Home » 1990 to 1999 New Moons » 1998 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

1998 New Moon Calendar with 12 new moons

The New Moons 1998 Calendar had 12 new moons, solstices, equinoxes, and solar eclipses to help you look back at the past dates.

A new moon is the first lunar phase that happens about once a month or, 29.53 days on average. The moon itself is not visible though you may be able to “see” it because it blocks the visibility of the stars behind it.

Typically there are 12 new moons each year, and 1998 followed the usual pattern of other years.

What were the 1998 New Moon Dates?

In 1998 there were 12 new moons. Here is a quick list of the 1998 new moon dates based on the information provided by NASA:

  1. January 28, 1998 1:01 AM ET (6:01 AM UTC)
  2. February 26, 1998 12:26 PM ET (5:26 PM UTC)
  3. March 27, 1998 11:14 PM ET (March 28, 1998 4:14 AM UTC)
  4. April 26, 1998 7:41 AM ET (12:41 PM UTC)
  5. May 25, 1998 3:32 PM ET (8:32 PM UTC)
  6. June 23, 1998 11:50 PM ET (June 24, 1998 4:50 AM UTC)
  7. July 23, 1998 9:44 AM ET (2:44 PM UTC)
  8. August 21, 1998 10:03 PM ET (August 22, 1998 3:03 AM UTC)
  9. September 20, 1998 1:01 PM ET (6:01 PM UTC)
  10. October 20, 1998 6:09 AM ET (11:09 AM UTC)
  11. November 18, 1998 11:27 PM ET (November 19, 1998 4:27 AM UTC)
  12. December 18, 1998 5:43 PM ET (10:43 PM UTC)

Ready to dive a little deeper into the 1998 dates? Take a look at each month, the dates of each new moon, the eclipses that occurred, and the dates for the equinoxes and solstices.

Watercolor picture of moon for the 1998 New Moon Calendar

New Moon Calendar 1998

For 1998, there were 12 new moons. The year started off with its first new moon in late-January setting up the year to have the 12 new moons during the year. Here’s a quick summary of the dates of each of the new moons and how they fit into each season.

The dates and times provided by NASA in United States Eastern Time (ET) account for both Eastern Standard Time (EST) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) for part of the year. Also included is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time. This was previously referred to as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). Since your local time zone may differ, the exact dates may shift slightly for your calendar.

The supermoons are based on the calculations by AstroPixels.

Here are the dates of 1998 New Moons:

January 28, 1998 (New Snow Moon)

The January 1998 new moon, also called the New Snow Moon, was on Wednesday January 28, 1998 1:01 AM ET or 6:01 AM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Winter 1997-1998 season as the December 1997 new moon occurred after the Winter Solstice.

February 26, 1998 (New Worm Moon)

The February 1998 new moon, also called the New Worm Moon, was on Thursday February 26, 1998 12:26 PM ET or 5:26 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Winter 1997-1998 season.

Also during the February New Moon, there was a Total Solar Eclipse with the peak 3 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

March 27, 1998 (New Pink Moon)

The March 1998 new moon, also called the New Pink Moon, was on Friday March 27, 1998 11:14 PM ET or March 28, 1998 4:14 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Spring 1998 season as it happened a week after the Spring Equinox 1998.

The Vernal Equinox (Spring) was on Friday March 20, 1998 3:54 PM ET or 8:54 PM UTC. The Spring Season had 3 new moons.

April 26, 1998 (New Flower Moon)

The April 1998 new moon, also called the New Flower Moon, was on Sunday April 26, 1998 7:41 AM ET or 12:41 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Spring 1998 season.

May 25, 1998 (New Strawberry Moon)

The May 1998 New Moon, also called the New Strawberry Moon, was on Monday May 25, 1998 3:32 PM ET or 8:32 PM UTC. It was the third and last new moon of the Spring 1998 season.

June 23, 1998 (New Buck Moon)

The June 1998 New Moon, also called the New Buck Moon, was on Tuesday June 23, 1998 11:50 PM ET or June 24, 1998 4:50 AM UTC. This was the first new moon of the Summer 1998 season as it happened two days after the Summer Solstice.

The Summer Solstice was on the calendar for Sunday June 21, 1998 10:02 AM ET or 3:02 PM UTC. It occurred before the June new moon that year and the Summer season had 4 new moons.

July 23, 1998 (New Sturgeon Moon)

The July 1998 new moon, also called the New Sturgeon Moon, was on Thursday July 23, 1998 9:44 AM ET or 2:44 PM UTC. This was the second new moon of the Summer 1998 season.

August 21, 1998 (New Corn Moon)

The August 1998 new moon, also called the New Corn Moon, was on Friday August 21, 1998 10:03 PM ET or August 22, 1998 3:03 AM UTC. This was the third new moon of the Summer 1998 season. It was also considered a seasonal black moon because it was third new moon in a season with four new moons.

Also during the August New Moon, there was an Annular Solar Eclipse with the peak 4 minutes after the peak of the new moon.

September 20, 1998 (New Harvest Moon)

The September 1998 new moon, also called the New Harvest Moon, was Sunday September 20, 1998 1:01 PM ET or 6:01 PM UTC. This was the fourth and last new moon of the Summer 1998 season as it happened a few days before the Autumn Equinox.

The Autumn Equinox was on the calendar for Wednesday September 23, 1998 1:38 AM ET or 6:38 AM UTC, after the September New Moon. There were 3 new moons during the Autumn 1998 season.

October 20, 1998 (New Beaver Moon)

The October 1998 New Moon, also called the New Beaver Moon, was on Tuesday October 20, 1998 6:09 AM ET or 11:09 AM UTC. It was the first new moon of the Autumn 1998 season.

November 18, 1998 (New Cold Moon)

The November 1998 New Moon, also called the New Cold Moon, was on Wednesday November 18, 1998 11:27 PM ET or November 19, 1998 4:27 AM UTC. It was the second new moon of the Autumn 1998 season.

December 18, 1998 (New Wolf Moon)

The December 1998 New Moon, also called the New Wolf Moon, was on Friday December 18, 1998 5:43 PM ET or 10:43 PM UTC. It was the last new moon of the Autumn 1998 season as it occurred less than a week before the Winter Solstice.

The Winter Solstice was on the calendar for Monday December 21, 1998 8:56 PM ET or December 22, 1998 1:56 AM UTC. There were 3 new moons during the Winter 1998-1999 season.

What are the names of 1998 new moons?

The names of the 1998 new moons are as follows:

  • January: New Snow Moon
  • February: New Worm Moon
  • March: New Pink Moon
  • April: New Flower Moon
  • May: New Strawberry Moon
  • June: New Buck Moon
  • July: New Sturgeon Moon
  • August: New Corn Moon
  • September: New Harvest Moon
  • October: New Beaver Moon
  • November: New Cold Moon
  • December: New Wolf Moon

For all of 1998, the new moon for the full moon cycle occurred in the month prior, leaving a mismatch in the names.

The September new moon is called the New Harvest Moon because the October Full Moon was closer to the Autumn Equinox than the September Full Moon. It was also one of the rare years that the September full moon was called the Full Corn Moon, resulting the August New Moon being called the New Corn Moon.

Was there a black moon in 1998?

In 1998 the August New Moon was also a black moon because the Summer season had four new moons. The third new moon in a four new moon season is unofficially designated a black moon.

There are four definitions for a black moon, though all unofficial. It’s not possible to have all four in one year.

  • A month without a new moon, only a full moon
  • A month without a full moon, only a new moon
  • A month with two new moons
  • A season with four new moons, making the third a seasonal black moon

A month that only has a new moon or only a full moon can only occur in February because it’s a short month.

During the year all months had one new moon. February had both a new moon and a full moon.

1998 Equinoxes and Solstices

The 1998 dates for the equinoxes and solstices were as follows:

Equinox / SolsticeMonth1998 DateUTC Time
Vernal Equinox (Spring)MarchMarch 20, 1998 3:54 PM ET8:54 PM UTC
Summer SolsticeJuneJune 21, 1998 10:02 AM ET3:02 PM UTC
Autumn EquinoxSeptemberSeptember 23, 1998 1:38 AM ET6:38 AM UTC
Winter SolsticeDecemberDecember 21 , 1998 8:56 PM ETDecember 22, 1998 1:56 AM UTC

The first new moon after Spring Equinox 1998 was on Friday March 27, 1998 11:14 PM ET or March 28, 1998 4:14 AM UTC. The spring season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Summer Solstice 1998 was on Tuesday June 23, 1998 11:50 PM ET or June 24, 1998 4:50 AM UTC. The summer season had 4 new moons.

The first new moon after the Autumn Equinox 1998 was on Tuesday October 20, 1998 6:09 AM ET or 11:09 AM UTC. The autumn season had 3 new moons.

The first new moon after the Winter Solstice 1998 was on Sunday January 17, 1999 10:46 AM ET or 3:46 PM UTC. It was the January 1999 new moon. The winter season had 3 new moons.

New Moons 1998 Calendar