-2001 season.

What are the names of 2000 new moons?

The names of the 2000 full moons are as follows:

  • January: New Wolf Moon
  • February: New Snow Moon
  • March: New Worm Moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July (beginning): New Buck Moon
  • July (end): New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Harvest Moon
  • September: New Hunter’s Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For the first half of the year, the new moon and its associated full moon occurred in the same month. Because July had two new moons and the following full moons shifted earlier in the month, the new moon name shifted to the previous month.

The August new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 2000?

A black moon occurs when a month either has no new moon or a season has 4 new moons. In 2000 each month had at least 1 new moon so there wasn’t a black moon based on the first definition. And each season during 2000 had 3 new moons so there wasn’t a seasonal black moon either.

While not considered a black moon, there was one month in 2000 that had 2 new moons. In July there was a new moon at both the start and end of the month, along with partial solar eclipses with each.

2000 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 2000 dates for the equinoxes and solstices are as follows:

  • Vernal Equinox: March 20, 2000 at 3:35 AM EST or 7:35 AM UTC
  • Summer Solstice: June 20, 2000 at 9:48 PM EDT or June 21, 2000 at 1:48 AM UTC
  • Autumnal Equinox: September 22, 2000 at 1:28 PM EDT or 5:28 PM UTC
  • Winter Solstice: December 21, 2000 at 8:38 AM EST or 1:38 PM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 2000 was on Tuesday, April 4, 2000 2:12 PM EDT or 6:12 PM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 2000 was on Saturday July 1, 2000 3:20 PM EDT or 7:20 PM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 2000 was on Wednesday September 27, 2000 3:53 PM EDT or 7:53 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 2000 was on Monday December 25, 2000 12:22 PM EST or 5:22 PM UTC. The winter season had 3 new moons.

2000 Moon Phases in Eastern Time (EST/EDT) and UTC

Below are the lunar phases for 2000 including the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter on the schedule for each month. The date and times are based on both the United States Eastern Time Zone and UTC, adjusted for daylight saving time.

Lunar PhaseDate & Time (Eastern)UTC Date & Time
January New MoonJanuary 6, 2000 1:14 PM ESTJanuary 6, 2000 6:14 PM UTC
January First QuarterJanuary 14, 2000 8:34 AM ESTJanuary 14, 2000 1:34 PM UTC
January Full MoonJanuary 20, 2000 11:40 PM ESTJanuary 21, 2000 4:40 AM UTC
January Last QuarterJanuary 28, 2000 2:57 AM ESTJanuary 28, 2000 7:57 AM UTC
February New MoonFebruary 5, 2000 8:03 AM ESTFebruary 5, 2000 1:03 PM UTC
February First QuarterFebruary 12, 2000 6:21 PM ESTFebruary 12, 2000 11:21 PM UTC
February Full MoonFebruary 19, 2000 11:27 AM ESTFebruary 19, 2000 4:27 PM UTC
February Last QuarterFebruary 26, 2000 10:54 PM ESTFebruary 27, 2000 3:54 AM UTC
March New MoonMarch 6, 2000 12:17 AM ESTMarch 6, 2000 5:17 AM UTC
March First QuarterMarch 13, 2000 2:59 AM ESTMarch 13, 2000 6:59 AM UTC
March Full MoonMarch 20, 2000 12:44 AM ESTMarch 20, 2000 4:44 AM UTC
March Last QuarterMarch 27, 2000 8:21 PM ESTMarch 28, 2000 12:21 AM UTC
April New MoonApril 4, 2000 2:12 PM EDTApril 4, 2000 6:12 PM UTC
April First QuarterApril 11, 2000 9:30 AM EDTApril 11, 2000 1:30 PM UTC
April Full MoonApril 18, 2000 1:42 PM EDTApril 18, 2000 5:42 PM UTC
April Last QuarterApril 26, 2000 3:30 PM EDTApril 26, 2000 7:30 PM UTC
May New MoonMay 4, 2000 12:12 AM EDTMay 4, 2000 4:12 AM UTC
May First QuarterMay 10, 2000 4:01 PM EDTMay 10, 2000 8:01 PM UTC
May Full MoonMay 18, 2000 3:34 AM EDTMay 18, 2000 7:34 AM UTC
May Last QuarterMay 26, 2000 7:55 AM EDTMay 26, 2000 11:55 AM UTC
June New MoonJune 2, 2000 8:14 AM EDTJune 2, 2000 12:14 PM UTC
June First QuarterJune 8, 2000 11:29 PM EDTJune 9, 2000 3:29 AM UTC
June Full MoonJune 16, 2000 6:27 PM EDTJune 16, 2000 10:27 PM UTC
June Last QuarterJune 24, 2000 9:00 PM EDTJune 25, 2000 1:00 AM UTC
July New MoonJuly 1, 2000 3:20 PM EDTJuly 1, 2000 7:20 PM UTC
July First QuarterJuly 8, 2000 8:53 AM EDTJuly 8, 2000 12:53 PM UTC
July Full MoonJuly 16, 2000 9:55 AM EDTJuly 16, 2000 1:53 PM UTC
July Last QuarterJuly 24, 2000 7:02 AM EDTJuly 24, 2000 11:02 AM UTC
July Black MoonJuly 30, 2000 10:25 PM EDTJuly 31, 2000 2:25 AM UTC
August First QuarterAugust 6, 2000 9:02 PM EDTAugust 7, 2000 1:02 AM UTC
August Full MoonAugust 15, 2000 1:13 AM EDTAugust 15, 2000 5:13 AM UTC
August Last QuarterAugust 22, 2000 2:51 PM EDTAugust 22, 2000 6:51 PM UTC
August New MoonAugust 29, 2000 6:19 AM EDTAugust 29, 2000 10:19 AM UTC
September First QuarterSeptember 5, 2000 12:27 PM EDTSeptember 5, 2000 4:27 PM UTC
September Full MoonSeptember 13, 2000 3:37 PM EDTSeptember 13, 2000 7:37 PM UTC
September Last QuarterSeptember 20, 2000 9:28 PM EDT or September 21, 2000 1:28 AM UTC
September New MoonSeptember 27, 2000 3:53 PM EDTSeptember 27, 2000 7:53 PM UTC
October First QuarterOctober 5, 2000 6:59 AM EDTOctober 5, 2000 10:59 AM UTC
October Full MoonOctober 13, 2000 4:53 AM EDTOctober 13, 2000 8:53 AM UTC
October Last QuarterOctober 20, 2000 3:59 AM EDTOctober 20, 2000 7:59 AM UTC
October New MoonOctober 27, 2000 3:58 AM EDTOctober 27, 2000 7:58 AM UTC
November First QuarterNovember 4, 2000 2:27 AM ESTNovember 4, 2000 7:27 AM UTC
November Full MoonNovember 11, 2000 4:15 PM ESTNovember 11, 2000 9:15 PM UTC
November Last QuarterNovember 18, 2000 10:24 AM ESTNovember 18, 2000 3:24 PM UTC
November New MoonNovember 25, 2000 6:11 PM ESTNovember 25, 2000 11:11 PM UTC
December First QuarterDecember 3, 2000 10:55 PM ESTDecember 3, 2000 3:55 AM UTC
December Full MoonDecember 11, 2000 4:03 AM ESTDecember 11, 2000 9:03 AM UTC
December Last QuarterDecember 17, 2000 7:41 PM ESTDecember 18, 2000 12:41 AM UTC
December Black MoonDecember 25, 2000 12:22 PM ESTDecember 25, 2000 5:22 PM UTC

Frequently Asked Questions

Here are a few frequently asked questions about the 2000 New Moon Calendar as you back to the year in the past.

How many new moons in 2000?

There were 13 new moons in 2000 because July had 2 new moons with all remaining months having one. All seasons had 3 new moons.

When was the first new moon of 2000?

The first new moon of 2000 was on Thursday, January 6, 2000 1:14 PM EDT or 6:15 PM ET. It was early enough in January to set up the early to have 13 new moons. It was the first new moon of the Winter 1999-2000 season as the December 1999 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

What was the first new moon of Spring 2000?

The first new moon of Spring 2000 was in April on Tuesday, April 4, 2000 at 2:12 PM EDT or 6:12 PM UTC as it was the first new moon after the Spring 2000 equinox. The March 2000 new moon was about two weeks before the Spring Equinox.
New Moons 2000 Calendar