Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1999 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1999 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1999 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1999 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1999 New Moon Dates?

In 1999 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1999 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 17, 1999 10:46 AM ET (3:46 PM UTC)
  2. February 16, 1999 1:39 AM ET (6:39 AM UTC)
  3. March 17, 1999 2:48 PM ET (7:48 PM UTC)
  4. April 16, 1999 12:22 AM ET (5:22 AM UTC)
  5. May 15, 1999 8:05 AM ET (1:05 PM UTC)
  6. June 13, 1999 3:03 PM ET (8:03 PM UTC)
  7. July 12, 1999 10:24 PM ET (July 13, 1999 3:24 AM UTC)
  8. August 11, 1999 7:08 AM ET (August 12, 1999 12:08 PM UTC)
  9. September 9, 1999 6:02 PM ET (11:02 PM UTC)
  10. October 9, 1999 7:35 AM ET (12:35 PM UTC)
  11. November 7, 1999 10:53 PM ET (November 8, 1999 3:53 AM UTC)
  12. December 7, 1999 5:32 PM ET (10:32 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1999 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1999 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 1999

For 1998, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in mid-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 1999 New Moons:

January 17, 1999 (New Blue Moon)

The January 1999 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Sunday January 17, 1999 10:46 AM ET or 3:46 PM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Winter 1998-1999 season as the December 1998 new moon occurred before the Winter Solstice.

February 16, 1999 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1999 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Tuesday February 16, 1999 1:39 AM ET or 6:39 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Winter 1998-1999 season.

Also during the February New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

March 17, 1999 (New Blue Moon)

The March 1999 new moon, also called the New Blue Moon, was on Wednesday March 17, 1999 2:48 PM ET or 7:48 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1998-1999 season as it happened a few days before the Spring Equinox 1999.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Saturday March 20, 1999 9:46 PM ET or March 21, 1999 2:46 AM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 16, 1999 (New Pink Moon)

The April 1999 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday April 16, 1999 12:22 AM ET or 5:22 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1999 season because the March new moon occurred before the Spring Equinox that year.

May 15, 1999 (New Flower Moon)

The May 1999 New Moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Saturday May 15, 1999 8:05 AM ET or 1:05 PM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Spring 1999 season.

June 13, 1999 (New Strawberry Moon)

The June 1999 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Sunday June 13, 1999 3:03 PM ET or 8:03 PM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Spring 1999 season as it happened about a week before the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Monday June 21, 1999 3:49 PM ET or 8:49 PM UTC. It occurred after the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 3 new moons.

July 12, 1999 (New Buck Moon)

The July 1999 new moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Monday July 12, 1999 10:24 PM ET or July 13, 1999 3:24 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1999 season.

August 11, 1999 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The August 1999 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Wednesday August 11, 1999 7:08 AM ET or August 12, 1999 12:08 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1999 season.

Also during the August New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes before the peak of the new moon.

September 9, 1999 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1999 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Thursday September 9, 1999 6:02 PM ET or 11:02 PM UTC. This was the third and last new moon of the Summer 1999 season as it happened two weeks before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Thursday September 23, 1999 7:32 AM ET or 12:32 PM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1999 season.

October 9, 1999 (New Hunter’s Moon)

The October 1999 New Moon, also called the New Hunter’s Moon, was on Saturday October 9, 1999 7:35 AM ET or 12:35 PM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1999 season.

November 7, 1999 (New Beaver Moon)

The November 1999 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Sunday November 7, 1999 10:53 PM ET or November 8, 1999 3:53 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1999 season.

December 7, 1999 (New Cold Moon)

The December 1999 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Tuesday December 7, 1999 5:32 PM ET or 10:32 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1999 season as it occurred about two weeks before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Wednesday December 22, 1999 2:44 AM ET or 7:44 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1999-2000 season.

What are the names of 1999 new moons?

The names of the 1999 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Blue moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Blue moon
  • April: New Pink Moon
  • May: New Flower Moon
  • June: New Strawberry Moon
  • July: New Buck Moon
  • August: New Sturgeon Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Hunter’s Moon
  • November: New Beaver Moon
  • December: New Cold Moon

For most of 1999, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the same month, resulting in the new and full moon names matching.

The January and March new moons were called a New Blue Moon because both months had full blue moons that year.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the September Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the October Full Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1999?

In 1999 February had a black moon because it didn’t have a full moon that year. This happens when both January and March have blue moons, not leaving enough time for a February Full Moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon, and each season had 3 new moons. February did not also have a full moon in 1999, resulting in a black moon by that definition.

1999 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1999 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1999 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1999 9:46 PM ETMarch 21, 1999 2:46 AM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1999 3:49 PM ET8:49 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1999 7:32 AM ET12:32 PM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 22, 1999 2:44 AM ET7:44 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1999 was on Friday April 16, 1999 12:22 AM ET or 5:22 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1999 was on Monday July 12, 1999 10:24 PM ET or July 13, 1999 3:24 AM UTC. The summer season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1999 was on Saturday October 9, 1999 7:35 AM ET or 12:35 PM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1999 was on Thursday, January 6, 2000 1:14 PM ET or 6:15 PM UTC. It was the January 2000 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1999 Calendar